Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > Wash, Wax, Detailing, Exterior Repairs
  The Tire Rack

Old 03-03-2011, 01:37 AM   #1
yaris2010RS

Drives: no-longer-boosted '10 Yaris
clay bar or polish?

so i have never used a clay bar before and always only polish my cars with Turtle wax hard shell.....

basically im asking if i should clay bar it or if i can get the same result from polish? i use turtle wax hard shell polish and and i have been very happy with my polish results but can i get more out of a clay bar that wax can never offer? whats the difference between the two?

Last edited by yaris2010RS; 03-03-2011 at 01:51 PM.
yaris2010RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 01:53 AM   #2
frownonfun

Drives: 09 Yaris HB, 08 SR5 Tundra
i think you really should wax whether you clay bar or not. i was under the impression that a clay bar is more for cleaning the paint in a way that soap and water can't. where as wax is more for protecting the paint.

and my experience with a clay bar is it's a complete waste of time. but i know there are some people who will disagree. you are welcome to give the clay baring a try though. can't hurt. well it could i guess, if you don't do it right.

I crush you like tiny clown car, because you are clown, yes?
frownonfun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 08:03 AM   #3
WeeYari

Drives: 06 Polar White 5dr, 13 Soul 4u
Claying is a periodical thing only. Try some baby steps and get some Liquid Clay. I typically will give a once over with the liquid clay in the spring, then just waxes for the rest of the season. With my white car, I can noticeably see a difference after the clay treatment. After doing a panel, you can really see how an untreated panel has a slight yellowish tinge.

Actual clay bars kinda scare me.
Old 03-03-2011, 12:00 PM   #4
RawrDaddy

Drives: 2007