Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-19-2019, 03:12 PM   #1
rLipiner
 
Drives: 2015 Yaris
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Nevada
Posts: 5
Transponder key programing

I am trying to make some extra keys for my 2015 Yaris. I ordered they correct key with the chip, mine was an H chip, and got it cut. I am trying to figure out if there is a way too get into programing mode to accept the new key without haveing to use the toyota tis software. I saw some youtube videos for other toyotas where they put the key in 5 times and open and close the door 6 times but it didnt seem to work for my 2015 yaris. any help would be appreciated
rLipiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 04:37 PM   #2
B.B._07
 
Drives: 07 5dr
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: YYC
Posts: 174
You need some dedicated hardware to program the key transponder. It pays to shop around to find the best rate for programming your keys. Try the locksmiths, auto parts chains in your area. I hear that even Ace hardware has good rates on programming keys.

The door closing and opening procedure is to the program the keyless entry, it won't do anything for the immobilizer chip in the key.
B.B._07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 07:26 PM   #3
rLipiner
 
Drives: 2015 Yaris
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Nevada
Posts: 5
I got a quote for $70 just to program from a local locksmith. So I went ahead and ordered the programming software and obd2 cable from amazon for about $35. We’ll see how it goes.
rLipiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2019, 02:06 PM   #4
rLipiner
 
Drives: 2015 Yaris
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Nevada
Posts: 5
I was able to program the key using the Toyota tis software and cable from amazon. Thank for your help.
rLipiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2019, 07:34 AM   #5
lespaulstd
 
Drives: Yaris
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Spain
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by rLipiner View Post
I was able to program the key using the Toyota tis software and cable from amazon. Thank for your help.
I did it that way in a euro-spec 2006 yaris following the instructions in this video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4F3Xu_GdbqU
lespaulstd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2019, 10:22 PM   #6
CrimsonEclipse
 
Drives: .
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: .
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by rLipiner View Post
I got a quote for $70 just to program from a local locksmith. So I went ahead and ordered the programming software and obd2 cable from amazon for about $35. We’ll see how it goes.
Any chance you can post a link to the cable and software?
CrimsonEclipse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2019, 08:22 PM   #7
rLipiner
 
Drives: 2015 Yaris
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Nevada
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrimsonEclipse View Post
Any chance you can post a link to the cable and software?


Yueku Mini VCI J2534 Toyota TIS Techstream Cable Car OBD2 Diagnostic Cable (1.4.1) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B078VKM1G3..._SARNCbWQM5KXR
rLipiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2019, 08:24 PM   #8
rLipiner
 
Drives: 2015 Yaris
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Nevada
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by rLipiner View Post
Yueku Mini VCI J2534 Toyota TIS Techstream Cable Car OBD2 Diagnostic Cable (1.4.1) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B078VKM1G3..._SARNCbWQM5KXR


If you have trouble installing the driver for the obd2 cable just contact the customer support and they will open up team viewer and fix it for you that’s what they had to do for me.
rLipiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2019, 08:19 PM   #9
CrimsonEclipse
 
Drives: .
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: .
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by rLipiner View Post
If you have trouble installing the driver for the obd2 cable just contact the customer support and they will open up team viewer and fix it for you that’s what they had to do for me.
Bought it, needed customer service.
Now it works.

Thanks a million!
CrimsonEclipse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
keys, transponder

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY Transponder Key Program? 268i General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 0 06-18-2017 06:59 AM
Transponder key programming teddy DIY / Maintenance / Service 6 04-28-2015 06:32 PM
Lost key (transponder and remote lock/unlock) shyeoh DIY / Maintenance / Service 4 07-11-2013 05:04 AM
Reemplazo Swichera yukardo Central and South America 3 04-03-2011 12:11 AM
Yaris transponder key: do we ALL get one?? auxmike DIY / Maintenance / Service 10 12-01-2008 11:40 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:08 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.