Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-02-2014, 12:35 PM   #1
crazyyen
 
Drives: yaris
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: northampton
Posts: 4
Unhappy I've snapped my one and only key help :(

Hiya sorry my first post is needing help I had no were else to turn too..

The other day silly me thought it be a good idea to open a tin of paint with my keys next think it snapped in half so I rushed out got another one cut and the chip programmed it opens the door but failed to start the car..

Any idea or help it a yaris 1.3

Cheers
crazyyen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 01:01 PM   #2
ezhacker1
 
ezhacker1's Avatar
 
Drives: Decepticon - Ravage
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,452
Some more experienced members can chime in later, but i can make a suggestion.

You can still start your car with your old broken key next to the ignition when you start it. At the very least you can still drive it till you get it all sorted out. Though im not sure if the car will turn itself off if the chip is removed from proximity to the keyhole after you start the car. I just tested it to see what would happen and it either stayed on or turned itself off. You could tape the broken key head next to the key cylinder.
__________________


Check out my Build thread:
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=52274
ezhacker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 01:06 PM   #3
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
It should work with just holding the head of the broken key next to the ignition switch. Once started the car will not shut off if the transponder key is not seen (it is only interrogated for starting).

It does sound though, like whoever programmed the key, did not make the ECM learn the new key. The original key will have to be present to do so.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 01:57 PM   #4
crazyyen
 
Drives: yaris
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: northampton
Posts: 4
Thanks for the quick reply I've done the tapping my old key to the transponder it still fails to start also

Also got another transponder today from the scrap yard with matching key I fitted that still the car won't start so i don't understand so lost cars parked at work need to get it moved soon :(

I've got 3 keys

1.new key with chip programmed q
2.spare key cut to the car without chip
3.new transponder with key and chip
4.old broken key head
crazyyen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 02:28 PM   #5
ezhacker1
 
ezhacker1's Avatar
 
Drives: Decepticon - Ravage
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,452
The car should start normally, with even the broken key head next to the ignition key.
__________________


Check out my Build thread:
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=52274
ezhacker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 03:31 PM   #6
crazyyen
 
Drives: yaris
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: northampton
Posts: 4
It weird it fails to start then:(

So including having another transponder and key fitted it should still start? Or am I missing something else....

orgot to say in my last post is there away to program the ECM?
Cheers
crazyyen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2014, 06:26 AM   #7
crazyyen
 
Drives: yaris
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: northampton
Posts: 4
Anyone able to tell me were the immobiliser/ecm is I've looked under the dash couldn't see it :)
crazyyen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2014, 06:46 AM   #8
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyyen View Post
Anyone able to tell me were the immobiliser/ecm is I've looked under the dash couldn't see it :)
On your RHD it is behind the glove box on the passenger side:

01 ECM.jpg
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2014, 05:00 PM   #9
wufai
 
Drives: Silver Yaris Sedan (4A)
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 31
I hope you didn't damage the transponder chip when opening that tin can...
wufai is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:13 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.