Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-19-2015, 11:16 PM   #1
bairjo
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 522
Tire low PSI light

My low tire PSI indicator light started blinking yesterday. It started blinking then stayed on. Checked the tires... all four were at 32 psi dead nuts on. Checked the spare motorcycle tire and it was low and corrected that...even though I don't think it has a sensor in it.

Today it started blinking again and then stayed on for about 5 minutes and then went out.

Has this happened to anyone else? Do I have a defective sending unit in a tire or a bad receiving unit? Is there a reset for this system?

I really do not recall nailing a pot hole or anything like that..
bairjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2015, 11:29 PM   #2
Exiwolfman
 
Exiwolfman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Wasaga beach
Posts: 1,587
Quote:
Originally Posted by bairjo View Post
My low tire PSI indicator light started blinking yesterday. It started blinking then stayed on. Checked the tires... all four were at 32 psi dead nuts on. Checked the spare motorcycle tire and it was low and corrected that...even though I don't think it has a sensor in it.

Today it started blinking again and then stayed on for about 5 minutes and then went out.

Has this happened to anyone else? Do I have a defective sending unit in a tire or a bad receiving unit? Is there a reset for this system?

I really do not recall nailing a pot hole or anything like that..
pump your tires up little more if problem still there have it scanned u may have a bad sensor just replace it , other problem maybe threshold settings if one plays with the settings it will trigger the sensors ...to fix this lower all tires to 25 psi reset sensors with button under the dash then pump tires up back to 32 psi.
Exiwolfman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2015, 11:32 PM   #3
bairjo
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 522
thank you for your response. I will be trying that.
bairjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2015, 11:39 PM   #4
Exiwolfman
 
Exiwolfman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Wasaga beach
Posts: 1,587
Quote:
Originally Posted by bairjo View Post
thank you for your response. I will be trying that.
from factory threshold is set at 25 to 26 psi so if its messed with and u reset button at 30 psi it will trigger the warning light when it drops by 2 psi ..so try the reset first if that fails you may have a bet sensor that you will need a scanner to see what one is bad.
Exiwolfman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2015, 12:50 AM   #5
nookandcrannycar
 
Drives: 2('14+'07)MT 3d ,wHandCrWndws!
Join Date: May 2009
Location: S.MontgomeryCnty,TX(HoustonMSA) '07=BayouBlue=300,125miles=OrigOwnr '14=ClassicSilvr=29,059miles
Posts: 4,854
Quote:
Originally Posted by Exiwolfman View Post
pump your tires up little more if problem still there have it scanned u may have a bad sensor just replace it , other problem maybe threshold settings if one plays with the settings it will trigger the sensors ...to fix this lower all tires to 25 psi reset sensors with button under the dash then pump tires up back to 32 psi.
Does my 3rd Gen 2014 have the same sensor reset as bairjo's 2nd Gen? My light doesn't come on until low 20s PSI wise.
nookandcrannycar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2015, 03:02 AM   #6
NYC-SE
 
NYC-SE's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Yaris SE
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: NYC
Posts: 685
Quote:
Originally Posted by nookandcrannycar View Post
Does my 3rd Gen 2014 have the same sensor reset as bairjo's 2nd Gen? My light doesn't come on until low 20s PSI wise.
Yes. Same setup.
NYC-SE is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2015, 05:28 PM   #7
bairjo
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 522
is it recommended that I wait until it starts acting up again or should I just go ahead and do the reset now?
bairjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2015, 08:24 PM   #8
Exiwolfman
 
Exiwolfman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Wasaga beach
Posts: 1,587
Quote:
Originally Posted by bairjo View Post
is it recommended that I wait until it starts acting up again or should I just go ahead and do the reset now?
You can do the reset at anytime

Sent from my E2306 using Tapatalk
Exiwolfman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 07:23 PM   #9
nookandcrannycar
 
Drives: 2('14+'07)MT 3d ,wHandCrWndws!
Join Date: May 2009
Location: S.MontgomeryCnty,TX(HoustonMSA) '07=BayouBlue=300,125miles=OrigOwnr '14=ClassicSilvr=29,059miles
Posts: 4,854
Quote:
Originally Posted by NYC-SE View Post
Yes. Same setup.
Thanks
nookandcrannycar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY (08' USDM Liftback): ESUSE Fog Light Install v2.0 goku87 DIY / Maintenance / Service 125 08-23-2015 09:12 PM
Low Fuel Warning Light NYC-SE Third Gen Yaris General Discussion 18 08-18-2014 04:53 PM
low gas light... b20vteg Third Gen Yaris General Discussion 3 12-24-2012 05:34 PM
tire pressure light won't reset nikvolkert DIY / Maintenance / Service 6 10-24-2010 03:58 AM
Low Tire Pressure Sensor DebbyM46227 General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 25 10-18-2010 10:02 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:52 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.