Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm)
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2010, 02:26 PM   #1
espin
 
Drives: 2007 Toyota Yaris Sedan
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Winnipeg MB
Posts: 4
6 Disc Factory Stereo - ERROR 3? Help!

Hi everyone,

First time poster here. I have a 2007 Toyota Yaris Sedan. I'm located in Canada. My CD player has two CDs in it at the moment and it will not eject them. If I try to play them, I get an "ERROR 3" message. It will not load CDs either. The radio works fine and these are real CDs, not burned ones.

I took it to my dealership and they looked at it for 30 seconds and said "Uhh...you need a new stereo, go buy an aftermarket one." I'm positive that the discs are just jammed as I heard a noise when they were loaded that indicated that they were not properly in place.

I then visited a repair/retail electronics store and they said that they don't like to look at factory stereos and they would be happy to sell me a new one. How can I get my CDs out? I just want them to eject. I had this problem in the past about a year ago, but it was short lived as I drove over a pothole and the bump was enough to dislodge the CD. The stereo has worked fine since.

Any suggestions?

Thanks!!
espin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 03:27 PM   #2
Slick
 
Slick's Avatar
 
Drives: '09 3-Dr
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 625
Send a message via MSN to Slick
Take out the radio and pull it apart and get your CDs out. Shouldn't be too difficult. There are plenty of tuts on how to remove the radio from the car. Takin apart your radio should be relatively easy.
__________________
In a world... where things squeak, wont fit,start to bleed, or are just plain hard to do.... ArmorAll will fix that
Slick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 06:27 PM   #3
Alien Mantis
Secret Agent
 
Alien Mantis's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 Yaris Hatch
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 350
And to be honest... it sounds like you DO need to get a new aftermarket deck unit.

__________________
www.sonicelectronix.com for all your mobile audio needs!
Alien Mantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 06:34 PM   #4
BLAZINBLUEVITZ
 
BLAZINBLUEVITZ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 YARIS 3DOOR
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NEW YORK
Posts: 1,281
ERROR 3: means MECHANICAL MALFUNCTION (replace cd player)

if you have no TOYOTA EXTRA CARE i suggest going out and getting aftermarket radio.....
__________________
EVERYBODY EVENTUALLY COMES BACK TO YARISWORLD......
BLAZINBLUEVITZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 08:13 PM   #5
espin
 
Drives: 2007 Toyota Yaris Sedan
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Winnipeg MB
Posts: 4
I'm going to take the stereo out myself tomorrow. I've also emailed Toyota to see what they recommend. I'm confident the CDs are just jammed in there as they made an odd noise when loading. Thanks for the advice!
espin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 09:46 PM   #6
Palmer812
 
Drives: 2010 Meteorite Metallic LB
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 251
You can get the cd's out yourself without too much trouble but don't expect the cd player to ever work again afterwards. I manage a stereo shop and company policy says we are not supposed to open up factory 6 disc radios. When people come in and purchase a new unit and have it installed I remove the cd's for free. We are just unable to get replacement parts to repair them.
Palmer812 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 08:43 AM   #7
espin
 
Drives: 2007 Toyota Yaris Sedan
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Winnipeg MB
Posts: 4
Anything I should know about taking the stereo out? I was gonna do this:

1. Disconnect negative battery.
2. Pop off bottom dash piece, then sides, then lift the top piece.
3. Unscrew the brackets.
4. Pull out stereo.
5. Disconnect radio connectors and plug.

I'm pretty mechanically dumb, but I think I can do this. lol
espin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 11:16 AM   #8
Maxh91
 
Maxh91's Avatar
 
Drives: Red 3 Dr HB 2008 Auto.
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New-Brunswick , Canada
Posts: 60
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nBTIJLk-EZo

Maxh91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 12:28 PM   #9
espin
 
Drives: 2007 Toyota Yaris Sedan
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Winnipeg MB
Posts: 4
I took the stereo out and took it apart carefully, I was able to get my CDs out and then reinstall the stereo. The radio works fine, but it will no longer load CDs. The "gate" that opens inside to pull the CD in when "LOAD" is flashing will no longer open to grab the disc. I can live with the radio until I can get a better aftermarket system.

The thing that was really grinding my gears was one of the CDs that got trapped was brand new, lol! I literally opened the shrinkwrap after buying the CD, loaded it in and that's when evil ERROR 3 arrived. I didn't even get to listen to one song.

Now that I have the discs out, all is right with the world until I can go stereo shopping! Thanks for all the help!
espin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 02:35 PM   #10
Slick
 
Slick's Avatar
 
Drives: '09 3-Dr
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 625
Send a message via MSN to Slick
I'm glad everything went ok. See, it wasn't so bad :)
__________________
In a world... where things squeak, wont fit,start to bleed, or are just plain hard to do.... ArmorAll will fix that
Slick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 03:22 PM   #11
Alien Mantis
Secret Agent
 
Alien Mantis's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 Yaris Hatch
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 350
Quote:
Originally Posted by espin View Post
The thing that was really grinding my gears was one of the CDs that got trapped was brand new, lol! I literally opened the shrinkwrap after buying the CD, loaded it in and that's when evil ERROR 3 arrived. I didn't even get to listen to one song.

What CD was it?

If it was Lady Gaga, or some "country" crap, it's no wonder the deck tried to EAT it!

__________________
www.sonicelectronix.com for all your mobile audio needs!
Alien Mantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 04:23 PM   #12
marcus
toyota
 
marcus's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris RS Blazed
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: toronto, canada
Posts: 3,628
try twizzers..
marcus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 04:28 PM   #13
BLAZINBLUEVITZ
 
BLAZINBLUEVITZ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 YARIS 3DOOR
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NEW YORK
Posts: 1,281
TWEEZERS
__________________
EVERYBODY EVENTUALLY COMES BACK TO YARISWORLD......
BLAZINBLUEVITZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 05:35 PM   #14
marcus
toyota
 
marcus's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris RS Blazed
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: toronto, canada
Posts: 3,628
i thought he had extra disc stuck in there happen to me once just pulled it with a twizzer assuming that you can see it on the slot...
marcus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 11:03 PM   #15
rep1158
 
Drives: 2010 yaris 3 door stick
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: allentown, pa
Posts: 11
I have a 2010 Yaris. I just got an error-1 message on cd player. Disc ejects but you cannot put a disk in, the player forces it out. Any ideas?//Do i need a new radio?
Thanks,
rick
rep1158 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 12:10 AM   #16
jpmck03
 
jpmck03's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 3-Door Liftback
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: PA
Posts: 857
Not a threadjack, but I have a factory 2010 stereo that I took out my car. Replaced it with a unit that I could hook my iPod up to. Been sitting ion the shelf since then.

If anyone is interested, send me a PM.
__________________
my {ride} - {mi ssk: review, diy} - {mi lw cp: review, diy} - {foglight install} - {painted emblem: experiment, diy}

jpmck03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 06:32 AM   #17
rep1158
 
Drives: 2010 yaris 3 door stick
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: allentown, pa
Posts: 11
hi

how much for the unit?
rep1158 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ALL-NEW PRODUCT LINE: DISC ITALIA ROTORS and PADS kargoboy YarisUniverse 11 01-20-2009 05:43 PM
Factory Stereo and Amplifier - can I do this? vodkalush In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm) 18 09-22-2006 11:06 PM
How to replace factory stereo with head unit? ebowers83 In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm) 2 09-12-2006 08:14 AM
Factory Stereo and Audio kralmrax In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm) 2 01-14-2006 02:06 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:04 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.