Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Old 04-27-2009, 07:57 PM   #1
Tonavi

Drives: 2007 Yaris HB
Worn or bad clutch?

Lately the car's been feeling slower than usual around town, and the shifts are somewhat sloppy. Let me first note that I'm a decent manual driver and that the car has never been lugged or killed.

All of my driving has been 99% city with lots of stop and go. When coming to a stop, I always downshift to engine brake until about 10 mph, then use the brakes.

My question is, at 23k miles, could it be possible the clutch is starting to wear down already? Or should I take it to the dealer to have them adjust it?
Tonavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 08:01 PM   #2
tk-421
Super Moderator

Drives: 5D-07-LB
Yes, it is possible, especially if you share the car with other people (like in my case). I got an ACT Stage 1 clutch from Garm and it's a bit harder to push down on the pedal, but the bite is also a lot better than stock.

Are you sure you're fully pressing the pedal when you shift? (It's a bit hard to tell with the Yaris) Not doing so will also wear the clutch down faster.
Old 04-27-2009, 08:31 PM   #3
Tonavi

Quote:
Originally Posted by tk-421 View Post
Yes, it is possible, especially if you share the car with other people (like in my case). I got an ACT Stage 1 clutch from Garm and it's a bit harder to push down on the pedal, but the bite is also a lot better than stock.

Are you sure you're fully pressing the pedal when you shift? (It's a bit hard to tell with the Yaris) Not doing so will also wear the clutch down faster.
I push it all the way to the floor on every shift. Sometimes even then it will not fully disengage. I never let anyone drive the car EVER. I can understand how city driving and downshifting could wear it out faster, but I'd like to get at least 100k out of it.