Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Marketplace > Items for Sale by private party
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-08-2013, 12:38 PM   #1
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Custom Instrument Cluster LED Color Change Service

I have done LED color changes for a couple of people recently, so I figured I would go ahead and open this service to the rest of the community. The 09-11 clusters are the best for modifying, as the speedometer is a single color, fed only by the LEDs. The 06-08 clusters have some either red or blue trim printed into the plastic, so that portion will not change color.

I can standard colors, like white, blue or red, or I can do a wide variety of custom colors, using a trick that I figured out for also being able to change the color of the clock (on non-tach cluster) to match (as the clock uses a VFD display, rather than LEDs). So, almost any color you can imagine I can do.

If you are relatively local, we can schedule it where I do it while you wait (it takes about an hour or so for me to do one). If you are not local, you can either pick up an extra cluster off ebay for me to mod, or I can potentially mod one of my extra ones and have you ship your original one back to me. I can also reprogram the odometer for an extra fee, so matching your mileage on a swapped cluster is not an issue.

Cost (+ return shipping, which typically runs under $15 within the US):

Color change only: $100
Odometer reprogramming only: $50
Color change and odometer reprogramming: $125

Here are some samples:

Blue:


White:


Custom Violet:


Custom Green:
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 01:07 PM   #2
TOLMACH
 
Drives: soarer
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Beautiful British Columbia
Posts: 954
Wow!

1. Can you change colors on canadian cars (2009) with separate speedometer and tach?

2. Is there a way to change the color of tach only to red and leave spedometer as is?

Thanks
TOLMACH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 01:23 PM   #3
Astroman
Modded Moderator
 
Astroman's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 Toyota Yaris, 71 Galaxie
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wenatchee, WA
Posts: 3,698
Cool!!
Astroman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 01:31 PM   #4
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by TOLMACH View Post
Wow!

1. Can you change colors on canadian cars (2009) with separate speedometer and tach?

2. Is there a way to change the color of tach only to red and leave spedometer as is?

Thanks

Yes, Canadian clusters are doable as well and I am 90% sure that I can change the tach color separately from the speedo.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 01:34 PM   #5
TOLMACH
 
Drives: soarer
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Beautiful British Columbia
Posts: 954
Wow again ))

Will spend some time thinking what I want (I do know that I do not like the stock color but do not know yet what I want) and revert to you.

I can drive without this thing, right?

Thanks
TOLMACH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 01:40 PM   #6
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by TOLMACH View Post
Wow again ))

Will spend some time thinking what I want (I do know that I do not like the stock color but do not know yet what I want) and revert to you.

I can drive without this thing, right?

Thanks
You can. If you have a ScanGauge, it can act as your speedo and tach, so you are not driving blind.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 03:01 PM   #7
mazilla
advocatus diaboli
 
mazilla's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 Yaris hatch
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: San Jacinto California
Posts: 1,131
Can we put an 09 directly into an 07? I forget if there is a difference at the moment...
__________________
-Type 07 FFL-



My odometer 03/11
http://i205.photobucket.com/albums/b...a/2843ed85.jpg
mazilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 03:03 PM   #8
YarisSedan
 
YarisSedan's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 Yaris Sedan
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: California - Bay Area
Posts: 2,785
Send a message via AIM to YarisSedan
I like the white one it has a real clean and stock look.
YarisSedan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 03:10 PM   #9
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by mazilla View Post
Can we put an 09 directly into an 07? I forget if there is a difference at the moment...
Yes. The ABS light (and TRAC and VSC) will stay lit if you install an 09-11 in a 06-08, but I can disable those lights, while I am inside the cluster.

You know you want a purple one to go with that nice rainbow sparkle paint!
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 03:21 PM   #10
mazilla
advocatus diaboli
 
mazilla's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 Yaris hatch
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: San Jacinto California
Posts: 1,131
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTScott View Post
Yes. The ABS light (and TRAC and VSC) will stay lit if you install an 09-11 in a 06-08, but I can disable those lights, while I am inside the cluster.

You know you want a purple one to go with that nice rainbow sparkle paint!


Hmmm, I just might have to take you up on that offer(not the purple part, hahaha). I'm digging that white, would change all my green over to match. I'd need the seatbelt signal and any airbag lights disabled as well, save me some electrical tape. Hehe
__________________
-Type 07 FFL-



My odometer 03/11
http://i205.photobucket.com/albums/b...a/2843ed85.jpg
mazilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 05:15 PM   #11
B2FiNiTY
 
B2FiNiTY's Avatar
 
Drives: Prius C
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: US
Posts: 240
looks really good!
B2FiNiTY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 06:45 PM   #12
screenprintr
 
screenprintr's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Toyota Yaris
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 213
You changed the LED in each just for the picture?
screenprintr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 09:48 PM   #13
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by screenprintr View Post
You changed the LED in each just for the picture?
I have done a few, but didn't take pictures, so since I had extra LEDs from those conversions, I did swap them three times just to take pictures of the colors I have done.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 09:53 PM   #14
Melloreel
 
Drives: 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Coastal Georgia
Posts: 35
Hey Scott. Off topic. Can I put a cluster with tach into my 08 which only has speedo? Would I have to run new wire, or like the cruise, plug and play?
Melloreel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 10:04 PM   #15
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by Melloreel View Post
Hey Scott. Off topic. Can I put a cluster with tach into my 08 which only has speedo? Would I have to run new wire, or like the cruise, plug and play?
It is plug and play as long as you match if your car has ABS. If you don't have ABS, that limits you to 08 and older clusters. You can use 09 and newer ones, but some of the indicator lights (ABS, TRAC, VSC) will stay on, unless you internally cover or remove them.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 10:27 PM   #16
TOLMACH
 
Drives: soarer
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Beautiful British Columbia
Posts: 954
^ Based on the above pictures - it looks like the process of removing the cluster itself is not very difficult? Just several screws and a jack on the front panel? No cables from the back side?

(Removal of the surrounding plastic pieces is easy)

Thanks
TOLMACH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 10:52 PM   #17
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by TOLMACH View Post
^ Based on the above pictures - it looks like the process of removing the cluster itself is not very difficult? Just several screws and a jack on the front panel? No cables from the back side?

(Removal of the surrounding plastic pieces is easy)

Thanks
Yes. It is that easy - Pop the cluster trim off by pulling it back (being careful not to snap the little fingers that latch into the top of the radio time), Remove the two mounting screws that go into those L shaped feet on the front, undo the two connectors, and lift it out.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 12:50 PM   #18
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Here's a cobalt blue one with odometer correction just completed for bladesmith6 (it had 58xxx on it when he purchased it).



CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
change, cluster led, color, speedometer, tach

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTD: ECM, Instrument Cluster, Headrests, Quarter window chrisjaldin Willing to Buy by private party 8 09-02-2011 11:12 PM
Cruise Control - 07/08 Sedan - Instrument Cluster CB900F2 DIY / Maintenance / Service 4 02-23-2011 08:03 AM
Sedan Instrument Cluster to LB Instrument Cluster Malaya1221 Cosmetic Modifications (Exterior/Interior) 2 12-02-2008 11:05 PM
Instrument Cluster Swap thepaidtraveler Cosmetic Modifications (Exterior/Interior) 28 11-24-2008 10:53 AM
instrument cluster swap S -> LB elo79 Performance Modifications 1 12-21-2006 11:22 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:09 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.