Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-30-2009, 12:15 PM   #19
mikenacarato
SIPNDEW
 
mikenacarato's Avatar
 
Drives: 15 STI
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Brentwood, TN
Posts: 2,290
Send a message via AIM to mikenacarato
el oh el, im glad my work truck had cruise on my way to ATL last weekend. well, i dont think the yaris would even move with a bunch of semi-truck brake drums in the back lol
mikenacarato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 12:17 PM   #20
Pitt Yaris
 
Drives: Flint Mica Sedan
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 479
Extremely awesome diy. I'm gonna find a flashlight to see if I have cruise.
Pitt Yaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 12:59 PM   #21
yaris-me
Learn to Relax
 
Drives: 2007, Meteorite, LB
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 2,074
Great!
yaris-me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 01:55 PM   #22
YarisDude
 
Drives: Yaris Hatchback
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Lebanon, Ohio
Posts: 29
Like it! Does anyone have a pic as to where exactly the wires are at on fuse block area for the 07 HB? Looks like a real nice weekend project.
YarisDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 02:43 PM   #23
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by YarisDude View Post
Like it! Does anyone have a pic as to where exactly the wires are at on fuse block area for the 07 HB? Looks like a real nice weekend project.
To access the wire under the dash you would actually have to lift the top of the dash. The connector is above the fuse block. In this picture of the main cable harness going through the fire wall you can see the top of the back of the fuse block in the top left corner (the white plastic). The junction connector AD4 is above the connector with the wide black tape. Lying on the floor with my head on the brake pedal I can barely reach my hand up that far. PK198105 is planning on trying to get at it by raising the top of the dash this weekend.



The other place that the wire on 07-08's can be accessed is at the ECM (which is easier to get at). The key with tapping the wire there would be to use a waterproof tap or cold-shrink tape to ensure that moisture doesn't get at the connection.

This image shows the CCS terminal (pin 40) on the ECM connector A21.





Only one wire would need to be run to this connector (my red one in the DIY), as the other (the black wire) can grab any ground point.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 04:22 PM   #24
ka0sx
 
ka0sx's Avatar
 
Drives: bone f*ing stock
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: CA east bay
Posts: 239
So only the wiring doesn't exist on the '08? =(
ka0sx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 05:37 PM   #25
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by ka0sx View Post
So only the wiring doesn't exist on the '08? =(
And, many 07-08's also don't have the indicator light on the combination meter.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 05:51 PM   #26
Thirty-Nine
Small cars are a big deal
 
Thirty-Nine's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris Liftback
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,120
Send a message via AIM to Thirty-Nine
Well done, CTScott! Great post.
Thirty-Nine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 06:20 PM   #27
schleppy
I love momentum.
 
schleppy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 Yaris LB, Red
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 590
Send a message via AIM to schleppy
Scott, you are a true asset to this forum. Thanks so much for putting this together!
schleppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 07:20 AM   #28
CB900F2
 
Drives: 08 Sedan
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 276
So true!...

Quote:
Originally Posted by CTScott View Post
And, many 07-08's also don't have the indicator light on the combination meter.
CB900F2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 10:30 PM   #29
uncleyaris
 
Drives: 2007 Bayou Blue!!!!!!!
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,531
Fantastic!!!!!!!!!
uncleyaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 02:06 AM   #30
ka0sx
 
ka0sx's Avatar
 
Drives: bone f*ing stock
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: CA east bay
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by CB900F2 View Post
So true!...
an LED is a suitable replacment for a stupid logo.......

does the 08 ECU have the coding in all the ecu's for cruise? If so i might consider doing this the hard way.......
ka0sx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 08:02 AM   #31
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by ka0sx View Post
an LED is a suitable replacment for a stupid logo.......

does the 08 ECU have the coding in all the ecu's for cruise? If so i might consider doing this the hard way.......

The indicator on the combination meter is actually controlled by the CAN bus, so adding your own LED for cruise is not trivial.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 09:16 AM   #32
nickhjort
My R1 eats my Vitz!!
 
nickhjort's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Vitz Lifty, Stick Shift
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oneida, NY
Posts: 131
So even if my 07 lifty doesn't have those indicator lights, there's a chance I can still do this mod with the switches and some LEDs? And where did you get those little switches?
__________________
My Car Rules!
nickhjort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 10:13 AM   #33
nickhjort
My R1 eats my Vitz!!
 
nickhjort's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Vitz Lifty, Stick Shift
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oneida, NY
Posts: 131
Just reading all the other threads and posts on this topic and answered my own question :) I can't wait to start ripping $hit apart!!
__________________
My Car Rules!
nickhjort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 10:29 AM   #34
frownonfun
 
frownonfun's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 Yaris HB, 08 SR5 Tundra
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: RGV, Texas
Posts: 1,112
subscribed
frownonfun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 10:48 AM   #35
TDB-1
 
Drives: 09 3-door 5speed
Join Date: May 2009
Location: pa
Posts: 6
Just did this DIY on my 09 5 speed and it works great. I had to jump the clutch switch connector untill I get the switch, just dont step on the clutch while on cruise!!!
THANKS to all who helped figure this out
TDB-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 10:58 AM   #36
nickhjort
My R1 eats my Vitz!!
 
nickhjort's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Vitz Lifty, Stick Shift
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oneida, NY
Posts: 131
What will happen if you hit the clutch while in cruise (if you jump the clutch switch)?
__________________
My Car Rules!
nickhjort is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OEM foglight switch and leather wrap steering wheel 808yarisLB Cosmetic Modifications (Exterior/Interior) 8 03-11-2009 12:05 AM
SCION SPORT STEERING WHEEL, RED, XA AND XB, 03 TO 06 justoneyaris Items for Sale by private party 3 12-04-2008 07:30 PM
steering wheel setup aucorium Cosmetic Modifications (Exterior/Interior) 0 07-24-2007 01:05 AM
How do you take off steering wheel mrrock Cosmetic Modifications (Exterior/Interior) 3 12-05-2006 11:16 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:14 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.