Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Second Generation Toyota Yaris Main Rooms > New YARIS Purchase Forum
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-27-2011, 10:25 PM   #19
bB2NER
My Box and Her Egg
 
bB2NER's Avatar
 
Drives: 05' Scion xB / 08' Yaris 3dr
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: W.TN
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob_VT View Post
I just installed the Rostra unit in my LB last week. Got it from TRDSparks (cheapest price I could find).

Took my about 2 hours to put in and it works great.
Yep, Rostra is def. the way to go. Just bought the 08' LB stick I put the cruise in 3 years ago.
Cruise works like a charm.
bB2NER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 02:22 PM   #20
GanjaBabe420
 
GanjaBabe420's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 Toyota Yaris Sedan
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 17
Send a message via AIM to GanjaBabe420
thank you!
__________________
GanjaBabe420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 02:57 PM   #21
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
I would stay away from the Rostra cruise control system.

First off, there is no need for it, since the US/Canada Yaris have cruise control functionality built into the ECM.

Secondly, the Rostra system has been recalled for Canadian Yaris, and the Canadian dealers actually remove the system and refund the customer's money. The issue with the Rostra system is that it is susceptible to RF interference (from sources like 2 way radios). Since the Rostra system installs in parallel with the gas pedal wiring, when it gets blitzed by an RF signal, it corrupts the gas pedal signal input to the ECM and the ECM goes into limp mode.

The risk of occurrence is probably fairly low, but again, why bother with a complete separate cruise control system when the Yaris ECM can do it itself with just a single wire analog input (for the stalk switch functions) to the ECM?
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 03:08 PM   #22
bB2NER
My Box and Her Egg
 
bB2NER's Avatar
 
Drives: 05' Scion xB / 08' Yaris 3dr
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: W.TN
Posts: 98
OK, I'll bite.
How does one make the cruise that is already there work?
bB2NER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 03:10 PM   #23
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnjfishnuts@yahoo.com View Post
OK, I'll bite.
How does one make the cruise that is already there work?
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/sho...ght=cruise+faq
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 03:26 PM   #24
bB2NER
My Box and Her Egg
 
bB2NER's Avatar
 
Drives: 05' Scion xB / 08' Yaris 3dr
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: W.TN
Posts: 98
That is awsome.
I'm surprised cruise wasn't standard equiptment then on USDM vehicles.
Or why Rostra's cruise isn't just the parts needed to make the factory cruise work?
bB2NER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 03:40 PM   #25
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnjfishnuts@yahoo.com View Post
That is awsome.
I'm surprised cruise wasn't standard equiptment then on USDM vehicles.
Or why Rostra's cruise isn't just the parts needed to make the factory cruise work?
With electronic throttle control, cruise control is a trivial bit of software in the ECM. I suspect that it wasn't made standard as a cost savings measure.

Rostra probably had no idea how easy it was to use the existing cruise and since they have been making aftermarket cruise control systems for quite some time, it would probably have been more work for them to work with what the Yaris had, as opposed to using what they already make.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 03:10 PM   #26
Imagine
Insert sarcasm here.
 
Imagine's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 Black Pearl Sand 3Dr
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 242
I have a cruise kit from an '07 Brand new still in the box. I never installed it on my '07. My '09 already has cruise so I don't need it. I'll be posting it for sale on here soon, It's for an auto though, not sure what it would take to make work on a manual.
Imagine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2017, 07:11 AM   #27
Dohsh77
 
Drives: Yaris
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Egypt
Posts: 13
Cruise control for yaris sedan 1300 cc

I change my ecu by one from canada and cruis control work good my problem now this ecu for 1500 cc 1nz engine and my car 1300 cc 2nz engine so i ahve probleme in shifting gear
Any one have yaris sedan 2006 to 2013 have orignal cruise contril can help me and give me the part number of his ecu please
Dohsh77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2017, 07:13 AM   #28
Dohsh77
 
Drives: Yaris
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Egypt
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Imagine View Post
I have a cruise kit from an '07 Brand new still in the box. I never installed it on my '07. My '09 already has cruise so I don't need it. I'll be posting it for sale on here soon, It's for an auto though, not sure what it would take to make work on a manual.
Your car 1300 or 1500 cc
Dohsh77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2017, 07:17 AM   #29
Dohsh77
 
Drives: Yaris
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Egypt
Posts: 13
Cruise control

Any one have yaris sedan 1300 cc 2006 to 2013 have orignal cruise control ?
Please i need the part number of your ecu
Dohsh77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Consumer Reports not too pleased with Yaris Befuddled General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 132 02-28-2011 03:57 PM
NEWS: TOYOTA REVEALS ALL-NEW YARIS SEDAN AT 2006 LOS ANGELES AUTO SHOW VitzBoy General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 5 09-05-2010 08:53 PM
Test drove Fit, Versa and Yaris... Bought a Yaris! AlexK General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 49 09-10-2007 05:35 PM
official: cruise control install pdf punch DIY / Maintenance / Service 3 12-19-2006 07:26 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:22 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.