Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > Cosmetic Modifications (Exterior/Interior)
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-10-2010, 03:38 PM   #1
kac
 
kac's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 Meteorite 3dr
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: West/Central Illinois
Posts: 544
Successful Gauge Cluster Swap

I'm happy about this mod. It looks great and it works well!!!

Old cluster:


New cluster:


I've got a 2009 USDM 3dr liftback. The new cluster is from a 2008 Canadian liftback.

Bought it on eBay, and it works great (including and especially the tach).

Yes, WarMachine is the guardian of the gauge cluster.
__________________
Touchscreen DVD Navigation - 10" Bazooka Subwoofer - Kenwood Speakers - Toyota Premium Horn set
AFE Pro Dry Air Filter - modified air intake box - 1ZZ-FE Throttle Body - Ultra Racing Rear Sway Bar & Front Strut Bar
NST in cabin & engine bay SSK's - TWM shifter base bushings & cable bushings - Megan Racing C-Pillar Brace

Last edited by kac; 05-10-2010 at 04:13 PM.
kac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 03:42 PM   #2
kac
 
kac's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 Meteorite 3dr
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: West/Central Illinois
Posts: 544
yes, I'm using KM now. My next oil change is due at approximately 64940KM.

My car actually has 31867 KM on it not 64320. So when I calculate my "milage" I will always have to subtract 32,453 KM
__________________
Touchscreen DVD Navigation - 10" Bazooka Subwoofer - Kenwood Speakers - Toyota Premium Horn set
AFE Pro Dry Air Filter - modified air intake box - 1ZZ-FE Throttle Body - Ultra Racing Rear Sway Bar & Front Strut Bar
NST in cabin & engine bay SSK's - TWM shifter base bushings & cable bushings - Megan Racing C-Pillar Brace
kac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 04:03 PM   #3
ezhacker1
 
ezhacker1's Avatar
 
Drives: Decepticon - Ravage
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,452
wow finding one on ebay huh? how much.
__________________


Check out my Build thread:
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=52274
ezhacker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 04:12 PM   #4
kac
 
kac's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 Meteorite 3dr
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: West/Central Illinois
Posts: 544
$49.94 shipped to my doorset from Canada. Didn't have any trouble finding one at all. Just have to be willing to put a 2008 cluster into a 2009 yaris.
__________________
Touchscreen DVD Navigation - 10" Bazooka Subwoofer - Kenwood Speakers - Toyota Premium Horn set
AFE Pro Dry Air Filter - modified air intake box - 1ZZ-FE Throttle Body - Ultra Racing Rear Sway Bar & Front Strut Bar
NST in cabin & engine bay SSK's - TWM shifter base bushings & cable bushings - Megan Racing C-Pillar Brace
kac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 04:54 PM   #5
Betrivent
Not quite a noob
 
Betrivent's Avatar
 
Drives: e46 325
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: edmonton
Posts: 1,412
I don';t even understand how you guys can drive manual WITHOUT a tach
Betrivent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 05:53 PM   #6
MadMax
 
MadMax's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 Yaris Liftback (Sprocket)
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: San Antonio, Texas!
Posts: 2,833
Quote:
Originally Posted by Betrivent View Post
I don';t even understand how you guys can drive manual WITHOUT a tach
Really? I drove manuals for years, and never looked at the tach. I shifted more on "feel" rather than what the instruments were saying...

But since I've moved on to an auto, it's even easier; but even then, I still tend to shift my auto a lot!

