Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Third Generation Toyota Yaris Main Rooms > Third Gen Yaris General Discussion
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-07-2019, 04:45 AM   #1
rayfloyd170
 
Drives: YARIS
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: SAUDI ARABIA
Posts: 37
Just a question with OBD2

i recently purchased this OBD2 code reader/scanner ELM327 bluetooth 4.0 - VGATE iCarPro from Ali Express

Link: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Vgat...3d964c4dm3Zb46

Since my Yaris is the base sedan model and lacks the engine temp gauges and fuel consumption/distance displays I want to know if it is safe to use this device while driving and plugged in all the time in the OBD port?

It says it has auto power off function and consume less than 3mA.
on top of that i also need to know the engine performance hence i need this plugged in while driving let say for a day or two..

I need your feedback please.. Thanks
rayfloyd170 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2019, 06:03 AM   #2
kevinj93
 
kevinj93's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 NCP130
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 230
It won't hurt the Yaris use it while you are driving.

How safe it is depends on where you mount the display, and how distracting it is to look at all the information....
__________________
Running on standard AU 14" steel wheels (14x5 rims, 175/70R14 tyres). Added reversing camera and touch screen radio, cruise control, 16" rear wiper blade, switchback LED DRLs and dash cam. Still to do: better horn(s).
kevinj93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2019, 06:27 AM   #3
rayfloyd170
 
Drives: YARIS
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: SAUDI ARABIA
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinj93 View Post
It won't hurt the Yaris use it while you are driving.

How safe it is depends on where you mount the display, and how distracting it is to look at all the information....

Thanks man for the prompt reply, just as i was expecting there should be no problem at all...

However some people in AMazon commented that i should not plug this at all time, i dont know what are they afraid of?

That is the reason why i came to pop this question here for more clarity of the answer but glad you answered me immediately...
rayfloyd170 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2019, 08:54 AM   #4
tmontague
 
tmontague's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 2zr swapped Vios M/T
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hamilton Ont.
Posts: 2,789
I use an ultra gauge that I leave plugged into the obd II port all the time. As long as it is functioning properly it won't pull any amps with the ignition off.

If something goes wrong with it there is potential for it to draw amperage and drain your battery when the car is off. This is not likely as I believe the obd II port has no power unless the ignition is on.
__________________
No one ever wants to give a Yaris the point by...
tmontague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 03:52 AM   #5
kevinj93
 
kevinj93's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 NCP130
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 230
The OBD2 port is continuously powered. It isn't ignition switched. Depending on the device's power drain, and how long you leave it plugged in, you could flatten the car battery.
__________________
Running on standard AU 14" steel wheels (14x5 rims, 175/70R14 tyres). Added reversing camera and touch screen radio, cruise control, 16" rear wiper blade, switchback LED DRLs and dash cam. Still to do: better horn(s).
kevinj93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 04:32 AM   #6
rayfloyd170
 
Drives: YARIS
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: SAUDI ARABIA
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinj93 View Post
The OBD2 port is continuously powered. It isn't ignition switched. Depending on the device's power drain, and how long you leave it plugged in, you could flatten the car battery.
thanks for your opinion...

it says <3mA when not in use... i guess this is very minimal but anyway
I am not concerned of the power drain.. the issue i am concerned about is Safety- to the point that it affects the whole car while i am driving at high speed...

some people say "it might" interfere with the ECU while i am driving or i dont know if thats possible??? scary things in my mind...

but if anybody can tell me that it wont affect whatsoever then i would put it plug all the time...
rayfloyd170 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 06:45 AM   #7
kevinj93
 
kevinj93's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 NCP130
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 230
The ELM can reset some ECM error codes to turn off the Check Engine Light. It can read many different values such as engine temperatures, RPM, speed, fuel/air ratio, timing advance and so on. It cannot override the factory programming of the ECM. You can see many parameters of what the engine is doing, but can't use the ELM327 to modify thse values. It will not affect the performance in any way. Software such a Torque will basically allow you to have extra virtual engine instruments, and read diagnostic codes if there is a problem.
__________________
Running on standard AU 14" steel wheels (14x5 rims, 175/70R14 tyres). Added reversing camera and touch screen radio, cruise control, 16" rear wiper blade, switchback LED DRLs and dash cam. Still to do: better horn(s).
kevinj93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 06:55 AM   #8
rayfloyd170
 
Drives: YARIS
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: SAUDI ARABIA
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinj93 View Post
The ELM can reset some ECM error codes to turn off the Check Engine Light. It can read many different values such as engine temperatures, RPM, speed, fuel/air ratio, timing advance and so on. It cannot override the factory programming of the ECM. You can see many parameters of what the engine is doing, but can't use the ELM327 to modify thse values. It will not affect the performance in any way. Software such a Torque will basically allow you to have extra virtual engine instruments, and read diagnostic codes if there is a problem.
Exactly what i was wanting to hear... Thank you for the clear and direct to the point answers. So i guess i'll have to leave it plug in. :)
rayfloyd170 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 12:48 PM   #9
IllusionX
It's the illusion you see
 
Drives: 07 Yaris Sedan Aero
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brossard, QC
Posts: 3,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinj93 View Post
The OBD2 port is continuously powered. It isn't ignition switched. Depending on the device's power drain, and how long you leave it plugged in, you could flatten the car battery.
Got any reference to your statement? Because it will not power ODB powered readers if ignition is not on.. thus, I'd say it isn't continuous.

Sent from my CLT-L04 using Tapatalk
__________________
IllusionX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 01:47 PM   #10
myfirstyota
3 Yaris and counting..
 
