Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-10-2013, 12:18 AM   #19
YarisSedan
 
YarisSedan's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 Yaris Sedan
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: California - Bay Area
Posts: 2,785
Send a message via AIM to YarisSedan
If your are concerned you could take your vehicle to a transmission shop such as aamco that has a transmission flush machine. They disconnect the lines to the cooler and introduce the machine in its place. The dirty fluid goes into the machine and fresh clean fluid goes back in. Dialysis for your transmission. That way you get 100 percent fluid exchange and needs to be only done once. Afterwards they will drop the pan and change the filter and gasket.

Typical cost is about 250
YarisSedan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 02:40 PM   #20
potorap
 
potorap's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 Yaris
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Pahrump, NV
Posts: 40
Scott,

Bought 6 quarts of WS tranny fluid at the dealer Friday asked for a discount and got it for $7.29 a quart instead of $ 9.33. Drained the fluid today and got 3 1/2 quarts out. Very easy job, I re-used the drain plug and gasket and have no leaks, not sure why some have replaced them. I was reading your comments from another thread that the capacity is 5.68 quarts, is this correct?

Thanks for your help.
Richard
potorap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 05:07 PM   #21
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by potorap View Post
Scott,

Bought 6 quarts of WS tranny fluid at the dealer Friday asked for a discount and got it for $7.29 a quart instead of $ 9.33. Drained the fluid today and got 3 1/2 quarts out. Very easy job, I re-used the drain plug and gasket and have no leaks, not sure why some have replaced them. I was reading your comments from another thread that the capacity is 5.68 quarts, is this correct?

Thanks for your help.
Richard
The total capacity is 5.68 qts, but the only way to get that much out of the tranny is to disassemble it and drain the valve body and torque converter. A complete pressure flush as mentioned above would change out most of it, or you can run it for a bit with what you changed out, and then drain and refill it again to swap out a bit more of it.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 10:51 PM   #22
potorap
 
potorap's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 Yaris
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Pahrump, NV
Posts: 40
Scott,
I travel about 125 miles a day and my plan is to drain it again in about 3-4 weeks, drop the pan, change the filter and refill. Upon reinstallation of the pan, should I use any silicone on the block/pan, or put in on dry? is there a pattern to tighten the bolts and what is the torque specs? Thanks.
Richard
potorap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 11:02 PM   #23
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by potorap View Post
Scott,
I travel about 125 miles a day and my plan is to drain it again in about 3-4 weeks, drop the pan, change the filter and refill. Upon reinstallation of the pan, should I use any silicone on the block/pan, or put in on dry? is there a pattern to tighten the bolts and what is the torque specs? Thanks.
Richard
There's an OEM gasket for the pan, so get a new one along with the filter, and no silicone is required. The torque on the pan nuts is only 69 in-lb, which is a whole lot less than you would expect. There isn't a specific pattern for tightening the 19 bolts,
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 11:29 PM   #24
potorap
 
potorap's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 Yaris
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Pahrump, NV
Posts: 40
Scott,
Man you're right only 69lbs, that's not very much. The wix filter I am looking at has a gasket with it. Do you recomend the OEM gasket only? Thanks for the help.
Richard
potorap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 11:32 PM   #25
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by potorap View Post
Scott,
Man you're right only 69lbs, that's not very much. The wix filter I am looking at has a gasket with it. Do you recomend the OEM gasket only? Thanks for the help.
Richard
That's 69 in-lbs, which is just under 6 ft lbs.

The Wix filter/gasket should be fine.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 11:43 PM   #26
potorap
 
potorap's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 Yaris
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Pahrump, NV
Posts: 40
Scott,
Gotcha 6 ft-lbs, thanks again. I will let you know how it goes. Take care.
Richard
potorap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 04:17 PM   #27
potorap
 
potorap's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 Yaris
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Pahrump, NV
Posts: 40
Ok guys,

Just finished dropping the tranny pan and replacing filter. This was the second draining and I am satisfied with job. I am surprised at the amount of metal in the pan and on the old filter. I do not understand why Toyota doesn't recommend a filter change, except for us to purchase a new tranny.Thanks to Scott for the advice on filter change at 100k. I do feel a considerable improvement in shifting and that I believe was the filter change. Another tidbit I discovered today upon recycling the oil and filter. O'reilly auto parts (west coast only?) sells global ATF which on the back of the quart say it is compatible with WS and it is $6 a quart.
potorap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 12:08 AM   #28
Everglade
Crazy Russian
 
Everglade's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris RS
Join Date: May 2013
Location: White Rock
Posts: 15
Why my 2007 Yaris user manual says - total volume of ATF is 2.5 Litres?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ATF volume.jpg (18.9 KB, 166 views)
Everglade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2014, 04:15 PM   #29
frog13
Tw200--excellent!
 
Drives: 2010 yaris..absolutely red.
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 190
As mentioned above , it is only a drain and re-fill , not a disassembly of the transmission .
frog13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 12:06 AM   #30
yarisbird
 
yarisbird's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris HB Bayou Blue
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cypress, CA
Posts: 21
Auto Transmission Drain & Refill 07 Yaris HB

Quote:
Originally Posted by CTScott View Post
There's an OEM gasket for the pan, so get a new one along with the filter, and no silicone is required. The torque on the pan nuts is only 69 in-lb, which is a whole lot less than you would expect. There isn't a specific pattern for tightening the 19 bolts,
Hi CTScott, do you or any of the forum members know what the torque spec is for the transmission drain plug? I read on another thread that a member tightened the drain plug to 35 lb-ft but that seems excessive. Thanks.
yarisbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 11:16 AM   #31
thetut
 
Drives: 2007 4dr sedan
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 40
From the manual:

DRAIN AUTOMATIC TRANSAXLE FLUID
(a) Remove the drain plug and gasket, and drain ATF.
(b) Install a new gasket and the drain plug.
Torque: 49 N*m (500 kgf*cm, 36 ft.*lbf)
thetut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 05:43 PM   #32
06YarisRS
 
Drives: 2006 Yaris RS
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Beaver Harbour, New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 579
When I spoke with the local Toyota dealership, they recommended only a drain and fill and not to replace the filter. That's how they said they service the transmission. Transmission filters and gaskets are a 'special order' item. I had ordered a filter from Rock Auto and it did not come with a gasket. I cheaped out and am now regretting it. So far, I have drained and refilled 3 times. I am going to have toyota order me a gasket and in a few months I'll replace the filter and top up again. Local dealer sells the Toyota WS for $7.95/L (CAD).
__________________

2006 Yaris 5 Door RS
2008 Yaris LE
2011 Kia Sedona LX
06YarisRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2017, 09:04 PM   #33
yarisbird
 
yarisbird's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris HB Bayou Blue
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cypress, CA
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by thetut View Post
From the manual:

DRAIN AUTOMATIC TRANSAXLE FLUID
(a) Remove the drain plug and gasket, and drain ATF.
(b) Install a new gasket and the drain plug.
Torque: 49 N*m (500 kgf*cm, 36 ft.*lbf)
Thanks!
yarisbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2017, 04:05 PM   #34
thetut
 
Drives: 2007 4dr sedan
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 40
You're welcome. Good luck with your Drain and Fill.
thetut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2017, 08:05 AM   #35
white89gt
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: UT
Posts: 40
My Yaris was given to me by a family member that purchased it new, and never serviced the trans. I got it with 121,000 miles on the clock - so I did it myself. My Buddy that owns a transmission shop just happened to come over in the middle of me changing the fluid. My initial intent was to do a drain and fill, but he talked me into dropping the pan and filter. Boy was I happy he did. The OEM filter was nearly plugged. Black stuff was all over it inside.... it was clearly doing its job.

I live about 35 miles from his shop, so we just got a filter and gasket kit from O'Reilly. Not a very high quality set, but better than what I was dealing with. I am going to change it again in a couple months with a Toyota filter, but I thought I'd share that info with you.

Also of note... I used Valvoline Maxlife in it, and it drastically improved shifting. I also needed just under 5 quarts to fill it. I am guessing that the converter drained some out as well - because it sat draining for an hour or so while I went to the part store.
white89gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2017, 04:48 PM   #36
kevinj93
 
kevinj93's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 NCP130
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by white89gt View Post
Also of note... I used Valvoline Maxlife in it, and it drastically improved shifting. I also needed just under 5 quarts to fill it. I am guessing that the converter drained some out as well - because it sat draining for an hour or so while I went to the part store.
Which engine do you have? 1NZ-FE (1.5l) or 2NZ-FE (1.3l)? The different engines have a different auto transmission and use different fluids.
__________________
Running on standard AU 14" steel wheels (14x5 rims, 175/70R14 tyres). Added reversing camera and touch screen radio, cruise control, 16" rear wiper blade, switchback LED DRLs and dash cam. Still to do: better horn(s).
kevinj93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A Mystery Oi'll Say! Yar Is Word Fuel Economy Forum 16 05-11-2013 04:22 AM
2012 Nissan Versa Kal-El Off-topic / Other Cars / Everything else Discussions 22 06-15-2012 04:48 PM
auto transmission fluid change bribri DIY / Maintenance / Service 4 01-01-2012 11:39 AM
NEWS: TOYOTA REVEALS ALL-NEW YARIS SEDAN AT 2006 LOS ANGELES AUTO SHOW VitzBoy General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 5 09-05-2010 08:53 PM
Super Amazing Oil Change DIY id3379 DIY / Maintenance / Service 34 11-28-2008 02:20 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:30 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.