Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-31-2007, 09:49 PM   #19
seanele
 
seanele's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Blazing Blue LB, '09 Jetta
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 413
getting ready to do my first oil change for the Yaris...later i will do the reset thing.
I will post it here the result..
__________________
current: '07 Yaris LB - '09 VW Jetta
ex: '06 Beetle S(19x8.5 Audi A8) - MK4 GLi BMP(18x8 OZ, K04) - '03 GTi(17x7.5 Ronal, APR93) - '01 GLS - '88 GTi - '86 GTi - '83 GTi
seanele is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 11:31 PM   #20
seanele
 
seanele's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Blazing Blue LB, '09 Jetta
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by seanele View Post
getting ready to do my first oil change for the Yaris...later i will do the reset thing.
I will post it here the result..
well...last night after i finished the oil change, i forgot to reset it.
and then..since i was too tired i went straight to bed.

just now my wife called saying that service light is now on...
hehehe...now i'm screwed.
i promise her last night that i will take care of it.

oh well...
__________________
current: '07 Yaris LB - '09 VW Jetta
ex: '06 Beetle S(19x8.5 Audi A8) - MK4 GLi BMP(18x8 OZ, K04) - '03 GTi(17x7.5 Ronal, APR93) - '01 GLS - '88 GTi - '86 GTi - '83 GTi
seanele is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2007, 08:05 PM   #21
Zute
 
Zute's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris Liftback
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 19
I just got mine done last week and I asked to make sure they reset that thing! Also, mine came on about 200 miles before 5000!! It scared me so I took it in and got it serviced and the tires rotated! :)
Zute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 08:50 AM   #22
YarisPete
 
Drives: 09' Yaris Liftback and 06' FZ1
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Red Wing, MN
Posts: 24
Resetting the Maintenance Required Light

I bought my Yaris in December and have 12,000 miles on it already. I just changed the oil at 11,000 and the light started coming on and now is on all the time.

Is that happening so they can change my oil for $30 a crack?
YarisPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2009, 07:02 AM   #23
sindbad
I've made a post!
 
Drives: toyota
Join Date: May 2009
Location: yaris
Posts: 1
hi every body , i have a 2006 toyota yaris my check engine light is always on i have tried to reste it using the method you mentioned here but no way the light is still on when i checked it with the computer i got the result like code001 p2770 torque converter clutch ciruit high the car is running well i have tried to remove the battery to reset it but in vain do you have another method to reset that light is the problem of the clutch serious please help
sindbad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2009, 07:19 AM   #24
AlexNet0
 
AlexNet0's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Yaris 3dr
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Rockland, ME
Posts: 1,667
Send a message via AIM to AlexNet0 Send a message via MSN to AlexNet0 Send a message via Yahoo to AlexNet0
^ you have a check engine light, not the maintenance light. take it to the dealer.
__________________
----------
----------
AlexNet0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 11:08 AM   #25
R2D2
Crazy Oil Sniffer
 
R2D2's Avatar
 
Drives: MM 09 Yaris 5 Dr LB "Click"
Join Date: May 2009
Location: ME
Posts: 499
Does any one happen to know if this erases the mileage on Trip A when this is done? I'm just curious because I always track my my miles per tank on the trip meter and am afraid I'll lose the info. I should probably get in the habit of logging it elsewhere anyway just in case.

TIA

R2
R2D2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 11:11 AM   #26
AlexNet0
 
AlexNet0's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Yaris 3dr
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Rockland, ME
Posts: 1,667
Send a message via AIM to AlexNet0 Send a message via MSN to AlexNet0 Send a message via Yahoo to AlexNet0
^ no it does not.
__________________
----------
----------
AlexNet0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 05:21 PM   #27
R2D2
Crazy Oil Sniffer
 
R2D2's Avatar
 
Drives: MM 09 Yaris 5 Dr LB "Click"
Join Date: May 2009
Location: ME
Posts: 499
Great, thanks!

