Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-25-2014, 09:16 AM   #1
djhuddy2442
 
djhuddy2442's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 toyota yaris hatchback
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: pittsburgh pa
Posts: 95
Help!!!! Help!!!! Help!!!!

I need help. I have a 2008 toyota yaris HB. I put the zage turbo in it. I unplugged the ECU but never cut any wires. I put the ECU plugs back in after we located every wire and tried starting it back up and nothing happened. Now the car wont start at all and no power going to the dash at all.
djhuddy2442 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2014, 09:46 AM   #2
Betrivent
Not quite a noob
 
Betrivent's Avatar
 
Drives: e46 325
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: edmonton
Posts: 1,412
First of all, check the connections you made. Second of all, check fuses.
Betrivent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2014, 10:28 AM   #3
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
+1 for fuses. Start with the two big ones on the positive battery terminal.

From there, check EFI, AM2, DOME and ECU-B (in the under hood panel).
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2014, 03:47 PM   #4
djhuddy2442
 
djhuddy2442's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 toyota yaris hatchback
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: pittsburgh pa
Posts: 95
Is there a theft system on the 2008 Toyota Yaris base model hatchback. if yes how do you get past it?
djhuddy2442 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2014, 04:22 PM   #5
Betrivent
Not quite a noob
 
Betrivent's Avatar
 
Drives: e46 325
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: edmonton
Posts: 1,412
There is an immobilizer. Try (this is just my theory) putting the key in the ignition, sitting in the drivers seat, and buckling up.

My bro-in-law did something similar (just google how to deal with an oem immobilizer).
Betrivent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2014, 05:18 PM   #6
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
The immobilizer will allow you to crank the engine, but it will not start. Everything else will work though (including everything on the dash).
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2014, 08:18 PM   #7
djhuddy2442
 
djhuddy2442's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 toyota yaris hatchback
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: pittsburgh pa
Posts: 95
okay so its cranking over then shutting down right after everything on the dash and stereo work.
djhuddy2442 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2014, 08:27 PM   #8
djhuddy2442
 
djhuddy2442's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 toyota yaris hatchback
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: pittsburgh pa
Posts: 95
I do not have an immobilizer on my yaris
djhuddy2442 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2014, 08:43 PM   #9
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
If it is cranking, starting and then immediately dying, it may be your fuel management. What are you running?
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2014, 01:29 PM   #10
djhuddy2442
 
djhuddy2442's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 toyota yaris hatchback
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: pittsburgh pa
Posts: 95
Okay so she is alive its was one of the smallest and most idiotic things. The intake pipe fell off the turbo so yeah thanks for the help I really cant believe its was something that stupid.
djhuddy2442 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2014, 01:04 AM   #11
why?
Only Happy When it Rains
 
why?'s Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris LB
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: harnett county NC
Posts: 4,132
Quote:
Originally Posted by djhuddy2442 View Post
Okay so she is alive its was one of the smallest and most idiotic things. The intake pipe fell off the turbo so yeah thanks for the help I really cant believe its was something that stupid.
Much better it something simple like that than something super expensive.
__________________
Colin Chapman disciple
why? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 01:54 PM   #12
fnkngrv
Mr. 155 and climbing
 
fnkngrv's Avatar
 
Drives: Seriously Modded 07 Sedan
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: In The Hotbox
Posts: 4,770
that can happen. i was stuck in a bind a couple years back and had a shop do an oil change for me. my charge piping runs along the filter point so they had disco'ed my charge piping to add oil. they didn't tighten the charge pipe solid enough so it gave me all sorts of headaches for a couple days and i got really worried...then under load the pipe popped out...yup....that was a funny day.
__________________
Team Tiamat Racing on Facebook


Youtube Channel: Team Tiamat Racing


Class record holder in Land Speed @ 154.5mph for 1.5 mile and 145.5mph in the mile in the F (2.016 to 3.014 L), G (1.524 to 2.015 L), and H (1.016 to 1.523 L) classes.
fnkngrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:34 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.