Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Old 07-21-2014, 11:08 PM   #1
LeetViet

Drives: 07 Yaris 4DR
Lightbulb DIY paint and road rash touch up (56K WARNING)

I bought my Yaris used from a friend, and it came with road rash. I did my research, and set out to repair it myself. This is my first time attempting anything like this. Criticism, and helpful tips welcome!

Pictures taken with a Nexus 5 (with HDR+), and resized to 1024px width.

Materials used:
- Nu Finish Scratch Doctor
- Rust Remover Gel
- Dr. ColorChip kit
- 800 grit sandpaper (up to you)
- Random plastic card
- Squirt bottle filled with distilled water and a couple squirts of dish detergent
- Microfibre cloth
- Paper towels

The damage. Not the worst but there were rust spots developing I wanted to address.

Right side damage close-up.

Center damage close-up.

Left side damage close-up.

I started by applying Nu Finish Scratch Doctor over the scratches. I let it sit for a couple minutes to haze.

I then start rubbing aggressively with a paper towel on the scratches. It's not much, but you can see the lighter surface scratches coming out of the clear coat.

Sprayed, and wiped down with a microfibre cloth. Compared to how it started out, there is a small noticeable difference.

On to wet sanding. I sprayed the area, and wrapped the sand paper around the plastic card. My scratches were side to side, so I wanted to minimize the amount of clear coat and paint I would sand off. I sanded with the edge of the card in a side-to-side motion.

After wet sanding everything, I sprayed the area, and wiped it down with a microfibre cloth.

Right side damage close-up after wet sanding.