Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm)
  The Tire Rack

Old 06-26-2010, 07:29 PM   #1
ANONGMUSIC

Drives: Toyota Yaris
Replacing Speakers + Upgrading System

Dear Toyota Owners!

As you can see, i'm new to this community so i'm not really experienced concerning forums and such as.

I've got a Toyota Yaris 1999/2000 and ive bought a soundinstallation to build in my car, since i want great music!

I managed to replace the standaard 6-disc radio by a Pioneer DEH-5200SD and ive connected the subwoofer + AMP.

now ive got a problem concerning the speakers in the front doors. These are 16cm speakers and its not a problem to replace them, only im having problems with the wires! I was going to ONLY replace the speakers and use the old/standard factory wires that were connected to the old speakers to connect to the new ones who got 80watt performance. Now im not sure if this is the right thing to do? Does the wires matter or do i have to replace the whole wire set?

BTW: does anybody have a tutorial on how-to do this with the wires?

thanks in advance,

ANONG
ANONGMUSIC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2010, 10:19 AM   #2
centrysis

Drives: '08 Yaris LB
If you're running the speakers off the deck I wouln't worry about it, but if you're running those front speakers off an amp, I would go with larger wire. I had never seen such small wires for speakers until I bought my Yaris. If you do run new wires, you have to get them through the boot in the door with either a wire puller, a coat hanger, or tape the new wire to the old and pull the old wire through along with the new.

Try this thread, page 4. 2008 Yaris sedan ‘S’ sound deadening project
centrysis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2010, 01:41 PM   #3
ANONGMUSIC

Hey!