Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-02-2011, 11:24 PM   #1
rningonfumes
 
rningonfumes's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris Sedan 5MT
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 870
DIY - - -TPMS work around

So if you have a new auto with the TPMS system will should work for you also. This does not apply only to the Yaris.

Quick back ground:

The TPMS system works on sensing pressure from the 4 tires (maybe 5 if you have a full size spare-- I don't know). Each sensor at the wheel only send data to the computer in the car, it is the car's computer that takes in info and then figures out if it should tell the driver in the form of a light on the dash.

There are more sophisticated TPMS systems which may tell you the exact pressure each tire is at, this DIY is not directed towards those systems. The particular kind of TPMS on lower end cars like the Yaris is crude in comparison to what was already state. The Yaris TPMS can be summarized to : Computer takes in info, Computer compares the pressures, Computer says "hey there is a difference" thus it lights up the dash. I believe that there is a low point where the light must go on but it seems it is set so low that you can obviously see that the tires are flat.

REASON: This is for you if you have multiple sets of wheels a la winter and rest of the year. Those sensors cost upwards of 100 bucks, plus the hassle of programming. EVen if you could afford multiple sets of sensors, it is not a matter of bolting on and go, I believe the computers only allow 4 sensors at any time. So you would still need to keep pertinent data like serial numbers or part numbers and drive down to the tire shop or dealer to re program the computer each time you switch sets.
________________________________

1. Gather parts.

DRILL
BITS (7/16 and two smaller for pilot holes)
Bent nose pliers
Tape measure
Marker
Hack saw

Shop for:

PVC Pipe (3.5inch Diameter)
PVC Caps
ABS Cement (pipe glue)
---Total about 20 bucks (piping and glue)

2. Lay everything out to get organized:






3. Measure/Math/Mark
Holes:
Diameter was 3.5in. Full circumference was about 11in. 11in. divided by 4 needed holes makes about 2.75 inch spacing. (adjust spacing appropriately according to the diameter)

Caps:
Inside the caps is a groove that will prevent the pipe from bottoming out. Measure to it and park on the pipe.






Marks:

[ <------to groove----->][<----center for holes----->][<----to groove_----->]

Doesn't have to be exact, just make sure you have room in the center for the holes and that it's wide enough for the width of the body of the sensor..

4. DRILL

Drill the holes, use pilot holes to make drilling easier.

5.Test fit one sensor just to make sure the hole is okay. Doesn't need to be snug. You'll need a bit of looseness for later. Take it off.



6. Cut!!

7. Put in the sensors. The first three will be okay, but the fourth will be a tight fit. This is the reason why you should not put in the nuts on any of them yet and why you cut the pipe. A bit of a puzzle literally.

An alternative arrangement is three in the middle and one on top of the cap. (do measurements accordingly)




8. Dry fit the end caps and then apply glue to both the end of the pipe and the inside of the cap. (Do one end at a time)





9. Wait fifteen minutes for the cement to set then pump air in. Take it to the car and you should be okay after it recognizes the signals.


You can vary the idea to fit your needs, this is just one example.
__________________
rningonfumes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 08:41 AM   #2
rick996
 
rick996's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 5 door hatch w/5 sp man.
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Coventry, CT
Posts: 160
And don't go to the airport. It looks like you're carrying a pipe bomb!
__________________


rick996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 09:49 AM   #3
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,460
There's a much easier solution:

http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=11058
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 04:37 PM   #4
rningonfumes
 
rningonfumes's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris Sedan 5MT
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 870
LoL on the airport.
__________________
rningonfumes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 08:55 PM   #5
auxmike
 
auxmike's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 HB, A/T, Power W/L/M
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: LI, New Yawk
Posts: 2,072
This would'nt work for me. I have my old steelies stored away, and my alloys on the car. Steelies have the sensors. I'm not willing to dismount all 4 tires to pluck out the sensors to stuff into a plastic tube....
__________________

Never take eyes off opponent - Bruce Lee
auxmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 09:04 PM   #6
auxmike
 
auxmike's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 HB, A/T, Power W/L/M
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: LI, New Yawk
Posts: 2,072
Also, what happens when the (!) lamp burns out? Will it set off a MIL? Is it possible to just remove it or use a dummy load in place of the lamp?
__________________

Never take eyes off opponent - Bruce Lee
auxmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 09:11 PM   #7
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by auxmike View Post
Also, what happens when the (!) lamp burns out? Will it set off a MIL? Is it possible to just remove it or use a dummy load in place of the lamp?
The ECM doesn't speak to the TPWS, so if the LED died you wouldn't have any indication.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dash light, low pressure light, tpms, tpms light

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY - How to remove or insert a pin on the ECM Connector A21 CTScott DIY / Maintenance / Service 4 05-16-2015 05:06 AM
DIY: Strut Tower Brace Bar redyaris DIY / Maintenance / Service 18 03-16-2014 06:52 PM
DIY Oil Pressure Gauge Install LtNoogie DIY / Maintenance / Service 13 11-20-2009 05:13 PM
Which of These Car Companies Will Go Bust First? *MAD DOG* Off-topic / Other Cars / Everything else Discussions 23 11-16-2008 11:50 PM
TPMS TinyGiant Wheels, Tires and Suspension Forum sponsored by The Tire Rack 6 10-22-2008 03:57 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:56 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.