Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-18-2009, 07:10 PM   #55
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by fsj2 View Post
I want to wire up some aftermarket LED driving lights. I want them to come when the car is in drive. Is there a easy place to connect them? 2010 5 dr HB. Thanks.
To have them come on when the car is "In drive" with an automatic transmission, you could tap the connector C27 on the transmission. The 10A Gauge circuit feeds through the Park/Neutral/Position Switch on the A/T to feed the indicator on the cluster and the ECM with the position of the A/T shift. For low power lights (LED lights under 1A) you could feed them directly. For high power lights (incandescents or HIDs) you would have the Drive indicator feed the coil of a relay, which would then have it's own power feed for the lights.

C27 is the 9 pin connector on the front of the transmission (by the shift linkage). It has a row of 4 and a row of 5 pins. The center wire (light blue) on the 5 pin row is the "Drive" indicator wire. It will have 12V on it when the shift is in drive. For ground, you can grab a chassis ground, like the ground bolt under the left headlight.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 02:04 AM   #56
charleschia1986
 
charleschia1986's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris RUSH HatchBack
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Perth, WA
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTScott View Post


The connector (4K) on the upper left in this picture, is the feed to the map and dome lights. White with a black stripe ground, Pink is the "door open" switched ground, and blue is 12V fed from the DOME fuse.


Hihi, I already tested the wires tat u mentioned in the picture.. The blue wire does give constant 12v and the pink wire should turn on the lights with the door right?
I already tested the pink wire by multimeter and it will only give 12v when the door is closed.
So may I know what can I do in order to get 12v out when the door is open because I want my led to be on only when the door is open...

Thanks...

Last edited by charleschia1986; 11-24-2009 at 02:53 AM.
charleschia1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 07:56 AM   #57
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by charleschia1986 View Post
Hihi, I already tested the wires tat u mentioned in the picture.. The blue wire does give constant 12v and the pink wire should turn on the lights with the door right?
I already tested the pink wire by multimeter and it will only give 12v when the door is closed.
So may I know what can I do in order to get 12v out when the door is open because I want my led to be on only when the door is open...

Thanks...
Use the pink as ground and the blue as your +12V.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 12:55 PM   #58
charleschia1986
 
charleschia1986's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris RUSH HatchBack
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Perth, WA
Posts: 80
thanks a lot...

i tried and it WORKS.....

thank scott
charleschia1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2009, 02:33 PM   #59
zuberio
Joined 3/08 ... really
 
zuberio's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Sedan
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mississauga, ON
Posts: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by eTiMaGo View Post
another useful tidbit for those wishing to wire in LED mirror covers, you can get the signals from each side here. This is for the big relay/junction box in the driver's footwell area.
This way you don't have to go into your engine bay to wire them up
Thankyou ThankYou THANKYOU!!!
__________________
zuberio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2009, 03:45 AM   #60
charleschia1986
 
charleschia1986's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris RUSH HatchBack
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Perth, WA
Posts: 80
thanks CTscott for ya Helpsssss,
here is the link of my Final product.
u may have a look.

http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=24210

Last edited by charleschia1986; 12-06-2009 at 11:26 PM.
charleschia1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 08:45 PM   #61
Fazulka
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris 4dr Sedan Base
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 18
Thank you, The Architect. I installed a remote starter today, first one i have ever done. It works great! I could not have done it without this thread.
Fazulka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 11:23 PM   #62
yarisugi
やりすぎだ~
 
yarisugi's Avatar
 
Drives: Me: Nuts:
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: ハワイ
Posts: 1,996
Hi all. Is there a place I can tap into the engine bay for turn signals besides the wires that lead to the signal lamps?
yarisugi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 12:08 AM   #63
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by yarisugi View Post
Hi all. Is there a place I can tap into the engine bay for turn signals besides the wires that lead to the signal lamps?
You can tap into the turn signal wires in the under hood fuse panel. On connector B13 (left connector in this picture), the light green and dark green wires in the upper row (next to the two red wires for my fog lights) are the turn signals. Light green is left, dark green is right.


