Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > Performance Modifications
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-01-2006, 10:41 PM   #1
soros151
Another question... :D
 
soros151's Avatar
 
Drives: Scion tC 06
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 70
Enough Space?

Noob on Yaris here, but thinking of a project. Is it possible to insert a 2ZZ-GE (Matrix XRS, Celica GT-S) engine? Is there enough space to work. I know a custom driveshaft will be needed and fabrication of the intake manifold and header will be neccesary. But is there enough room to make this adjustments?

NOTE: Please do not make this into a bash thread, I am only interested in knowing if there is enough space for fabrication. Please keep comments about how this will be a waste of time and money to yourselfs. Only want opinions on this engine swap. Thanks.
soros151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 01:57 AM   #2
heylookitsjames
maintenance of momentum
 
Drives: 2007 5spd 3dr
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Riverside CA
Posts: 129
I believe it has already been done...
heylookitsjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 02:34 PM   #3
El Jefe
 
Drives: 07 yaris s sedan
Join Date: May 2006
Location: california uber alles! (sacramento)
Posts: 204
ya it should fit, if you take off the cowl (it just bolts in) there is a ton of room, i had to take it off to put my springs on and its a bunch of space.
El Jefe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 08:58 PM   #4
eight_heads
 
eight_heads's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Yaris Liftback
Join Date: May 2006
Location: LA, USA
Posts: 244
well coming from dealing with engine swaps in hondas, anything is possible with time and money... i think space wise it would fit, but getting everything else to work out is going to be a pain... in other words, swaping out engine harnesses/getting gauges to work/drive shaft and tranny/tranny linkage/suspension...etc... but good luck to you if you go for it
__________________

'07 Yaris Liftback
-Red 5spd w/convenience
eight_heads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 03:09 AM   #5
03Z33
 
03Z33's Avatar
 
Drives: TCR10
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,132
Do the new 2ZZ's come with direct fuel injection or still running injectors? I know they offer drive-by wire and by cable depending on model/year... which would be easier to run in this case?
03Z33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 09:31 AM   #6
Chris07LB
Super Moderator
 
Chris07LB's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris Liftback
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,177
Fuk it, toss in a small block, and make it RWD.. that would be one mean Liftback, lol.
Chris07LB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 01:06 PM   #7
punch
 
punch's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris Sedan "D" package
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Barrie, ontario
Posts: 853
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris07LB
Fuk it, toss in a small block, and make it RWD.. that would be one mean Liftback, lol.
yeah, they do it with the ford focus, heck they sell a kit to do it...
punch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 01:24 PM   #8
fnkngrv
Mr. 155 and climbing
 
fnkngrv's Avatar
 
Drives: Seriously Modded 07 Sedan
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: In The Hotbox
Posts: 4,770
but no matter how you slice it...that is still a ford...shakes head....now you throw a Nissan powerplant in it and then you have a cool ride (referencing FF3)
__________________
Team Tiamat Racing on Facebook


Youtube Channel: Team Tiamat Racing


Class record holder in Land Speed @ 154.5mph for 1.5 mile and 145.5mph in the mile in the F (2.016 to 3.014 L), G (1.524 to 2.015 L), and H (1.016 to 1.523 L) classes.
fnkngrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2006, 06:13 AM   #9
TRD_Yaris
Yarii Hunter
 
TRD_Yaris's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris Liftback and S13's
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 435
Quote:
Originally Posted by soros151
Noob on Yaris here, but thinking of a project. Is it possible to insert a 2ZZ-GE (Matrix XRS, Celica GT-S) engine? Is there enough space to work. I know a custom driveshaft will be needed and fabrication of the intake manifold and header will be neccesary. But is there enough room to make this adjustments?

NOTE: Please do not make this into a bash thread, I am only interested in knowing if there is enough space for fabrication. Please keep comments about how this will be a waste of time and money to yourselfs. Only want opinions on this engine swap. Thanks.
why stop there? why not a 3.3L V6 ES330/camry/Solara Transmission setup? has been done on a few MR2s..same Transverse layout..
TRD_Yaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2006, 02:04 PM   #10
heylookitsjames
maintenance of momentum
 
Drives: 2007 5spd 3dr
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Riverside CA
Posts: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by TRD_Yaris
why stop there? why not a 3.3L V6 ES330/camry/Solara Transmission setup? has been done on a few MR2s..same Transverse layout..
yeah... use a sienna setup... similar engine bay shapes.
heylookitsjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2006, 12:25 AM   #11
soros151
Another question... :D
 
soros151's Avatar
 
Drives: Scion tC 06
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 70
I was thinking also about one of the 4A-GE, but it seems smog laws won't accept it. At least that's what I think, being the Yaris and ULEV II. Think I can get the permits on this?
__________________
*One tire nearer to my goal*
soros151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2006, 01:28 AM   #12
heylookitsjames
maintenance of momentum
 
