Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Old 03-25-2013, 12:04 AM   #1
mf4361

Drives: Yaris Sedan
How hard I should try to remove spark plug

I am trying to change out my spark plug, as mine has 126000km on it and its still the same one out from factory.

I was trying to unscrew it by a crappy (Canadian) tire spark plug remover (very low quality), but i can't get it loose even by forcing it. Obviously I don't want to really force it out as its possible that it seized up. My next step is to break it loose by a ratchet/socket (and so I got a 6" extension bar). My question is, how hard should I try undoing it before I take it to a garage for a proper seized-up plugs removal?

Sorry if its a stupid question, I am really new to DIY vehicle maintenance.

Thanks all!
mf4361 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 02:50 AM   #2
junorico24

Drives: toyota yaris yrs
It's important to use the right tool.A ratchet with an extension plus a spark plug remover socket. Turn it anti clockwise/ counter clockwise until the plugs loosens up. I would say a firm turn on the ratchet should do the job..

WARNING!! disconnect your negative battery terminal first just in case.
junorico24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 08:58 AM   #3
Yarflana

Drives: 2008 Base Model
I changed my plugs not long ago. I used a ratchet, 6 inch extension and a socket that fit the plug. I would ensure that the socket is 6 point, not 12 point if you are breaking anything loose as this gives you the best contact with the sparkplug edges.

My car has 100k miles on it and the plugs came out fine with these tools.

One thing I did do when inserting the new plugs is I hand tightened them first with the socket and extension only (no ratchet attached) so that there would be minimal chance of crossthreading.