Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-28-2009, 03:41 AM   #1
Taiyaki
アキバ製
 
Taiyaki's Avatar
 
Drives: 09' White LB, Celica GTS
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 524
DIY: Colibri Power Window Install

This is what I did to make it work, if anything happens like a fuse blows or somthing, you will remember reading this and look in your side view mirror and yell at your self.

Ok just to start this is just to help people, not a detailed DIY but thought it might help.
Many people seem to get or want to get this kit from A1, and it a good kit so here we go!!

So first I wanted to mount it to the door. If you want to wire it up first jump ahead.
So take off them door panels (guide for it is already there so I will skip it)

Now you will quickly notice two things that I think look like a fishing pole and reel. So I will call it that. Call it what you want.

So on the "reel" you will notice once side with holes. Very cool holes. And one side with MORE holes! holy smokes! the side with the more holes is where you will bolt the brackets to.




Now you can choose which holes you want to use and where to mount your brackets. You might need to cut or bend them.



Now there is a bolt on the top! Sweeeeet! one less hole to drill. Dont be shy USE IT!




Whoa whoa whoa dont put that cutter away just yet, you might need it for the other brackets, yes there is more~

Now you see a bunch of black plastic pieces like a....oh idk... Gundam kit or model airplane. You dont need them all.

Now you will see this



Look for the one that says "8" and remove it, you are going to use that.



now put it on the door crank.


Now I dont have pics for this but you will see three(3) parts, one large, one medium, and one small. Use the medium on and pound it into the end of the fishing pole, making sure it is sicking out AWAY from the door.

next you will see this part



Now this is important. on that thing you just pounded into the end of the fishing pole, if you look hard you will notice that it has a small hole in it.



now line up the holes and slip them together with the one you put on the crank. Then notice that there is now two holes



you will screw in two small screws



Now make some brackets for this part, YES! you need them!



I know mines looks ugly!

Now let wire it up!

If you read the wiring guide is pretty easy to understand, but if you dont here ill make it easy.

The color of lines = the color of wire.
Here is the driver side (driver window switch and passenger switch)



Here is the passenger switch, there is two black wires (one goes to the motor)



Now you need the thread it threw everything, you can use whatever route you want, but when it goes in the doors make sure that it goes around this bar.



if you dont, when you roll down your window it will hit the wires.




Now this part is what I had problems with.

"Where to tap for power?!"

ask around, I used a relay. You can do something else if you want. So this part is all you~

Now i will tell you what i did. Im not telling you to do this, I wont hit you with my dip stick if you dont do it my way. Im just saying what I did.

So I picked up a SPST relay. what is that? its a relay with the 4 prongs.
now they will be numbered (30, 85, 86, 87)

30- Straight to battery
85- he was bad so I Grounded him
86- ignition wire (I tapped to my alarm)
87- Power window wire (red)





your done.
Taiyaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 08:45 AM   #2
vten
 
Drives: red bare bone yaris hb 3dr
Join Date: May 2009
Location: columbus
Posts: 1,023
great info Taiyaki,

Im waiting for the brown to deliver my Spal power window and door lock kit today ...I can use this info and install it .....
vten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 06:53 PM   #3
CtrlAltDefeat
I ♥ Yaris
 
CtrlAltDefeat's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 08 LB MT & red 97 Miata
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Indianapolis IN
Posts: 1,322
So now there's a hole in your body panel where the crank used to be?
__________________

The trouble with the world is that the stupid are cocksure
and the intelligent are full of doubt. - Bertrand Russell
CtrlAltDefeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 06:58 PM   #4
Taiyaki
アキバ製
 
Taiyaki's Avatar
 
Drives: 09' White LB, Celica GTS
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 524
they include caps to over it in the kit
Taiyaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 09:23 AM   #5
auxmike
 
auxmike's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 HB, A/T, Power W/L/M
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: LI, New Yawk
Posts: 2,070
Whew, that looks like a lotta work.
Glad I sprang for the power pkg!
__________________

Never take eyes off opponent - Bruce Lee
auxmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2009, 08:05 AM   #6
Taiyaki
アキバ製
 
Taiyaki's Avatar
 
Drives: 09' White LB, Celica GTS
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 524
^Oh it was. Alot of blown fuses and dozen of trips to Napa auto, and Checkers. haha
Taiyaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 08:48 PM   #7
KCMOyaris
 
Drives: 08 Yaris 3DR hatchback
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 5
HELP how to wire?

