Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Second Generation Toyota Yaris Main Rooms > New YARIS Purchase Forum
  The Tire Rack

Old 01-23-2012, 12:16 AM   #1
jayeh

Drives: '08 Yaris LB
Thinking of buying a new Yaris...

Hi Guys,

I'm thinking of buying a used Yaris.... I've narrowed down my choices to a Yaris hatchback, Echo Hatchback, Matrix or Pontiac Vibe.

I'm a fan of the 1.8L engine in the Corolla/Vibe/Matrix, but am still looking for better fuel economy. I don't drive very fast and can't think of the last time I've ever put the pedal down on the Corolla. :big grin:

I'm a pretty tame driver, and I often have to park on the street downtown and so I want a small car. I also want a hatchback since I absolutely hate having a trunk I can't fit anything in.

So, I'd definitely want to do the cruise control mod I found on this forum, I can't live without cruise, so thats one question answered. I'm curious how awkward it is to do an oil change myself. I can barely get to the oil filter on my 99 corolla.

Last edited by jayeh; 01-28-2012 at 07:26 PM. Reason: said new, but meant new to me
jayeh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 11:00 AM   #2
brg88tx

Drives: 07 Yaris Sedan, Auto
go for thre yaris, you'll get about 4 mpg better. and don't worry about speed. alot of people think that because it's only a 1.5L that it's slow. i have taken my 07 auto sedan on road trips and set the cruise on 78 mph for 5 hours straight and it still gets 36-37 mpg at that high speed.
brg88tx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 07:30 PM   #3
jayeh

Quote:
Originally Posted by brg88tx View Post
go for thre yaris, you'll get about 4 mpg better. and don't worry about speed. alot of people think that because it's only a 1.5L that it's slow. i have taken my 07 auto sedan on road trips and set the cruise on 78 mph for 5 hours straight and it still gets 36-37 mpg at that high speed.