Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > Cosmetic Modifications (Exterior/Interior)
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-10-2018, 12:29 PM   #19
ACKING_QC
ManualTransmissionLearner
 
Drives: Black Yaris LE HB 2008
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: QC, Canada
Posts: 226
since this is a "cheap interior mod thread... does someone knows if we can swap out our center console with different models ? I mean I have an Hatch LE 2008; and I find the more recent Yaris console better... would be cool if I could swap it
ACKING_QC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2018, 12:52 PM   #20
ACKING_QC
ManualTransmissionLearner
 
Drives: Black Yaris LE HB 2008
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: QC, Canada
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by miiser View Post
I like your stereo. I am planning for an upgrade someday


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
also; this is a Kenwood DPX501BT (bluetooth and other crap) I changed it to a DPX502BT since I hit the old radio and 2/3 of the lights were gone....

now with the new... at 230$ CA the radio NOPE will not hit it because of being angry... lol
ACKING_QC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2018, 10:44 AM   #21
miiser
 
miiser's Avatar
 
Drives: yaris 2009
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: greece
Posts: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACKING_QC View Post
also; this is a Kenwood DPX501BT (bluetooth and other crap) I changed it to a DPX502BT since I hit the old radio and 2/3 of the lights were gone....



now with the new... at 230$ CA the radio NOPE will not hit it because of being angry... lol


I will change mine too someday because CD player isnít working + the sound quality is terrible


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
miiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2018, 09:31 AM   #22
miiser
 
miiser's Avatar
 
Drives: yaris 2009
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: greece
Posts: 330
****UPDATE****


hereís what I made today:

I found those on eBay long time ago, and after reading some reviews, for speaker baffle foams in general, I found out that they might have a great results in overall sound experience. But the 40$ that they cost was too much for me. :


So I thought hey, why I donít build 2 of those by myself? I bought a foam sheet and a glue for total cost of 5$. After some measuring and cuts, here we are:



Close result but with 35$ discount hehe



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
miiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2018, 01:39 PM   #23
ern-diz
 
ern-diz's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Liftback
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: CA all day
Posts: 3,327
Ha, nice.
ern-diz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2018, 11:54 PM   #24
eeeeeh
 
eeeeeh's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris YR 2013
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 21
@miiser, great thread, was wondering where you tapped your wires to get the footwell light going together with the dome light. I've a MkIII Yaris from Australia but figures wiring between the two can't be that different.
eeeeeh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2019, 04:17 AM   #25
daroo
 
Drives: Yaris D-4D 2007
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Italy
Posts: 3
I bought the same vw speakers, they are bigger than stock speaker and I can't figure out how to mount them.
Can you post some pics of the speakers mounted or explain how to ...

Inviato dal mio MI 8 utilizzando Tapatalk

Last edited by daroo; 02-24-2019 at 08:55 AM.
daroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2019, 04:35 AM   #26
miiser
 
miiser's Avatar
 
Drives: yaris 2009
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: greece
Posts: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by daroo View Post
I bought the same vw speakers, they are bigger than stock speaker and I can't figure out how to mount them.
Can you post some pics of the speakers mounted or explain how to ...

Inviato dal mio MI 8 utilizzando Tapatalk


Drill the door to mount them. As long as the panel fits (in my case it does fit) you only have to drill new holes for the screws


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
miiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2019, 07:54 AM   #27
daroo
 
Drives: Yaris D-4D 2007
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Italy
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by miiser View Post
Drill the door to mount them. As long as the panel fits (in my case it does fit) you only have to drill new holes for the screws


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
In my case (Yaris 2008 1.4 d4d 5 doors) the panel doesn't fit because vw speakers are a lot thicker than oem

Inviato dal mio MI 8 utilizzando Tapatalk
daroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2019, 06:41 AM   #28
miiser
 
miiser's Avatar
 
Drives: yaris 2009
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: greece
Posts: 330
Neat-cheap interior mods that makes a huge difference.

Quote:
Originally Posted by daroo View Post
In my case (Yaris 2008 1.4 d4d 5 doors) the panel doesn't fit because vw speakers are a lot thicker than oem

Inviato dal mio MI 8 utilizzando Tapatalk


Well there are slimmer vw speakers. You had to pick those.
Always measure first

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
miiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2019, 02:15 PM   #29
daroo
 
Drives: Yaris D-4D 2007
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Italy
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by miiser View Post
Well there are slimmer vw speakers. You had to pick those.
Always measure first

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
It's the same car and the same speakers (same code).
I've just wrote my experience because other members could buy wrong speakers reading your advices

Inviato dal mio MI 8 utilizzando Tapatalk
daroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2019, 02:47 PM   #30
DarkShadowFox
Banned
 
Drives: 2015 Yaris LE 3door 1F7
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 963
you could paint some interior trim pieces gloss black/ wrap things. thats pretty cheap and its not hard to install them back
DarkShadowFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2019, 02:51 PM   #31
DarkShadowFox
Banned
 
Drives: 2015 Yaris LE 3door 1F7
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 963
how about installing JBL GTO 6.5" speakers with baffling behind them on a stock headunit?
DarkShadowFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 09:55 AM   #32
miiser
 
miiser's Avatar
 
Drives: yaris 2009
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: greece
Posts: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by daroo View Post
It's the same car and the same speakers (same code).
I've just wrote my experience because other members could buy wrong speakers reading your advices

Inviato dal mio MI 8 utilizzando Tapatalk


What do you mean? I uploaded a picture of the speaker I placed in my Yaris. I donít know why yours doesnít fit. Mine does. So either they gave you a speaker with wrong part number written on it, or they have the same part number for 2 different speaker sizes. Vw does that. They use many manufactures for the speakers. We may buy both the same car with the same stereo and mine could be Panasonic and yours Phillips.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
miiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 06:01 PM   #33
Dragonslayer182
 
Drives: 07 Yaris Sedan
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: West Tennessee
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by daroo View Post
It's the same car and the same speakers (same code).
I've just wrote my experience because other members could buy wrong speakers reading your advices

Inviato dal mio MI 8 utilizzando Tapatalk
Is your car a sedan? The sedan has different speakers from the hatch I believe.
Dragonslayer182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:22 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.