Big question, I ordered the same colibri power window package as you. First of all...I dont have the switch on my door, where would I order a door door part with a switch installed. Secondly where do the wires from the device go toward the fuse? Is there a layout or pictures, I am not sure where any of the wires go, if I put both switches in the middle how is that wored. Any help would be very much appreciated. usmcdevil_23@yahoo.com

Thanks,

Brian
KCMOyaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 03:55 AM   #8
Taiyaki
アキバ製
 
Taiyaki's Avatar
 
Drives: 09' White LB, Celica GTS
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 524
hmmm not sure what you are saying about the switches. But the kit comes with them, and you need to cut out a space where ever you want them. Now if you are wondering if you can use the Toyota ones, I am not sure.

my wires dont go to a fuse. it goes to a relay. I describe what I did with my relay in my post. Wires wise, its very simple. When you get your kit and take a look, you will know where go to where. its basiclly two bunches of wires (one for drivers, and one for passengers) if you are doing it on a 4door. Im affraid I cant help you, since Im not sure.
Taiyaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 08:13 AM   #9
KCMOyaris
 
Drives: 08 Yaris 3DR hatchback
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 5
I see

It is for a 2Dr, on each side I will have a switch, rather than a switch for both on the driver side, and an additional switch for the passeneger side. So will I still need a relay if I hook each switch up individually? The switches show a good color code for the wiring, I got the switch part setup, what about the 2 wires coming from the unit? Will this just be for power and ground, or do i need a SPST relay for each side? Thanks for the earlier response

Brian
KCMOyaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 08:00 AM   #10
Taiyaki
アキバ製
 
Taiyaki's Avatar
 
Drives: 09' White LB, Celica GTS
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 524
if you just want your driver side to have one switch (for the driver) you can just not hook up the otherswitch, but you might need to cut one of the switch holder thing, since they only give you ones for two switches.

Ok for the power wire, you can ask around for a good place to tap too.
If you try and tap it to some place like the radio, it will blow the radio fuse.
If you try and tap it to a strong 12v like straight to the battery or the big fat black wire on the fuse panel it will blow the fuse connected to the Power windows.

I used a SPST relay, and how I wired it is up in my post. But it seems others found a place to tap to, so they saved $8. haha
Taiyaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 02:01 PM   #11
KCMOyaris
 
Drives: 08 Yaris 3DR hatchback
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 5
OK

When you say post do you mean just grounded to metal source ?

30- Straight to battery
85- he was bad so I Grounded him
86- ignition wire (I tapped to my alarm)
87- Power window wire (red)

Where are these wires located and are they labled? Also if I dont have an alarm do I need to hook up anything to 86?
KCMOyaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 05:46 PM   #12
Taiyaki
アキバ製
 
Taiyaki's Avatar
 
Drives: 09' White LB, Celica GTS
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 524
Yes you ground to the chassis.

You need to buy or if you have extra wire laying around you can use that. I used the same gauge wire as the power windows. Yes on the relay the prongs are numbered (30,85,86,87).
Yes you need to hook up the Ignition, even if you dont have a alarm. So you need to tap somewhere else. Im not sure where.
Taiyaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 07:13 PM   #13
Zippo152
 
Drives: 2007 Toyota Yaris Hatchback
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 4
Nice thread. I've been contemplating on whether or not I should try to upgrade to power windows. The install doesn't look too complicated but I'm hesitant with working with the wires before knowing for sure what to do and what not to do.

Just wondering, when it says in the post above that one wire goes "straight to the battery" and another is "grounded" - is this exactly like what you would do for an amp for a sub (where the power wire goes through the firewall, etc)? Guess this might be a stupid question lol.

Also, wheres a good place to put the relay?
Zippo152 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 04:21 PM   #14
jetaimejsc
 
jetaimejsc's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris Hatchback
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bville, TN
Posts: 212
could you take a picture of where you put the relay at, and the wires location, sorry for the bump!
jetaimejsc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 04:07 AM   #15
Taiyaki
アキバ製
 
Taiyaki's Avatar
 
Drives: 09' White LB, Celica GTS
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 524
You can put the relay anywhere you want. The only wire you need to get is the power wire from the power windows.
The rest are just same gauge wire going from the relay to ground, tapped to ignition, and straight to battery.
Taiyaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 09:09 PM   #16
FunkyCole
 
FunkyCole's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 Toyota Yaris
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SoCal, Edwards AFB
Posts: 18
Can you post some pictures of your door panel after it was reinstalled, and also can you rate the performance of the motors.
thanks
FunkyCole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2016, 08:45 PM   #17
Zarko
 
Drives: Yaris '08
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2
Does anyone know if motors automatically stop when the window is fully up or down, even though the switch is still pressed down/activated?

If not, can I expect to find any other kit that has this option?

I'm planning to buy an aftermarket kit for our Yaris '08, and Colibri seems the most recommended.

Thanks!
Zarko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2016, 04:03 PM   #18
z0mb13k1ll
 
z0mb13k1ll's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Yaris Sedan, '88 Camaro
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 41
even with factory power windows the motor does not stop when fully up or down, it just forces the window and goes nowhere. I do not think any kits have that as it would require limit switches to be mounted inside the door panel to track the position of the bottom of the window
z0mb13k1ll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compilation of Yaris How-tos/DIYs YarisBueller DIY / Maintenance / Service 39 04-28-2018 08:47 AM
When will the Yaris hit the showrooms at dealers? Petrolhead New YARIS Purchase Forum 181 11-28-2011 08:03 AM
Request: Colibri power window DIY Taiyaki DIY / Maintenance / Service 1 06-02-2009 08:29 PM
where can i install these power locks? songa New England 1 12-04-2008 01:41 PM
POWER WINDOW POWER SOURCE IN DOOR PANEL? mrrock DIY / Maintenance / Service 5 03-21-2007 06:27 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:29 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.