Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Second Generation Toyota Yaris Main Rooms > Fuel Economy Forum
  The Tire Rack

Old 12-20-2014, 04:48 AM   #1
richietwong

Drives: yaris
How i get 52mpg avg (constantly)

Hey guys, my name is Richie im from Socal and im a college student that commutes to university and home A lot.

I just wanted to make a post to talk about how i achieve 50+mpg, not to brag or anything but its amazing to me how doable it really is.

So as a back story-

Since i've gotten a 2007 hatch back, 2nd hand w/ 130k miles There have been some minor mods that have helped me achieve 50+ mpg constantly (lowest ive ever gotten is 47 city driving, 40mpg on very spirited driving (not me driving someone else.)

EXTERNAL
-coilovers to lower car (megan coil overs)
-alloy wheels that are flush with body line
-Stretched tires to also accommodate aero benefits
-camber bolts to accommodate wheel
-rear spoiler

ENGINE
-trd sport axle back exhaust
-DC cold air intake (ironic but i can explain the rationale)
-As many new OEM parts as possible (all maintenance stuff essentially)
-Cruise control

COMPUTING
-New Yaris cluster with tach (just to make sure im in comfortable power band)
-Scan gauge
-Valentine 1 police band scanner (this is important because when it is quite out i drive 60mph, and if there are any highway patrol or trying to cause trouble i can bring my speed up to 65/70 where average traffic is driving, and i wont have any unneeded attention.)

so lets explain my commute first off, its 20 miles one way with constant inclines going towards school, and 1 downhill coming home.

everyday i do an average of 52.5MPH
I climb the hill at 40mph, cruise on the highway at 62mph and try to drive as smoothly and lightly on the throttle as possible between home and highway.