Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Second Generation Toyota Yaris Main Rooms > Fuel Economy Forum
  The Tire Rack

Old 03-25-2009, 04:09 AM   #1
signs

Drives: toyota yaris
The last bar of petrol

How far can you drive when you reach the last bar when it starts to blink? I'm a paranoid driver and the most I've gone when it starts to blink is 10kms, and then I fill up.

I was wondering - can the last bar take you as far as the other bars (which, averages to about 70-80kms per bar for me).
signs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2009, 04:25 AM   #2
Altitude

Drives: '08 LB MT Bayou
When the last bar flashes slowly you have 1.6 US gals. left - when it starts flashing faster you have 1.1 US gals. left.
Altitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2009, 08:27 PM   #3
talnlnky
Audio Junky

Drives: 08 liftback
Send a message via AIM to talnlnky
i've done 50miles after blinking started.... if it ACTUALLY goes off at 1.6g then I should be able to do 60ish miles. I try to get gas though within ten miles of the blinker starting as I don't care to put more stress on the pump/filter and any other parts that supply the gas to the engine... Plus... humidity is high over here.... more air in the tank = more water in the tank.
Old 03-25-2009, 09:46 PM   #4
SilverBack
Joey

Drives: '14 Scion xD 5-speed
Send a message via AIM to SilverBack
I'll usually see how far I can go before the blinking speeds up, after which I keep a sharp eye out for the next station

A forum post should be like a skirt: Long enough to cover the subject but short enough to keep things interesting.

"I don't have an anger problem. I have an idiot problem." -Hank Hill
SilverBack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 01:37 AM   #5
mryaris

Drives: 2010 Carmine Red hatchback