Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-27-2007, 06:22 PM   #1
PetersRedYaris
 
PetersRedYaris's Avatar
 
Drives: 2005 Scion xB
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: The Black Hills of South Dakota
Posts: 1,061
Roof-Rack option.

For those who want a roof-rack, here’s an option.

Yakima has their universal Q-system, but they don’t yet make clips for the Yaris Hatch-back roof. Even if they make these clips, the Q-stretch kit will be required, which they claim isn’t stable for long loads. These tracks, a much more sturdy option, are permanent, but available now. Also, if you sell your car you can keep everything but the track itself.

Here are the parts from www.yakima.com

Tracks- 42 inch


Control Tower with landing pad-


38” Fairing-


48” Cross-Bars-



Yes, Drilling is required. 8 holes must be drilled for each track for a total of 16 holes. Instructions and hardware are included with the Track system. Track placement is personal preference but measure twice and drill once. Drill carefully as the bit can catch and thread into your headliner and puncture it (almost happened to me). Also don’t rest your elbow to hard on your “thin bodied” roof as it can be dinged easily (also almost happened to me). My towers are an older model, hence, they look a little different than the Control Tower, but I already had them. The Control Tower is a newer, better version.
Here’s the finished product.















Sorry if the pics are poor quality.

Last edited by PetersRedYaris; 06-30-2007 at 12:44 AM.
PetersRedYaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2007, 11:07 PM   #2
uncleyaris
 
Drives: 2007 Bayou Blue!!!!!!!
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,530
check toyota.pt they do have a rack in portugal. maybe do some more checking
uncleyaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2007, 11:28 PM   #3
PetersRedYaris
 
PetersRedYaris's Avatar
 
Drives: 2005 Scion xB
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: The Black Hills of South Dakota
Posts: 1,061
Yes, I've seen roof racks for the Yaris in other countries. I have been PM'ed several times about mine, however, and that is the reason for the post.
PetersRedYaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2007, 01:11 AM   #4
eTiMaGo
vroom vroom
 
eTiMaGo's Avatar
 
Drives: lil red 5-door
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Posts: 7,702
Send a message via AIM to eTiMaGo Send a message via MSN to eTiMaGo Send a message via Yahoo to eTiMaGo Send a message via Skype™ to eTiMaGo
brrrr just looking at those pictures makes me feel cold and wet...

Nice rack though (biggrin), certainly looks like it comes in handy!
__________________
The price of freedom of religion, or of speech, or of the press, is that we must put up with a good deal of rubbish.
- Robert Jackson


Bye bye 1NZ...
eTiMaGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 07:02 PM   #5
gromit
 
Drives: 2007 White Liftback
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 13
Much Appreciated! I was one of the PMers and plan to go this route to transport my Kayak(s).
gromit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 07:07 PM   #6
SailDesign
 
Drives: .
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: .
Posts: 1,991
Most of the reasons other countries have factory racks for the Liftback is that they sell the 5-door model. Hence they have somewhere to clip the back end.
Simple, really....
SailDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 05:46 PM   #7
PetersRedYaris
 
PetersRedYaris's Avatar
 
Drives: 2005 Scion xB
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: The Black Hills of South Dakota
Posts: 1,061
Quote:
Originally Posted by SailDesign View Post
Most of the reasons other countries have factory racks for the Liftback is that they sell the 5-door model. Hence they have somewhere to clip the back end.
Simple, really....
True, I didn't think about that... Those racks probably wouldn't work on our 3 door liftbacks anyway. I wish we could get the 5 door here in the states.
PetersRedYaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 06:10 PM   #8
jdubau55
 
Drives: 2007 White Yaris LB 5 Spd.
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Blacksburg, VA
Posts: 451
Send a message via AIM to jdubau55 Send a message via Yahoo to jdubau55
I checked the Yakima sight a few weeks ago. I got the answer that they are currently working on a setup for the '07 Yaris LB. This meant 2 things, a: they will make a kit for it and b: they wont be able to work a system out and we are SOL. Either way, they say they are working on it. I'll wait for a non-drilled kit or order one from the Canooks.
jdubau55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 08:50 PM   #9
PetersRedYaris
 
