Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-22-2016, 01:48 AM   #1
Coptordoctor76
 
Drives: 2008 Yaris
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Bandera Tx
Posts: 4
2008 Yaris will not shift out of park

I drove my car home, 63 miles, parked at the gate and got out to open the gate, got back in and the car would not shift out of park. Did a little research on line and checked and verified that my brake lights worked, tried the shift lock override button, but it would still not shift out of park. Any suggestions.
Coptordoctor76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2016, 01:57 AM   #2
tmontague
2zr-fe dream team
 
tmontague's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 Vios M/T, 05 4wd Vibe
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hamilton Ont.
Posts: 1,602
Does the shifter still shift into the other positions? If so, does it feel like less resistance to move the shifter?

If yes to the above questions then your shifter cable snapped off on the front of the transmission...a fairly straight forward fix
__________________
2zr swapped Vios, oil catch can, TRD rear sway bar, MI lowering springs, In cabin+under hood SSK, TRD shift knob, HID projector/Halo lights, 10mm rear axle spacers, custom header back exhaust, Front splitter, Sickspeed dual horns, Tokiko Blue's in rear, triple gauges, Whiteline bushings, Sparco pedal covers, Viper Keyless entry, DC Sports CAI, NST u/d crank pulley, solid poly engine mounts, MR Racing Flywheel, Konig Dial Ins 15x7 +35
tmontague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2016, 02:01 AM   #3
Coptordoctor76
 
Drives: 2008 Yaris
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Bandera Tx
Posts: 4
No it doesn't go into other positions. I can force it far enough back to get R light to come on but it isn't in gear.
Coptordoctor76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2016, 12:28 PM   #4
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coptordoctor76 View Post
No it doesn't go into other positions. I can force it far enough back to get R light to come on but it isn't in gear.
That is typically caused by the shift lock ECU not getting power. Check the 7.5A ACC2 fuse and the 10A GAUGE fuse in the panel that is under the bottom of the dash on the driver's side.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2016, 02:08 PM   #5
Coptordoctor76
 
Drives: 2008 Yaris
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Bandera Tx
Posts: 4
I have the type A panel under the dash and it only has the 7.5 amp ACC 2 fuse and it is good.
Coptordoctor76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2016, 02:44 PM   #6
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coptordoctor76 View Post
I have the type A panel under the dash and it only has the 7.5 amp ACC 2 fuse and it is good.
No - Under the dash, not in the compartment in the dash... Put your head on the floor and look up.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2016, 02:57 PM   #7
Coptordoctor76
 
Drives: 2008 Yaris
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Bandera Tx
Posts: 4
OK thanks. Checked that fuse also and it is good.
Coptordoctor76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2016, 08:34 PM   #8
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coptordoctor76 View Post
OK thanks. Checked that fuse also and it is good.
Both fuses? If they look good, try swapping them with another fuse, as often with the lower current rating fuses, they can look fine, but be blown.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2016, 10:20 PM   #9
MadMax
 
MadMax's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 Yaris Liftback (Sprocket)
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: San Antonio, Texas!
Posts: 2,817
Wow, a Yaris in Bandera? I didn't think there was anything but pick-up trucks and RVs in "The Cowboy Capital of the World!"

In all seriousness, howdy from Helotes, about a half hour east of you. Hope you get your 08 working, they're great cars!

Cheers! M2
__________________
MadMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does anyone have Yaris Automatic Transmission Shift issue? MoneyT8 DIY / Maintenance / Service 3 07-31-2014 09:57 PM
FS: 2008 Yaris HB LtNoogie Cars for Sale by private party 1 05-30-2014 12:47 PM
NEWS: TOYOTA REVEALS ALL-NEW YARIS SEDAN AT 2006 LOS ANGELES AUTO SHOW VitzBoy General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 5 09-05-2010 08:53 PM
07+ Yaris Skunk2 5 Speed Shift knob CorSport CorSport 5 07-05-2009 09:04 PM
2007 Yaris Pricing Info ! YarisBueller New YARIS Purchase Forum 104 06-24-2009 04:54 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:43 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.