R2
R2D2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 04:47 PM   #28
areithan1980
 
areithan1980's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris Hatchback
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: North Chicago IL 60064
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by Violin View Post
The odometer has to be in the "Trip A" setting first.

was gonna say he had left one thing to do which should have been int he beginning.... i did that to mine then ignition off, press and hold trip button, ignition on and wait till it count downs and you set. It was quicker thhan i thought. Oh yeah i had to do that since i can save more money getting the oil from my brothers store (advance auto) and get his discount to get castrol syntec 5w30 rather than paying 40 bucks to Toyota dealer umph!
areithan1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 04:52 PM   #29
areithan1980
 
areithan1980's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris Hatchback
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: North Chicago IL 60064
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by sindbad View Post
hi every body , i have a 2006 toyota yaris my check engine light is always on i have tried to reste it using the method you mentioned here but no way the light is still on when i checked it with the computer i got the result like code001 p2770 torque converter clutch ciruit high the car is running well i have tried to remove the battery to reset it but in vain do you have another method to reset that light is the problem of the clutch serious please help


well.. clutch is one of your main function in a car it pretty much connects/transfers your engine power and torgue via tranny to your wheels for it to move ;P <engine><Flywheel> (clutch) <transmission><wheels> = zoom zoom zoom
areithan1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 05:46 PM   #30
jaaf
 
jaaf's Avatar
 
Drives: Belta 2006 Sedan
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Pakistan
Posts: 5
not working for me :(

I've Toyota Belta 1.0 year 2006 (japan assembled sedan)
__________________
jaaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 12:36 AM   #31
kelevra
2012 CBR1000RR Hoo Yaaa
 
kelevra's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 3 door Hatch
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Empire State
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by RogueYaris View Post
I took my car to the dealership and watched them reset it.

1. With the odometer on trip A and the ignition off, press and hold the reset button.
2. Turn the ignition on (no need to start the car) and wait for it to start blinking. It will count down and when it's done, it'll be reset.
This should be the real sticky...
kelevra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 09:41 AM   #32
DevilGirl
 
Drives: 09 3dr LB MT
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA
Posts: 683
Is there a way to change the interval at which the light comes on at? Just hit 5000 in my car yesterday. Once I switch to synthetic, I was gonna also switch the interval to 7500 miles instead of every 5000. Having to constantly reset that light is going to become annoying! Or what about disabling the light? I know how to track my maintenances anyway (always have).
__________________
2009 3dr LB MT Meteorite Metalic.

Car bought 8/7/09. Now over 89k miles of trouble free driving, other than user error!!
DevilGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 01:06 PM   #33
b_hickman11
 
Drives: 08 Sedan
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Tyler, TX
Posts: 903
1. Theres is no way to change the 5000 mile mark. 2. You could pull your gauges and cut the power to the light. 3. Have a Yaris imported from a non-US market.
b_hickman11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 01:17 PM   #34
cali yaris
ULTIMATE
 
cali yaris's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 Yaris Turbo
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Canoga Park, CA
Posts: 14,921
Send a message via AIM to cali yaris
Quote:
Having to constantly reset that light is going to become annoying!
Every 5000 miles is "constantly"? I wouldn't be annoyed by that, but to each his own.
__________________
Micro Image forums, online store and shop are now closed. It was a great eight year run, but it was time to focus on other things. I'm still selling parts on eBay under micro*image seller ID and customers can still make requests for anything specific.
cali yaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 01:24 PM   #35
DevilGirl
 
Drives: 09 3dr LB MT
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA
Posts: 683
Quote:
Originally Posted by cali yaris View Post
Every 5000 miles is "constantly"? I wouldn't be annoyed by that, but to each his own.
When I drive as much as I do (I hit 5000 in less than 2 months easily) it does seem like constantly. More to the point is the resetting when it is inconsistent with when the maintenance actually occurs.
__________________
2009 3dr LB MT Meteorite Metalic.

Car bought 8/7/09. Now over 89k miles of trouble free driving, other than user error!!
DevilGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 04:13 PM   #36
Prohibit
Verbieten Sie
 
Prohibit's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Liftback
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 288
Send a message via AIM to Prohibit Send a message via MSN to Prohibit Send a message via Yahoo to Prohibit
Quote:
Originally Posted by DevilGirl View Post
More to the point is the resetting when it is inconsistent with when the maintenance actually occurs.
Yeah, that kind of sucks. But it's only like a 3 minute fix at the most. You spent that much time asking if you could change the interval.

Just saying

__________________

Hatchback Purist? Be sure to drop in and register. New forum with a great clean design and potential.
Prohibit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reverse light vs Rear Fog light cooldavidko General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 3 01-03-2007 04:09 AM
service engine light @ 9000 mi? dandj DIY / Maintenance / Service 21 01-03-2007 01:30 AM
"Airbag" center console light on 07 Sedan with side airbags atebit In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm) 5 11-10-2006 07:10 PM
rear fog light and tuned rear lights lefti696 Cosmetic Modifications (Exterior/Interior) 0 11-09-2006 04:06 PM
Interior Light Kit... for Canadian version?! Jem_hadar Cosmetic Modifications (Exterior/Interior) 5 08-17-2006 02:20 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:21 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.