Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-13-2016, 11:10 AM   #1
RiggYaris
 
Drives: 2010 2-door hatchback
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: D/FW, Texas
Posts: 3
Exclamation Intermittent (old and new) AC blower motors

Recently, my daughter’s AC blower motor in her 2010 Yaris stopped working. I read a Toyota Tacoma blog about the same problem, where one blogger gave the blower housing a tap with the handle of his screwdriver and it started working. Sure enough, when I just bumped the original motor, it started working. I assumed that was a sign the blower motor was about to go out completely, so I replaced it with a new one about 2 weeks ago.

Yesterday, the brand new motor stopped blowing! My daughter remembered I gave the old motor a bump, so she leaned over and just smacked the glove box door and the blower started working. Then, after her car sat in our driveway for a couple hours, the dang thing stopped working again as she was pulling out of the driveway! So she smacked the glove box and it started working again.

From what I've read, this is a common problem in a lot of Toyotas, but I haven't seen a definitive solution. Does anyone have any ideas where a short or improper connection might be that is causing this intermittent issue?

Thank you!

Last edited by RiggYaris; 03-13-2016 at 11:15 AM. Reason: Wanted to show urgent icon
RiggYaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2016, 11:39 AM   #2
Exiwolfman
 
Exiwolfman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Wasaga beach
Posts: 1,595
Is the blower dead or does it still work on high mode , could be the resister that is gone .
Exiwolfman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2016, 09:07 PM   #3
RiggYaris
 
Drives: 2010 2-door hatchback
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: D/FW, Texas
Posts: 3
The blower is not dead and does work on high mode.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
RiggYaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2016, 09:46 PM   #4
Exiwolfman
 
Exiwolfman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Wasaga beach
Posts: 1,595
Quote:
Originally Posted by RiggYaris View Post
The blower is not dead and does work on high mode.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
sorry should have said high mode only will lead me to believe its the resistor .
Exiwolfman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2016, 09:54 PM   #5
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
If smacking it makes it start spinning, then it is not the resistor. If the resistor is bad, it will always work on high, but not on one or more of the lower settings.

Pull the blower and see if something is stuck in the blades. If the car is being run without a cabin air filter, it may have sucked something out of the glove box and into the blower impeller.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2016, 06:09 PM   #6
RiggYaris
 
Drives: 2010 2-door hatchback
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: D/FW, Texas
Posts: 3
It's a brand new blower motor. I also replaced the cabin filter at the same time. The motor I replaced was spinning freely and we have always kept up with replacing the cabin filter.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
RiggYaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
a/c, blower, motor

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:38 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.