Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Second Generation Toyota Yaris Main Rooms > New YARIS Purchase Forum
  The Tire Rack

Old 06-16-2009, 12:38 PM   #1
bmlors

Drives: Acura Legend
Yaris vs. Corolla

I'm new to the Yaris world, but am strongly considering purchasing one once this "Cash for Clunkers" program goes through. I drove one at the local dealer yesterday, and their only suggestion was to consider a Corolla. For the options I want (15" wheels, keyless entry, cruise -- basically the power package w/ keyless), the pricing after incentives is almost the same ($300 more for the Corolla). MSRP is obviously significantly lower on the Yaris, which will impact registration and insurance pricing. It appears that MPG is nearly identical. Any thoughts on comparing the two? I do have 3 kids, so the additional size of the Corolla is attractive, but certainly not a requirement as this will primarily be a commuter vehicle.
bmlors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 12:53 PM   #2
SpaceShot

Drives: 2008 Yaris 5 speed HB
It depends on if you need more commuting or more family use out of it. For us, my wife has the first gen Scion XB which has a much roomier back seat and thus we didn't really need a second family vehicle.

My Yaris needs to get the best mileage it can on my 70 minute commute. Check FuelEconomy.gov and other sites and you should find that a significant percentage of Yaris owners beat the EPA rating by anywhere from 5 to 25%.
While you may not get more on the clunker program for it, your actual commuting savings in the Yaris should be better.

The Corolla isn't bad if you can get it on the dealer lot with the options you want, and if any of those 3 kids might eventually be taking this vehicle as their own, you might look at the insurance impact of both models with a 16 year old driver behind the wheel.
SpaceShot is offline   Reply With Quote