Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-05-2018, 03:10 PM   #1
komichal
 
Drives: Yaris 2007 1.3 2SZFE 64kW
Join Date: May 2012
Location: CZ
Posts: 91
Changing AC pressure sensor

Hi folks,
my AC sometimes takes 5-10 minutes before it starts blowing cool air (but it is like 1 case out of 5).
Local AC service center inspected the system, found nothing extraordinary (they measured the pressures - all OK, they had to add some "freon" as well but just a little). But they do not have TechStream so they could not check the data there.
But I do have TechStream so I noticed that the readings from the pressure sensor are a bit erratic whenever the AC problem happens. So I am going to change that little thing.
I have read probably all the topics around it here on yarisworld - guys you are awesome! Now I know I have to get myself one piece of 499000-7141.
The last thing is the change itself. I have learnt on the internet that "most cars do have a ball valve on that sensor so it can be replaced without evacuating the AC system". Is it also the case for Yaris? (2007 5-door 2SZFE 1.3 64kW) Or do I need to drop by the local AC shop one more time to do the change for me? Or if I am fast enough, can I replace the sensors with just a little bit of hisssssssing from the line that may have no impact on the functionality, especially when it was recently topped up?

Thank you in advance, lads!
komichal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2018, 04:16 PM   #2
WeeYari
 
WeeYari's Avatar
 
Drives: 06 Polar White 5dr, 13 Soul 4u
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,951
I had to change my pressure sensor last year (1NZ). Freon was evacuated as mechanic could find no indication that system is protected by a valve.

Sent from my Elite_5_5_Octa using Tapatalk
__________________
WeeYari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2018, 11:03 AM   #3
komichal
 
Drives: Yaris 2007 1.3 2SZFE 64kW
Join Date: May 2012
Location: CZ
Posts: 91
Luckily I have peeked below the hood once again... to find out that my sensor is DENSO 499000-7880, not 7141. According to other threads this is oil pressure sensor... but some shops do sell it as AC fluid pressure sensor. What a mess....
edit: and according to some Denso servicing instructions I found... the 7141 and 7880 are interchangeable.

Last edited by komichal; 05-09-2018 at 02:50 AM.
komichal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY : changing the Oxygen / O2 sensor on Yaris hatch MANY PICS auxmike DIY / Maintenance / Service 46 12-16-2017 08:22 AM
Help! A/C low pressure sensor..jumper? marcus Photo-Video-Media Gallery 12 07-18-2012 05:50 PM
The "let's brainstorm how to make a piggyback work" thread eTiMaGo Forced Induction Forum 100 08-17-2011 03:54 PM
NEED ENGINE CHECK LIGHT CODE LIST Attitude Forced Induction Forum 12 04-11-2011 06:38 PM
screw more psi in the tires. thebarber Fuel Economy Forum 43 05-04-2009 04:46 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:47 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.