Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Old 11-05-2009, 12:33 AM   #1
dreamteam

Drives: 2008 Yaris
It's that ol' wireless throttle again.......

Yeah, so people ask me "how do you like that Yaris?" and I reply, "good gas mileage, good handling, throttle sucks."
This fly-by-wire thing is killing me. I have been driving a stick for 40 years and never killed the engine.
I've been driving the Yaris for almost two years now and I still kill it at least once a week.
Where I live it gets COLD, and the colder it gets, the less throttle responce I have.
Update me , enlighten me, tell me there is a TSB........something!
dreamteam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 02:02 AM   #2
YarisSedan

Drives: 08 Yaris Sedan
Send a message via AIM to YarisSedan
I dont know. I havent driven stick in years and i drove a friends yaris that was stick for the first time and never had any issues stalling.
YarisSedan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 02:15 AM   #3
tk-421
Super Moderator

Drives: 5D-07-LB
@dreamteam: Most people don't notice the throttle lag. But if you can't stand it, you should get yourself an NTD throttle controller. A higher setting (like SP4+) will definitely help you out.

More info here:
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=23314

Group buy here:
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=23349

Hope that helps... Welcome to YW!
Old 11-05-2009, 09:35 AM   #4
SaerinRhoe
'09 Yaris

Drives: '09 Yaris
Hey Dream,

I drive an '09 LB w/ the 5-spd manual and I manage to stall the engine once in a while, probably once every couple of weeks. Most of the time it's in a drive-thru line or when I forget to down-shift far enough for a turn.

My biggest problem so far has been grinding from 1st to 2nd when I try to hotdog.

Just my $ .02,

S.R.

SaerinRhoe is offline   Reply With Quote