Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Members Area > Off-topic / Other Cars / Everything else Discussions
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-06-2009, 01:32 PM   #19
PK198105
Super Moderator
 
PK198105's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris Blazing Blue
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 6,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Midon View Post
Interesting, I knew my elm327 was old but it gets the job done, I just know it cant do something like that display.
yes it can , it just interprets the ECM signal, for the display and the gimmicks you would need a FPGA chip with a lot of programming.
PK198105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 01:43 PM   #20
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by tk-421 View Post
@CTScott: Nice! Would you say that similar speeds can be achieved using ELM327+USB2.0?
No. The issue with the ELM327 is the speed of the microcontroller that they use. I believe it only runs at 8 MHz. My processor is running at 24 MHz to be able to sample at 100 Hz.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 01:46 PM   #21
tk-421
Super Moderator
 
tk-421's Avatar
 
Drives: 5D-07-LB
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: EpVIII film set
Posts: 4,367
Bummer... Well, I guess I'll have to get one of your CAN interfaces then! I would still need to hook it up to a USB port though...
__________________
tk-421 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 01:49 PM   #22
PK198105
Super Moderator
 
PK198105's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris Blazing Blue
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 6,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by tk-421 View Post
Bummer... Well, I guess I'll have to get one of your CAN interfaces then! I would still need to hook it up to a USB port though...
why don't you get a either a firwire port card or hack the SCSI bus
PK198105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 01:50 PM   #23
cali yaris
ULTIMATE
 
cali yaris's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 Yaris Turbo
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Canoga Park, CA
Posts: 14,921
Send a message via AIM to cali yaris
cool looking gauge cluster topic ---> esoteric electronics engineering topic

what happened there? LOL
__________________
Micro Image forums, online store and shop are now closed. It was a great eight year run, but it was time to focus on other things. I'm still selling parts on eBay under micro*image seller ID and customers can still make requests for anything specific.
cali yaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 01:52 PM   #24
PK198105
Super Moderator
 
PK198105's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris Blazing Blue
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 6,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by cali yaris View Post
cool looking gauge cluster topic ---> esoteric electronics engineering topic

what happened there? LOL
one goes hand in hand with another.

just to clarify the ELM327 has nothing to do with the displaying the data on the cluster it just interprets the protocol
PK198105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 01:53 PM   #25
tk-421
Super Moderator
 
tk-421's Avatar
 
Drives: 5D-07-LB
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: EpVIII film set
Posts: 4,367
Quote:
Originally Posted by cali yaris View Post
cool looking gauge cluster topic ---> esoteric electronics engineering topic

what happened there? LOL
we're trying to get that gauge (or something close) into our cars!
__________________
tk-421 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 01:57 PM   #26
PK198105
Super Moderator
 
PK198105's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris Blazing Blue
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 6,322
i still prefer this one though from the Reventon:




http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L6A83...om=PL&index=10
PK198105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 02:17 PM   #27
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by tk-421 View Post
Bummer... Well, I guess I'll have to get one of your CAN interfaces then! I would still need to hook it up to a USB port though...
For your car PC project, integrating the guts of the YarGauge would be an excellent solution (and would be far less expensive than any of the off the shelf interfaces). The YarGauge can do USB or RS232 to the MB.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 10:43 PM   #28
tk-421
Super Moderator
 
tk-421's Avatar
 
Drives: 5D-07-LB
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: EpVIII film set
Posts: 4,367
Well, you have me sold! Just let me know when I can buy one.
__________________
tk-421 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 09:48 PM   #29
Kal-El
 
Kal-El's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 Yaris S Sedan 5-Speed
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,197
So is that the gauge cluster in the $375,000 Lexus LFA?

Looks sweet.
Kal-El is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OZ CLUSTER Lewis DIY / Maintenance / Service 226 11-15-2009 09:19 AM
FS: Gauge Cluster from '09 LB- $150 MGargano Items for Sale by private party 14 10-05-2009 12:59 PM
Shifter knob/gauge cluster color DevilGirl Cosmetic Modifications (Exterior/Interior) 3 08-11-2009 10:18 PM
WTB: Guage cluster from "S" model kac Willing to Buy by private party 3 07-20-2009 11:26 PM
Removing Liftback Guage Cluster Surround Ran Kizama In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm) 3 05-09-2007 08:25 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:31 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.