Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-10-2018, 05:50 PM   #1
Colin
I've made a post!
 
Drives: Toyota Yaris Verso T Spirit D4
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Newport, Gwent
Posts: 1
Digital speedo not working

My digital speedo became erratic then failed, but reactivated itself after a week, then failed again 2 weeks ago! Rev indicator and fuel gauge works
Colin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2018, 10:40 PM   #2
kimona
Super Moderator
 
kimona's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 White VITZ
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Huntington Bch, CA
Posts: 4,670
I believe you are our first Newportonian Yarisworld member. Welcome.

I don't think we even have a digital speedo here in the States or in Canada. Could be wrong, though.

CTScott is our resident expert on all things Toyota. Perhaps he can help you.
kimona is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 09:53 AM   #3
AdamDavis
 
Drives: Yaris Diesel 2007
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: England
Posts: 5
Hi there, I have a toyota yaris with a digital speedo as well. However I do not know the inside electronics of the module, I do know how to replace the speedometer and whole cluster. This is a very simple job to do.

If you remove the trim strips from either side of the radio and heating controls, you can then remove the black semicircle trim around the cluster. From here, there is a screw holding in the glare reducer, remove that. Then remove the two screws holding the cluster onto the assembly, which are on top of the radio. Then there are two electrical connectors that are easily reachable, remove those and the whole cluster should come out (Providing I haven't missed any screws). It may take a bit of fiddling with the plastic clips.

At this point, pick yourself up a new cluster with speedometer attached at the scrapyard and just reinstall it or you could disconnect the digital speedometer part from the cluster, but this depends how far you want to go. Its far easier to replace the whole cluster. Just a single piece and connect job then.
AdamDavis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:02 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.