Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Second Generation Toyota Yaris Main Rooms > General Yaris / Vitz Discussion
  The Tire Rack

Old 12-28-2006, 01:30 PM   #1
bojim

Drives: Yaris sedan (silver) auto
Thumbs up Transmission needs to warm up?????

I'm a first time newbie and glad to be a Toyota owner again. I really like my new 07 silver sadan. I have a question that I have not seen it covered yet, except for one time and it was kind of vague. I'm in south Al and it does get below freezing from time to time (believe it or not) ha ha. This is the first car I have ever owned that during cold weather you have to let it warm up before the transmission will shift properly. In my case 40 or 50 degrees F or below. Is it just me because I think this is abnormal? I read in the manual you have to let it warm up but I figured it would have to be freezing outside to affect the transmission. I also asked the service tech. at the Toy. dealership and he said its normal for Toyotas to do this. I'm sorry but I'm very suspiscious. Can ya'll help me please?
bojim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 01:42 PM   #2
bojim

Forgot to tell you this is a automatic. Sorry,
Old 12-28-2006, 02:04 PM   #3
eflb55
its EF LB 55

Drives: Toyota Yaris 2007 Sedan (US)
I had the same problem and a couple of people told me to drive it slower if it's cold out and don't push the car for a couple miles. This way it warms up even faster and you don't run the chance of damaging anything. It's working for me as it feels smoother when shifting after driving it for about a mile or 2 and then I can start pushing the car a little more.
eflb55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 02:34 PM   #4
spkrman
Banned

Drives: 1
there are threads about this, and yea, its normal.

It'll hold 2nd longer until it warms up then it shifts normally, its written into the ECU.