Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Old 04-08-2013, 11:48 AM   #1
lamadoo

Drives: 2007 Yaris 3door white
Can we change the Brake Fluid this way?

Instead of removing the tyres and bleeding the brakes is it possible to

-Turkey suction the old fluid out as much as possible
-Refill it with new fluid
-Drive the car for a few months so it can mix with the old fluid trapped in the system
-Repeat the process again of sucking the brake fluid out and refilling it
-Do this again every 6 months.

I'm a beginner when it comes to DIY and lifting the yaris with four jacks to remove the tyres and then bleeding it without getting any air inside it sounds really intimidating
lamadoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 02:11 PM   #2
CTScott
ULTIMATE

Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
No. The most contaminated brake fluid resides in the calipers, because they are the end of the line. In the system the fluid does not flow, but rather the master cylinder pushes a small amount of additional fluid towards the calipers, and when they retract, the fluid moves back up the tubing a bit, but what is at the calipers never goes all the way back to the master cylinder.
Old 04-08-2013, 03:15 PM   #3
fnkngrv
Mr. 155 and climbing

Drives: Seriously Modded 07 Sedan
You will need to get a friend to help you for sure.

Youtube Channel: Team Tiamat Racing

Class record holder in Land Speed @ 154.5mph for 1.5 mile and 145.5mph in the mile in the F (2.016 to 3.014 L), G (1.524 to 2.015 L), and H (1.016 to 1.523 L) classes.
fnkngrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 03:54 PM   #4
CTScott
ULTIMATE

Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB