Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Old 10-23-2008, 11:21 PM   #1
revnull
Where did my stars go?

Drives: 2008 Liftback S
Post DIY (08' USDM LB): Interior Light Color Change

Disclaimer: I'm not an electrician or an authorized Toyota installer. This is what worked for me. I am in no way responsible for you breaking, burning or otherwise destroying your car. If corrections need to be made to this guide, I will do so in my spare time. Feel free to PM me with suggestions/corrections/questions.

Note: Aside from the A/C controls and automatic shifter lights, all other lights require soldering equipment and skills. If you do not own either or know someone who does, I suggest you pass on this DIY.

First off, much respect to vodkalush for his original sedan DIY. This DIY is not a replacement for his DIY. It's more of a liftback specific addon. This DIY will cover changing the color of the lights in the stock radio, gauge cluster, center console switches, A/C controls, and door switches. I replaced the amber (orange) lights with white. Depending on the color you choose the part numbers will most certainly differ. I suggest you get more LEDs than you need for the job as some may get damaged during the install. I personally smoked at least 7 myself.

Stuff you'll need

Top: Soldering Iron
Bottom: Cutters, tweezers, very small flathead screwdriver, de-soldering braid, solder, needle nose pliers
Unpictured: Standard size crosshead screwdriver

Parts:
http://autolumination.com/74.htm
3 x Neo Wedge Based LED Bulbs (Type B): For the A/C controls

1 x Tri-Power 3 LED Bulb: For the Automatic shifter light

http://www.eled.com/product.asp?cata..._ID=E7104RWC-A
5 x E7104RWC-A - 3MM WHITE LED LAMP: For fog switch, door lock switch, drivers window switch, and A/C push button
http://www.eled.com/product.asp?cata...ID=EA3528RWC-A