PetersRedYaris's Avatar
 
Drives: 2005 Scion xB
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: The Black Hills of South Dakota
Posts: 1,061
Yakima's website has said their fit team has been working on one since I got my LB last August. Also, IF they make it, it's going to be the Q-system with the Q-stretch kit. Yakima claims it's, "not stable for long loads", which is because of the ways it's tensioned down. Even if they make it, I won't regret my purchase as it's much more stable.
PetersRedYaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2007, 11:53 PM   #10
MelodyoftheSoul.com
I've made a post!
 
Drives: Toyota
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Orlando
Posts: 1
Question

What is the length of your tracks? Also, I see it doesn't run the entire roof, did you do that for a reason or can you run a longer track? Thank you so much for your help.
MelodyoftheSoul.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2007, 12:46 AM   #11
PetersRedYaris
 
PetersRedYaris's Avatar
 
Drives: 2005 Scion xB
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: The Black Hills of South Dakota
Posts: 1,061
Quote:
Originally Posted by MelodyoftheSoul.com View Post
What is the length of your tracks? Also, I see it doesn't run the entire roof, did you do that for a reason or can you run a longer track? Thank you so much for your help.
My tracks are 42 inches. 54 inch tracks would be a little long, but could be shortened very easily as the ends are removeable.
PetersRedYaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2007, 08:57 PM   #12
fishyaker.com
 
fishyaker.com's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Polar White LB
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: W-burg, VA
Posts: 8
I was able to attach my old school gutterless Thules with just the two doors. It works well for my bike adaptors, but I tournament fish from a 16 foot kayak, and need a longer rack base. I am probably going to use your idea.

THANKS AGAIN!
fishyaker.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 10:56 PM   #13
jomaribez
 
Drives: hatchback yaris
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: new york
Posts: 7
box

hey pete. whats the size of that box your carrying? is it a 18 or a 16?
jomaribez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 03:55 AM   #14
tacomuchacho
I've made a post!
 
Drives: 07'LB- my upgrade from a Mini
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1
permanent racks / pics

None of the pics show up -- Can you rePost them??
tacomuchacho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 04:12 PM   #15
petyanca
 
Drives: 09 LB, 3 door, auto
Join Date: May 2009
Location: CA
Posts: 23
+1

Quote:
Originally Posted by tacomuchacho View Post
None of the pics show up -- Can you rePost them??
Looking for a roof rack solution to carry skis.
petyanca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 04:23 PM   #16
YAR1S
 
YAR1S's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 Yaris 3dr LB (Bayou Blue)
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 2,628
Send a message via AIM to YAR1S Send a message via Skype™ to YAR1S
get a thule. they are awesome.



__________________
-Jen <3



Quote:
"Spendin money that I don't have to buy parts that I don't need to impress people that I don't know"
YAR1S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 09:57 PM   #17
iamrobbyah
 
Drives: '08 Black liftback -- stock
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: 707 - North Bay - Cali
Posts: 11
I plan on getting a Thule system for my surfboards. Hopefully it'll support an outrigger canoe once I start paddling.
iamrobbyah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 11:51 PM   #18
petyanca
 
Drives: 09 LB, 3 door, auto
Join Date: May 2009
Location: CA
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by YAR1S View Post
get a thule. they are awesome.

]
Depends on the application, its about 1' apart on you pictures? Not stable enough for skis - they'll flatter.
petyanca is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pic request: Canadian & EU roof rack SmellyTofu Photo-Video-Media Gallery 11 04-03-2010 03:49 AM
Roof rack Walter Cosmetic Modifications (Exterior/Interior) 2 01-15-2007 07:01 PM
18" alloy wheel option? Floyd New YARIS Purchase Forum 6 10-03-2006 05:50 PM
Blue Lighting option... fnkngrv Cosmetic Modifications (Exterior/Interior) 14 09-03-2006 12:24 AM
Thule Roof Rack (Yaris vs Vitz) argylesocks General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 0 08-18-2006 06:26 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:07 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.