Drives: 07 Yaris rs 3 door 2zr swaped
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 372
I have one of these bluetooth readers in my car. I leave town for work 5 days at a time. My battery has never died. However the little red light on the reader will still blink if the car is off. Does it draw power with the car off? Well, the light blinks. Is the obd port powered when the car is off? Well, the light blinks.

I have never unplugged it. I have never experienced anything that would indicate it's messing with my ecu.
__________________
No one suspects the Yaris.

Xd/2zr-fe Swap/Build Thread
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61427

Bolt-in 3.75" Suspension Lift Build Thread
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61577
myfirstyota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 01:49 PM   #11
IllusionX
It's the illusion you see
 
Drives: 07 Yaris Sedan Aero
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brossard, QC
Posts: 3,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by myfirstyota View Post
I have one of these bluetooth readers in my car. I leave town for work 5 days at a time. My battery has never died. However the little red light on the reader will still blink if the car is off. Does it draw power with the car off? Well, the light blinks. Is the obd port powered when the car is off? Well, the light blinks.

I have never unplugged it. I have never experienced anything that would indicate it's messing with my ecu.
That's interesting. Mine goes completely off.

Sent from my CLT-L04 using Tapatalk
__________________
IllusionX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 02:12 PM   #12
dogsridewith
 
Drives: 2007 2-door hatchback
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: USAnotCA
Posts: 745
OBDII bluetooth display

w/ a Bluetooth OBDII reader, what is doing the display?
dogsridewith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 02:45 PM   #13
tmontague
 
tmontague's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 2zr swapped Vios M/T
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hamilton Ont.
Posts: 2,789
I haven't tested every pin of the obd plug but my gauge has no power with ignition off
__________________
No one ever wants to give a Yaris the point by...
tmontague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 05:21 PM   #14
myfirstyota
3 Yaris and counting..
 
Drives: 07 Yaris rs 3 door 2zr swaped
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 372
Quote:
Originally Posted by dogsridewith View Post
w/ a Bluetooth OBDII reader, what is doing the display?
Most people use their smartphone, but id imagine anything you can load an app on, that has a screen and Bluetooth
__________________
No one suspects the Yaris.

Xd/2zr-fe Swap/Build Thread
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61427

Bolt-in 3.75" Suspension Lift Build Thread
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61577
myfirstyota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 07:13 PM   #15
kevinj93
 
kevinj93's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 NCP130
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by IllusionX View Post
Got any reference to your statement? Because it will not power ODB powered readers if ignition is not on.. thus, I'd say it isn't continuous.

Sent from my CLT-L04 using Tapatalk
Here is a picture of the OBD2 pinout. Note that +12 volts is "Always on".
Attached Images
File Type: png OBD2-Connector-Pinout.png (26.4 KB, 73 views)
__________________
Running on standard AU 14" steel wheels (14x5 rims, 175/70R14 tyres). Added reversing camera and touch screen radio, cruise control, 16" rear wiper blade, switchback LED DRLs and dash cam. Still to do: better horn(s).
kevinj93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2019, 05:55 AM   #16
rayfloyd170
 
Drives: YARIS
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: SAUDI ARABIA
Posts: 37
I successfully used my OBD2 and i just plug it up without removing it, doesnt drain my battery that much (<2.7mA) as per the manual. It totally shuts off (red LED off) about 30minutes when not in use...

I used Torque and sometimes Dash Drive Smart App... I find Torque very good since i can customize the display/ parameters that i need to monitor...Dash Drive Smart is also an excellent tool that gives you the driving score at the end of each trip..

However i find that my Yaris doesnt have the data for OIL Temp.. It only has the Coolant Temp? Am i missing something or this is just the case with our Yaris, maybe cost saving????

Thanks
rayfloyd170 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2019, 06:06 PM   #17
kevinj93
 
kevinj93's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 NCP130
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 230
The manufacturers decide what sensors they want to fit to a vehicle. This would usually be a set that allows the ECU to function properly. AFAIK the Yaris only has a switch type oil pressure sensor to control the warning light on the dashboard.

I doubt there would be a vehicle available tbat has every possible sensor available. All you can do is chose from what is available to display.
__________________
Running on standard AU 14" steel wheels (14x5 rims, 175/70R14 tyres). Added reversing camera and touch screen radio, cruise control, 16" rear wiper blade, switchback LED DRLs and dash cam. Still to do: better horn(s).
kevinj93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2019, 03:26 PM   #18
pribek
 
pribek's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris Hybrid 2016
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Croatia
Posts: 16
https://www.ebay.com/itm/ELM327-V1-5...72.m2749.l2649

Manufacturer Specifications:
NX101 Pro OBD2 ELM327 V1.5 Bluetooth Car Adaptor Auto Diagnostic Scanner ELM327 is built with auto-sleep mode, after 30 min without communication, it will go in sleep mode. The sleep mode of our scanner is only 10mA, so there is no need to worry about leaving it in the car over night with plugging in.
pribek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OBD2 Scanner/App & more Braingasim DIY / Maintenance / Service 9 08-14-2018 03:49 AM
License Plate question awebb005 Cosmetic Modifications (Exterior/Interior) 5 11-11-2014 09:28 AM
Voltage regulator and Amperage question... cr.chango DIY / Maintenance / Service 13 11-24-2009 01:59 PM
ctrl-alt-delete question & free anti-virus question Shroomster Off-topic / Other Cars / Everything else Discussions 19 09-08-2009 03:57 AM
Amplifier Watt Question....noob question hasher22 In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm) 4 09-27-2007 03:59 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:08 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.