Drives: 2007 5spd 3dr
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Riverside CA
Posts: 129
I would think one of the later 20v 4As would be nearly as not as clean as the 1nzfe in real life... but try telling that to the authorities. It will be illegal most likely, plus it'd be an older motor in a newer car... very taboo...
heylookitsjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2006, 04:15 PM   #13
soros151
Another question... :D
 
soros151's Avatar
 
Drives: Scion tC 06
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 70
I know, but it seems a later model of a 2ZZ-GE will be alright somehow. Does someone know somebody who have done this swap?
__________________
*One tire nearer to my goal*
soros151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2006, 11:39 AM   #14
wlfpck
 
Drives: 91 cb7
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by TRD_Yaris
why stop there? why not a 3.3L V6 ES330/camry/Solara Transmission setup? has been done on a few MR2s..same Transverse layout..
i don't believe the v6 would fit... and if it did its gonna cost a lot more for fabrication than it would for a inline 4.

second. Since the engine sits in front. and the car is only 2200+ lbs, adding a v6 engine is gonna seriously mess with the suspension setup.

i mean dropping the h22 into the crx made the guy have to use a stiffer setup in the front.
wlfpck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2006, 03:41 PM   #15
Mr.Black
 
Drives: Tercel
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sydney,NS
Posts: 4
The 2ZZ-GE uses the C60 transmision where as the Yaris uses the c56 same as the Corolla or so I have heard, so the shafts from the Yaris will work and if they don't bolt in the axles from a Corolla XRS should work ok or you could use the inner joint on the Yaris shaft with the Yaris outer cv joint. The thing is that the 2ZZ-GE uses 4 engine mounts instead of the 3 in the Yaris but that wouldn't be that hard to remedy. The 2ZZ-GE isn't much bigger than the 1nz-fe maybe 2 inches max I belive and only 60 ish lbs heavier so no adverse handling from a heavy engine. If you have any other questions I can help try and find the answers.
Mr.Black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2006, 07:08 PM   #16
soros151
Another question... :D
 
soros151's Avatar
 
Drives: Scion tC 06
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 70
A list of parts beside the engine that I might need for the swap. Example, another fuel pump. If u can, then that would be great.
__________________
*One tire nearer to my goal*
soros151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2006, 09:01 PM   #17
Mr.Black
 
Drives: Tercel
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sydney,NS
Posts: 4
Well you would need the wire harness and ecu then you would have to make a custom harness for the body and some stuff will no doubt need to be changed on the engine harness. Custom front engine mount, the axles that may or may not work you will have to find out when you get the engine and tranny. The fuel pump may need to be replaced but you could rig up a Celica GT-S or a Corolla XRS one maybe even anther Toyota high flow fuel pump. The Yaris has electric power stearing so you may be able to keep it if noy you would either have to not have power stearing or try to use the 2ZZ-GE assembly. Perhaps you could get a battery relocation kit and free up some space in the engine bay, while your at it get a cold air intake and a good exaust system and you will destroy alot of stuff. On a side note there is a bolt on turbo kit for the 2ZZ-GE that makes over 300 hp. If anything els comes to mind I will add it.
Mr.Black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2006, 09:20 PM   #18
TRD_Yaris
Yarii Hunter
 
TRD_Yaris's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris Liftback and S13's
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 435
Quote:
Originally Posted by wlfpck
i don't believe the v6 would fit... and if it did its gonna cost a lot more for fabrication than it would for a inline 4.

second. Since the engine sits in front. and the car is only 2200+ lbs, adding a v6 engine is gonna seriously mess with the suspension setup.

i mean dropping the h22 into the crx made the guy have to use a stiffer setup in the front.
well, there was a BIT of sarcasm in that statement. but, when you bring up the H22 / civic argument i walk out the door... just like a V8 LS1 engine /6 speed transmission is WAY HEAVIER than a Mazda TwinTurbo Rx7 rotary/5speed

i thought people stopped believing the H22 myth back in the 20th century. it's only 37 lbs difference and is relatively in the same "position" over the axle. the h22 is just a PITA to work with since you must "custom fabricate" the shifter box (and by custom fabricate, i mean cut up your floorboard ). Plus the H22 doesn't see much gains from mods like the Bseries engines which are direct swaps for the Civic chassis (92-95 anyway, 96-00 with EM1 motor mounts).


I think the 2ZZGE would be the best candidate, especially since it was very "swappable" with the 1ZZ corollas and MR2 spyders. I gotta do some research and look for other 1NZFE cars with engine swaps, since (in theory) they should be the same work for the yaris platform.
but, Toyota VVTi engines are notoriously difficult to Air/Fuel tune..whereas a K20A (JDM Honda Integra Type R..known as RSX-R not released in US) would be very easy to get into the 270 whp range. custom mounts are custom mounts...if a 2ZZGE isn't direct swappable then you might as well go big or go home.
__________________
Thanks for all the help over the years, YarisWorld!!!
TRD_Yaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stereo Upgrades....what to do!? gravylegs In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm) 39 02-28-2010 01:58 PM
sedan cargo capacity bigger...??? hhcchen General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 7 03-09-2006 06:18 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:42 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.