Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-19-2014, 08:57 PM   #1
xb visitor
 
Drives: scion xb
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: so cal
Posts: 13
BIG loss of power

Hello, heres the issue. I have a brand new clutch with 4k on it..everything done with new parts, works great. But The car..is noticeably slower I have always been able to hit 60 in the 8.5-9 second range...now Im lucky to get under 11 seconds...Yea I know there terribly slow anyways...but now its REALLY slow.
Best way I can describe it is....It feels like its not getting any air...struggling as if going up a hill? This car has been virtually...bulletproof. Hands down the best,most durable car Ive ever owned..and Ive owned a lot of everything
.
I have a "hard" 150,000 miles over 10 years
New clutch assembly.
Doesn't use a drop of oil
Doesn't smoke
Makes no noise
Makes no smell
Throttle body cleaned.sensors
NEVER had any idiot lights or CELs...
CAI Injen intake & INGEN fireball exhaust ..both are 100% useless but each sound good.
Newer plugs, wires,air filter

Waterpump...is slowly dying it started weeping occasionally 60,000 miles ago. its making noise"sqeeking" now along with the original belt.
Its due to get replaced soon.

QUESTION: COULD IT BE THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER GOING BAD? Also has a minor loping idle? HAVE AMNY OF YOU EXPERIENCED THIS OR ANY THING SIMILAR??
xb visitor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 09:03 PM   #2
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
A plugged cat could definitely cause a significant loss of power, but when it gets that bad you will typically start seeing intermittent CELs for the O2 sensor.

Bad waterpump bearings could also be stealing some power.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 09:53 PM   #3
xnamerxx
0-60 in slow
 
xnamerxx's Avatar
 
Drives: light blue liftback
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: so cal
Posts: 887
Idle issues would have me looking at the MAF or the VVTI solenoid. Both of those typically put out a code though. Your gonna have to plug a computer into it and see what its doing.
xnamerxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 08:03 PM   #4
ex-x-fire
 
Drives: 2010 yaris 3 door hatch
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sheboygan Falls, Wi.
Posts: 159
Maybe the fluid in the manual trans is wrong, too heavy a weight.
ex-x-fire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When will the Yaris hit the showrooms at dealers? Petrolhead New YARIS Purchase Forum 181 11-28-2011 08:03 AM
Power lock questions Taiyaki DIY / Maintenance / Service 22 04-22-2009 10:22 PM
Power Lock button?? cyberfrogg DIY / Maintenance / Service 25 03-26-2009 10:16 PM
Well seems the F&*king Power Package with Manual is impossible in the States(Hatch) gaffo General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 28 07-15-2007 07:55 PM
oops is too much power bad sdmf In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm) 5 07-08-2007 04:08 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:22 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.