Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-08-2015, 02:38 AM   #1
Suzaku
 
Drives: 2008 yaris
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: texas
Posts: 8
Question Odd throttle issue



2008 Yaris MT sedan got used from Carmax. (mostly stock -more later )
only 55k on it

Had an odd scare on the way home from work last Thur.
while stopped at a lite about 1/4 mile from my home, while waiting... I noticed the dreaded "check engine" light had come on...
traffic light turns green, ease up on clutch. step on gas... STALL...
PANIC mode!
Restart motor... ( it does ) clutch in, at idle.. step on gas... NOTHING HAPPENS.
try again.. NOTHING...

Pedal to the floor and there was only a slight raise in RPM.
tried to restart 2 times. no change.
got it pushed off onto a parking lot.
trying to work out what could be going wrong.. thought it might be a fuel problem... shut it off.. turned on the ignition w/o trying to start & left it on for 30 sec
shut it off. did this 2 times.
tried to start again... MAGIC!! all working again normal...
Took it to my local shop. he pulled the codes ( did not say the exact codes)
Said the error had something to do with the gas pedal / throttle body system but could not find any reason as it seemed to be working OK.
to come back it it did it again.

so far... its been ok
Cleaned the throttle body today.. there WAS some back stuff in it.. but not that much :/

and now for the sort of non-stock bit...
I have a high power audio system in this car
RF PUNCH 800 & 100 the 800 is a high draw on the bat as much as 60 amps (peak) and the other amp can draw up to 10 amps.
needless to say, when I have it turned up very loud. the lights in the car dim.

The day this happened, I had it up quite loud.
I also had the defroster blowing meaning that the AC was running.
I do not know.. if this had any part in it at all.. :/
as this happened when i was idling at a stop light.

I am now adding a 3 farad cap to the system to heal with the load.
I have had this setup in this car for 6 months and this is the first odd thing to happen.
and I have had this setup for 10 years in other cars.. so this happening is a bit of a mystery.

any input would be helpful

tks
Suzaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 05:52 AM   #2
ezhacker1
 
ezhacker1's Avatar
 
Drives: Decepticon - Ravage
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,452
I might be able to give some input.

I used to have a throttle controller, and when it acted up, it would make the car go limp. Basically what you described, pedal to the floor and barely revving up. (I also have manual). The issue at least for me, came from the throttle controller sending bad electrical signal i bet. The car would correct and relearn throttle positions after i bypass the controller. Now it may be your Throttle Position Sensor, and a possible code would be P0122, i forget what i had, but basically read throttle position low input etc.

By chance you have a Rostra cruise control? I remember a member had similiar issues because of how it plugs into the accelerator pedal.
__________________


Check out my Build thread:
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=52274
ezhacker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 10:30 AM   #3
edmscan
 
edmscan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris RS 3 Dr HB 5 Speed
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Edmonton Alberta
Posts: 563
I had the same problem with my old Honda Accord.

I was draining the battery because of the audio system .. and slowly but surely it would get lower and lower and eventually ... no matter what I did, it would die on me. The alternator just was not providing enough .. and this is what happened.

The only reason I figured it out .. got this digital voltage thing that plugged into the cigarette lighter and the battery voltage just kept getting lower til it died. Bought it at Walmart for like $15.

I finally put 2 and 2 together and realized that I could not crank the stereo so much. You could floor the gas pedal .. and it would not speed up, it eventually just lost total power and it would stall.

Just from what you are describing ... I am very sure you have the same thing going on.
__________________
edmscan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 11:38 AM   #4
Suzaku
 
Drives: 2008 yaris
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: texas
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezhacker1 View Post
I might be able to give some input.

I used to have a throttle controller, and when it acted up, it would make the car go limp. Basically what you described, pedal to the floor and barely revving up. (I also have manual). The issue at least for me, came from the throttle controller sending bad electrical signal i bet. The car would correct and relearn throttle positions after i bypass the controller. Now it may be your Throttle Position Sensor, and a possible code would be P0122, i forget what i had, but basically read throttle position low input etc.

By chance you have a Rostra cruise control? I remember a member had similiar issues because of how it plugs into the accelerator pedal.
there is no cruise control at all :/
Suzaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 01:29 PM   #5
ezhacker1
 
ezhacker1's Avatar
 
Drives: Decepticon - Ravage
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,452
Best thing to do is grab the MIL code. Did the car feel like throttle lag and limp right before the mil light turned on. If it was a shall do to vacuum leak, you would have noticed.
__________________


Check out my Build thread:
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=52274
ezhacker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 02:08 PM   #6
Suzaku
 
Drives: 2008 yaris
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: texas
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezhacker1 View Post
Best thing to do is grab the MIL code. Did the car feel like throttle lag and limp right before the mil light turned on. If it was a shall do to vacuum leak, you would have noticed.
No, All was working as it should have been.
I had just driven 20 miles from work to home. fine on the highway
was stopped at a light, had my sound system turned WAY up ( as I often do ) playing the OP theme to Black Bullet ( heavy bass in this ) things shaking so much I cant see clearly out the rear view mirror.
I have had it this loud many times...
That is when this happened...
and had not been back since..
Suzaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 02:13 PM   #7
Suzaku
 
Drives: 2008 yaris
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: texas
Posts: 8
hmmm :o



