Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > Wheels, Tires and Suspension Forum sponsored by The Tire Rack

Old 12-11-2012, 03:55 AM   #1
Yaristeve

Drives: 3-door hatch
My wheel dreams crushed or, how heavy is too heavy?

I've been looking for a set of new rims. I always liked the look of the Ronal Turbo R10 and learned that it is now possible to buy them in the US:

http://www.ronalwheels.co.uk/?page_id=25.

My plan was to strip them and powdercoat them all white (my Yaris is white). I think aero style wheels suit the Yaris' style/shape perfectly. They come in 15 X 7 38mm offset.

So what's the problem? They weigh about 18pounds each!! They were, IIRC, originally made for rallying and like ALL rally wheels, they are heavy.

I am an engineer and I also have a Miata which really responds to LIGHT wheels. I have a set of Volk TE37 (15 X 7, 9 pounds each) on my Miata. So, I find it difficult to wrap my mind around 18 pound wheels on such a small car.

How badly do you all think wheels this heavy will affect the ride, handling, gas mileage of the Yaris? Should I go look for more traditional wheels?
Yaristeve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 07:24 AM   #2
Form>Function

Drives: 07 Flint Sedan
They will slow acceleration, decrease gas mileage but if you are going for the look than who cares. Ive got some 20+ lb wheels getting ready to be mounted.

1.5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 08:23 AM   #3
fnkngrv
Mr. 155 and climbing

Drives: Seriously Modded 07 Sedan
go boosted and power issues won't be a concern :)

Youtube Channel: Team Tiamat Racing

Class record holder in Land Speed @ 154.5mph for 1.5 mile and 145.5mph in the mile in the F (2.016 to 3.014 L), G (1.524 to 2.015 L), and H (1.016 to 1.523 L) classes.
fnkngrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 08:33 AM   #4
yaris2010RS

Drives: no-longer-boosted '10 Yaris