Cheers! M2
__________________
MadMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 06:44 PM   #7
kac
 
kac's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 Meteorite 3dr
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: West/Central Illinois
Posts: 544
Quote:
Originally Posted by Betrivent View Post
I don';t even understand how you guys can drive manual WITHOUT a tach
My first car was a Honda Civic with a 5-speed and no tach... I've had this yaris for a year without a tach... but the last few hours with a tach have been more fun.
__________________
Touchscreen DVD Navigation - 10" Bazooka Subwoofer - Kenwood Speakers - Toyota Premium Horn set
AFE Pro Dry Air Filter - modified air intake box - 1ZZ-FE Throttle Body - Ultra Racing Rear Sway Bar & Front Strut Bar
NST in cabin & engine bay SSK's - TWM shifter base bushings & cable bushings - Megan Racing C-Pillar Brace
kac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 06:51 PM   #8
ezhacker1
 
ezhacker1's Avatar
 
Drives: Decepticon - Ravage
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,452
yeah i see at least 1 on ebay, but im still happy with the price i paid for my S Cluster in miles
__________________


Check out my Build thread:
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=52274
ezhacker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 07:44 PM   #9
Meteorite_Marty
 
Drives: 2008 5-door Yaris Hatchback
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 390
Living in Canada, I got the same guage cluster as stock. I really love it, and the white LEDs look so nice. It looks so much better than the orange.

I like the look so much, that I did the rest of my dash lighting (heater/ac, transmission, radio, window controls, door locks) in white LED to match.

Good choice on the swap!!!
Meteorite_Marty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 11:20 PM   #10
Betrivent
Not quite a noob
 
Betrivent's Avatar
 
Drives: e46 325
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: edmonton
Posts: 1,412
I can shift by the feel too, but it's so weird the concept driving manual without a tach :)
Betrivent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 11:24 PM   #11
auxmike
 
auxmike's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 HB, A/T, Power W/L/M
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: LI, New Yawk
Posts: 2,070
Is it legal to do this?
Will the old pod still read where it left off and make it look as though your car has low milage?
__________________

Never take eyes off opponent - Bruce Lee
auxmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 11:39 PM   #12
Meteorite_Marty
 
Drives: 2008 5-door Yaris Hatchback
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 390
Quote:
Originally Posted by auxmike View Post
Is it legal to do this?
Will the old pod still read where it left off and make it look as though your car has low milage?
Yah, good question. You have way different mileage on the each of the clusters.
Meteorite_Marty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 11:52 PM   #13
yaris2010RS
 
yaris2010RS's Avatar
 
Drives: no-longer-boosted '10 Yaris
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Angus, Ontario
Posts: 1,897
Quote:
Originally Posted by auxmike View Post
Is it legal to do this?
Will the old pod still read where it left off and make it look as though your car has low milage?
nope, this is very illegal. the car now will have no memory of ur prevous reading. stay away from dealerships and cars inspections or u can get screwed over. other thing is when i had an extra dash (i never tried it) but it appeares the display section can be swapped (mine is a '10 and the other was anytime from the beginning of time to '09) i dont know if it would carry over the reading or not, or keep reading for that matter. also something i heard was there is a way to swap the reading from km to mi. how i do not know but thats how i understood it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meteorite_Marty View Post
Living in Canada, I got the same guage cluster as stock. I really love it, and the white LEDs look so nice. It looks so much better than the orange.

I like the look so much, that I did the rest of my dash lighting (heater/ac, transmission, radio, window controls, door locks) in white LED to match.

Good choice on the swap!!!
as for you.....WTF, Y DID U GET WHITE! lol, i didn't realize the 08's came white. mine is stupid ugly fugly gay orange and now i need to work to change (apparently) 50ish wedge LEDs, lol. now i will jsut look into getting a canadian white dash......
__________________
If it has boobs or wheels sooner or later your gonna have problems with it
yaris2010RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 12:05 AM   #14
kac
 