:/ So far, everything is still working perfectly.
No idea really what did it in the first place.
Have a few suspects, so…
#1 adding a 3frad cap to the sub amp to ease load on battery.
#2 cleaned throttle body. (did not seem THAT dirty.. but WTH. )
#3 ordered a scangage e in order to keep an eye on things.
#4 the 4 gage power wire from the bat, runs through a grommet above the ECU, (as suggested in a thread there ) this SHOULD not be causing a problem, but it is bound to be causing SOME EMI, so I am gonna stick some ferrite beads where it passes above the ECU.
Suzaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 04:15 PM   #8
jambo101
 
jambo101's Avatar
 
Drives: yaris 08 sedan
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 1,297
I really doubt your stereo system is the cause of your problem.
I had a similar problem when i first bought my 08 sedan standard. every once in a while the engine would go to idle and stay there, several restarts would get it functioning normally again, fortunately it was under warranty so the dealer fixed it, said it was something to do with a defective sensor that controlled engine rpm or throttle position.
__________________
Have Yaris will travel..
jambo101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 07:17 PM   #9
edmscan
 
edmscan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris RS 3 Dr HB 5 Speed
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Edmonton Alberta
Posts: 563
Quote:
Originally Posted by jambo101 View Post
I really doubt your stereo system is the cause of your problem.
I REALLY think that his stereo system could totally be the issue ... unless he has a way to measure in real time what his voltage is, there is no way to tell.

Once he removes the load of the stereo, it is very possible that he could start the car and continue. And .. guess what, the mechanic could likely hunt all over .. and would never find an issue.

A simple measuring could confirm my thoughts. I personally wish I had one of those voltage devices now.
__________________
edmscan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2015, 08:00 PM   #10
Suzaku
 
Drives: 2008 yaris
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: texas
Posts: 8
This seems to be a Nighmare issue...

Found this on a UK forum.
looks very much like my issue
HTML Code:
http://www.yarisclubuk.com/forum/index.php?/topic/12195-loss-of-throttle-response/
and this from here...
HTML Code:
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=30100
again..
a problem with the 08 model
seems to be an inherent issue with the throttle body and or TB system.
BAD luck picking an 2008...
Suzaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2015, 04:04 PM   #11
jambo101
 
jambo101's Avatar
 
Drives: yaris 08 sedan
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 1,297
If i had a stalling problem with my car the stereo is not something i'd think of as causing the problem, easy to check,pull the fuse on the stereo system for a few days and see if the car continues to stall..
If the car only stalls when the radio is on then fix the radio.
__________________
Have Yaris will travel..
jambo101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 10:58 AM   #12
Suzaku
 
Drives: 2008 yaris
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: texas
Posts: 8
So far, it Has not happened again… this does NOT MEAN it can’t/won’t happen again… as the cause is still unknown. It has only done this once since july 2014 since I got the thing, and who knows how many times before.
However, it is most likely un-related to the radio system… ( although the vibration It causes may be a factor)
This DOES look to be a flaw related to the 08 series alone ( google - yaris 08 throttle problem)
Related to the throttle body and/or it’s control system. ( though Toyoda has not admitted this.)
Searches have found way too many hit with the EXACT SAME PROBLEM involving an 08 Yaris including having it clear by turning the ignition on and off repeatedly, just as I did.. this simply can NOT be a coincidence..

It was simply my dumb luck in getting a 08… now it seems I am stuck with it…
Suzaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 11:57 AM   #13
woops
 
Drives: Jeep Cherokee XJ 1996
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lahore, Pakistan.
Posts: 36
this is mostly a bad accelerator pedal sensor

it will start doing this frequently once it gets worse.
woops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 03:39 PM   #14
Suzaku
 
Drives: 2008 yaris
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: texas
Posts: 8
And update...
as of now, it still has not happened again. (weird)
And the ONLY thing done to it was the throttle body was cleaned the week it happened.
this week, it is going to the dealer to have 2 recalls taken care of :/
1) having to do with the seat tracks. 2) airbag system (NOT INFLATORS!)
we shall see :p
Suzaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2015, 10:36 AM   #15
jambo101
 
jambo101's Avatar
 
Drives: yaris 08 sedan
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 1,297
It happened on my 08 a few times when i bought the car in late 07,after the dealer fixed the problem i have never had any issue with the car except regular maintenance, been 8 years now and at 200K the car is bullet proof reliable and will easily achieve 300K.
__________________
Have Yaris will travel..
jambo101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2018, 12:14 AM   #16
Suzaku
 
Drives: 2008 yaris
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: texas
Posts: 8
And sooo, here we are, years later, and it still has never done it again :o
Suzaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2018, 02:47 AM   #17
yarisugi
やりすぎだ~
 
yarisugi's Avatar
 
Drives: Me: Nuts:
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: ハワイ
Posts: 2,049
Just a fluke, huh? No news is good news in this case.
How many miles do you have on it now?
yarisugi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Odd exhaust issue Dubdoc DIY / Maintenance / Service 6 11-17-2014 06:18 PM
Odd throttle issue mr_miles DIY / Maintenance / Service 21 11-01-2014 09:20 AM
Throttle issue. calvin0103 General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 2 01-12-2013 04:11 PM
3 Drive Throttle Contoller by NTD Sabretooth Performance Modifications 31 10-07-2010 12:12 PM
For Sale: 1ZZ Throttle Body and 0.25" aluminum wheel spacers m911gt Items for Sale by private party 6 04-25-2009 08:52 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:51 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.