Conn B13.jpg
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 02:35 AM   #64
yarisugi
やりすぎだ~
 
yarisugi's Avatar
 
Drives: Me: Nuts:
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: ハワイ
Posts: 1,996
One more question, where can I tap in for the parking lights - the lights that go on just before I turn on the headlights?
yarisugi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 12:32 AM   #65
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by yarisugi View Post
One more question, where can I tap in for the parking lights - the lights that go on just before I turn on the headlights?
The White wire next to the blue and orange on the headlight stalk connector. You ground the wire to make the lights come on.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 02:50 AM   #66
yarisugi
やりすぎだ~
 
yarisugi's Avatar
 
Drives: Me: Nuts:
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: ハワイ
Posts: 1,996
Sorry, should've made my question a bit clearer. I'm looking to see if there is one in the fuse box like the one pictured above.
yarisugi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 07:22 AM   #67
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by yarisugi View Post
Sorry, should've made my question a bit clearer. I'm looking to see if there is one in the fuse box like the one pictured above.
In the fuse panel, it is pin 3 on Connector B13, which is the green wire next to the two red wires in my picture above. If you don't have fogs installed, the place where the two reds are in my picture will be empty on yours.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 10:47 AM   #68
jonimac
 
jonimac's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris Sedan 2010
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: KSA
Posts: 1,415
Send a message via Yahoo to jonimac Send a message via Skype™ to jonimac
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTScott View Post


The connector (4K) on the upper left in this picture, is the feed to the map and dome lights. White with a black stripe ground, Pink is the "door open" switched ground, and blue is 12V fed from the DOME fuse.

Hi to all... just a noob here in M.E., just wondering if I tap the leads (+,-) of an LED light to the pink n blue from that pic above, will the new led light acts the same as the dome light? will the new led light dim to off as well upon turning off the ignition? Or just turns on when the doors were open? Sorry to much question. Need help where I can tap my led lights so that it behaves the same like the dome light, using its switch also to turn on my led lights underneath. Thanks so much. -jon
jonimac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 11:02 AM   #69
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonimac View Post
Hi to all... just a noob here in M.E., just wondering if I tap the leads (+,-) of an LED light to the pink n blue from that pic above, will the new led light acts the same as the dome light? will the new led light dim to off as well upon turning off the ignition? Or just turns on when the doors were open? Sorry to much question. Need help where I can tap my led lights so that it behaves the same like the dome light, using its switch also to turn on my led lights underneath. Thanks so much. -jon
If you tap the pink and blue, the LEDs will behave the same as them dome lights, provided that you leave the dome light switch in the "Door" position. If you manually switch the dome to "On", with the doors closed, the LEDs won't light up with the dome.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 04:56 PM   #70
jonimac
 
jonimac's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris Sedan 2010
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: KSA
Posts: 1,415
Send a message via Yahoo to jonimac Send a message via Skype™ to jonimac
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTScott View Post
If you tap the pink and blue, the LEDs will behave the same as them dome lights, provided that you leave the dome light switch in the "Door" position. If you manually switch the dome to "On", with the doors closed, the LEDs won't light up with the dome.
Thanks CTScott... got the idea!
jonimac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 03:42 PM   #71
geniusmiki
 
Drives: Yaris 1.4 D4-D
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 5
hi can someone please tell me what are these cables found under the hand brake?

it's an european model.

thanks

http://img337.imageshack.us/g/19072009030.jpg/
geniusmiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 08:22 PM   #72
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by geniusmiki View Post
hi can someone please tell me what are these cables found under the hand brake?

it's an european model.

thanks

http://img337.imageshack.us/g/19072009030.jpg/
The black one is for the Door lock receiver. Does your Yaris have a manual or automatic transmission. If it's a manual, then the other two are for the A/T shift illumination and for the shift lock control ECU.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY Cruise Control FAQ (2006-2010 Yaris) CTScott DIY / Maintenance / Service 446 07-22-2017 03:37 PM
2012 Yaris at SEMA Jason@SportsCar Third Gen Yaris General Discussion 5 09-23-2013 03:55 AM
New Yaris race car Jason@SportsCar Tracking, Racing, Auto-X Forum 83 11-01-2012 02:32 PM
NEWS: TOYOTA REVEALS ALL-NEW YARIS SEDAN AT 2006 LOS ANGELES AUTO SHOW VitzBoy General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 5 09-05-2010 08:53 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:46 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.