Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-22-2013, 02:14 AM   #1
skoya
 
skoya's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris 1.0L
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bosnia,Sa
Posts: 31
Dashboard Clock goes off?

Hi,
When I started the car this morning,the clock and BC indicator suddenly goes off.Anyone has idea what it could be??
skoya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 02:36 AM   #2
jRoss
 
Drives: 2010 5spd sedan
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 137
Try the knob to the left off the steering wheel, turn it til it clicks
jRoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 03:40 AM   #3
skoya
 
skoya's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris 1.0L
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bosnia,Sa
Posts: 31
What knob?There is only for the mirrors and headlights
skoya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 05:42 AM   #4
jRoss
 
Drives: 2010 5spd sedan
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 137
It's the like a spinny switch that adjusts the dimness of the gauge cluster, i believe it's right under the cup holder. I accidentally hit it one time and the clock light would go off when i turned on the headlights, i thought something was wrong. It took me taking it to autozone and a little experimenting.
jRoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 06:54 AM   #5
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Most of the European ones do not have a dimmer rheostat like our US ones do.

What year is the Yaris?

And, does it have the digital or analog instrument cluster?
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 07:22 AM   #6
skoya
 
skoya's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris 1.0L
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bosnia,Sa
Posts: 31
The Year is 2006,and the cluster is digital.
skoya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 08:14 AM   #7
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by skoya View Post
The Year is 2006,and the cluster is digital.
OK - So definitely no dimmer rheostat.

Check the 7.5A MET, 7.5A PANEL1, and 7.5A PANEL2 fuses all of which are in the fuse panel that is under the bottom of the dashboard.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 08:42 AM   #8
skoya
 
skoya's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris 1.0L
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bosnia,Sa
Posts: 31
That is left under from the steering wheel,when I remove the panel,right?
skoya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 08:46 AM   #9
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by skoya View Post
That is left under from the steering wheel,when I remove the panel,right?
Yes - If your car is left hand drive it is to the left of the steering wheel and and it is under the bottom of the dash, so you look up from the floor to see the cover, which has the labels.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 04:08 PM   #10
skoya
 
skoya's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris 1.0L
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bosnia,Sa
Posts: 31
Ok Scott,
I have checked the fuses,they are Ok.I disassembled the cluster,and there where no bulbs.What now?
skoya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 04:19 PM   #11
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by skoya View Post
Ok Scott,
I have checked the fuses,they are Ok.I disassembled the cluster,and there where no bulbs.What now?
What parts of the instrument cluster are still working properly?
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 04:36 PM   #12
skoya
 
skoya's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris 1.0L
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bosnia,Sa
Posts: 31
Everything works as it should be,only this right corner,where the clock,trip computer and the MPG shows,that part is out of light.When I took apart the cluster,I notice that this particulary part containes small LCD display which is attached to this connector.And behind that is small circuit board that controls it.I did not see any bulbs.Maybe it is an electrical failure,or something like that.
skoya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 07:33 PM   #13
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by skoya View Post
Everything works as it should be,only this right corner,where the clock,trip computer and the MPG shows,that part is out of light.When I took apart the cluster,I notice that this particulary part containes small LCD display which is attached to this connector.And behind that is small circuit board that controls it.I did not see any bulbs.Maybe it is an electrical failure,or something like that.
OK. It does sound like a failure of a portion of the cluster's circuitry. If you have the owners manual for you car, take a look to make sure that it is not simply a case where you can some how turn off those items.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 03:57 AM   #14
skoya
 
skoya's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris 1.0L
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bosnia,Sa
Posts: 31
I have both owner's and repair manual,and I can't see nowhere that problem.
Altought I've downloaded the owner's manual,and it's only for US and Canada models.European couldn't find nowhere.I need it exactly for digital cluster,anything else is useless.
skoya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 06:57 AM   #15
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by skoya View Post
I have both owner's and repair manual,and I can't see nowhere that problem.
Altought I've downloaded the owner's manual,and it's only for US and Canada models.European couldn't find nowhere.I need it exactly for digital cluster,anything else is useless.
I have parts of the European service manual, but it does not indicate being able to turn off the clock. Sometimes the owners manual has some additional information on those kinds of "features".
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 07:11 AM   #16
skoya
 
skoya's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris 1.0L
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bosnia,Sa
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTScott View Post
I have parts of the European service manual, but it does not indicate being able to turn off the clock. Sometimes the owners manual has some additional information on those kinds of "features".
I don't know man,what can I do?Do you have something else on your mind?
Any answer is a welcome.
skoya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 07:19 AM   #17
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by skoya View Post
I don't know man,what can I do?Do you have something else on your mind?
Any answer is a welcome.
Other than one of the connectors having been loose, I can't think of anything else that you can easily check. At this point, if you can find someone with another Yaris with a digital cluster, you could try swapping the two to verify that the problem is with the actual cluster.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 08:03 AM   #18
skoya
 
skoya's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris 1.0L
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bosnia,Sa
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTScott View Post
Other than one of the connectors having been loose, I can't think of anything else that you can easily check. At this point, if you can find someone with another Yaris with a digital cluster, you could try swapping the two to verify that the problem is with the actual cluster.
I will try with this connector,but not today.I will have to wait til weekend.
We don't have much Yaris in my town,so the second option falls thru.
By the way,I forgot to tell you,there is a smaller connector that connects speedo gauge with the hausing,or something like that.Anyway I will try to do something.Thank's again.
skoya is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GI: "YarGauge" replacement clock module (Digital Tach, etc.) CTScott Items for Sale by private party 756 03-21-2013 08:22 PM
05 Echo changing time on clock jambo101 DIY / Maintenance / Service 3 11-12-2011 05:34 AM
Dashboard mount for iPhone 4S? shima In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm) 3 10-25-2011 09:22 AM
Dashboard remove ... ALL of it Toji Cosmetic Modifications (Exterior/Interior) 7 02-26-2011 07:30 AM
Setting the clock after DST change ToddR DIY / Maintenance / Service 10 03-09-2009 11:33 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:17 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.