kac's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 Meteorite 3dr
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: West/Central Illinois
Posts: 544
Haven't seen any car inspectors in my lifetime so I'll try and keep it that way. Super easy to swap back in the stock cluster if need be, and no-one has to know this one was in it (except you guys...).
__________________
Touchscreen DVD Navigation - 10" Bazooka Subwoofer - Kenwood Speakers - Toyota Premium Horn set
AFE Pro Dry Air Filter - modified air intake box - 1ZZ-FE Throttle Body - Ultra Racing Rear Sway Bar & Front Strut Bar
NST in cabin & engine bay SSK's - TWM shifter base bushings & cable bushings - Megan Racing C-Pillar Brace
kac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 01:25 AM   #15
yaris2010RS
 
yaris2010RS's Avatar
 
Drives: no-longer-boosted '10 Yaris
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Angus, Ontario
Posts: 1,897
Quote:
Originally Posted by kac View Post
Haven't seen any car inspectors in my lifetime so I'll try and keep it that way. Super easy to swap back in the stock cluster if need be, and no-one has to know this one was in it (except you guys...).
i was gonna do that, keep my millage low on one cluster and add it to the other but i thought about it and between calculating interval for oil change and pain in the ass to keep swapping it out, i didn't find it worth it (also since my car is new i do all the servicing at the dealer, they could possibally give me one more headache.

other thing to keep in mind(in canada at least) when u renew ur ownership every year u write down ur millage and the government keeps it on file....
__________________
If it has boobs or wheels sooner or later your gonna have problems with it
yaris2010RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 01:36 AM   #16
kac
 
kac's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 Meteorite 3dr
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: West/Central Illinois
Posts: 544
Yeah I don't have any of that write down my milage stuff. And I do not plan on putting the stock cluster back in any time soon at all. I've got milage calculated in KM now to know when my oil change intervals are, and I do all my own servicing, and if there is something I don't know how to do I seek the help of a friendly mechanic, not a dealership, so I should be good.
__________________
Touchscreen DVD Navigation - 10" Bazooka Subwoofer - Kenwood Speakers - Toyota Premium Horn set
AFE Pro Dry Air Filter - modified air intake box - 1ZZ-FE Throttle Body - Ultra Racing Rear Sway Bar & Front Strut Bar
NST in cabin & engine bay SSK's - TWM shifter base bushings & cable bushings - Megan Racing C-Pillar Brace
kac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 02:13 AM   #17
Kioshi
Heart Up! Vitz
 
Kioshi's Avatar
 
Drives: トヨタ Vitz
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 2,609
do it, kilomters is fun. I'm running an RS cluster, did one early oil change, and now I am set...every 8000kilomters for oil change.

And on a side note...dealers can pull the actual mileage of your car regardless whether the cluster says one thing or the other. I've already told my dealership about it, 1800mile difference...and they dont seem to care~~

If you are driving the car down to the ground, who cares...free to do whatever you feel like w/ it. And if trade-in time comes, they can send the cluster to a company and have them calibrate to correct engine miles..it's a win-win deal, as long as you are honest as possible w/ the people~~
Kioshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 04:17 AM   #18
ezhacker1
 
ezhacker1's Avatar
 
Drives: Decepticon - Ravage
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kioshi View Post

And on a side note...dealers can pull the actual mileage of your car regardless whether the cluster says one thing or the other. I've already told my dealership about it, 1800mile difference...and they dont seem to care~~
Really? Lol the entire San Francisco to LA trip and back was on my stock cluster. Well doesnt matter, my "real" mileage is still way under the warranty miles per year.
__________________


Check out my Build thread:
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=52274
ezhacker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gauge cluster swap aj552 General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 5 01-07-2010 09:37 PM
FS: gauge cluster with tachometer mrbond Items for Sale by private party 10 12-28-2009 06:27 PM
FS: Gauge Cluster from '09 LB- $150 MGargano Items for Sale by private party 14 10-05-2009 12:59 PM
Gauge Cluster Swap, other interior swap questions. Adrenalingirl_K In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm) 4 04-09-2009 03:32 AM
09 Liftback Speedo Gauge cluster dilemna with picsŪ pariahdecss In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm) 4 01-28-2009 03:04 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:52 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.