Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm)
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-18-2010, 09:52 PM   #1
Lil Abner
 
Drives: 2009 3dr LB Manual
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Dublin, Ohio
Posts: 412
Bypass Immobilizer?

I've been reading the forums, and haven't found a solid answer. My 2009 LB has the factory keyless with immobilizer. Yeah, it's great, but I don't want it. I have a high-end Viper system I'm going to be installing to replace the factory. Being in Michigan, the 1-mile range and remote start is handy (yes, even on my 5-spd), which needs to bypass the immobilizer. And before anyone asks, I also install a custom neutral safety switch just to be safe!

Question is, if I remove the factory alarm module, will the immobilizer/transponder also be bypassed? Or will I need to purchase a transponder bypass kit? Or can I bypass it without an add-on? My mom Camry, I took a key, wrapped it with 8 coils, then wrapped around the ignition, and it worked. Some other wires, but that's the basic idea.

Any help is greatly appreciated.
Lil Abner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 11:34 PM   #2
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 11,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lil Abner View Post
I've been reading the forums, and haven't found a solid answer. My 2009 LB has the factory keyless with immobilizer. Yeah, it's great, but I don't want it. I have a high-end Viper system I'm going to be installing to replace the factory. Being in Michigan, the 1-mile range and remote start is handy (yes, even on my 5-spd), which needs to bypass the immobilizer. And before anyone asks, I also install a custom neutral safety switch just to be safe!

Question is, if I remove the factory alarm module, will the immobilizer/transponder also be bypassed? Or will I need to purchase a transponder bypass kit? Or can I bypass it without an add-on? My mom Camry, I took a key, wrapped it with 8 coils, then wrapped around the ignition, and it worked. Some other wires, but that's the basic idea.

Any help is greatly appreciated.
The ECM needs to see the transponder to allow the car to start, so to eliminate it you either need to do the "bury a key in the dash" or use a Fortin bypass module.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 07:00 AM   #3
Lil Abner
 
Drives: 2009 3dr LB Manual
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Dublin, Ohio
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTScott View Post
The ECM needs to see the transponder to allow the car to start, so to eliminate it you either need to do the "bury a key in the dash" or use a Fortin bypass module.
ECM, crap. I was hoping you wouldn't say that. Thanks for your quick response CTScott!
Lil Abner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 09:05 PM   #4
Palmer812
 
Drives: 2010 Meteorite Metallic LB
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 251
Which Viper alarm do you have? The new ones are made to work with manual transmissions. No special parts needed. If your car is like mine it came with 3 keys so when I do my remote start I am going to do the key in a box route because it is cheaper and I will still have 2 keys left.
Palmer812 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 09:11 PM   #5
Lil Abner
 
Drives: 2009 3dr LB Manual
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Dublin, Ohio
Posts: 412
Palmer812, I don't remember which Viper I have. I purchased it 6 years ago to replace my Clifford 8000. It's one of the 2-way pager ones, blue remote, all the bells and whistles. Mine is too old for the manual transmission thing, so I just have my own safety switch that I'll wire in place. I also only got 2 transponder keys with mine, so one will probably be going under the dash for a bypass. The other one will be put in my safe. Hopefully I can get it installed next week along with my other goodies.
Lil Abner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to throttle body coolant bypass? kliwonz DIY / Maintenance / Service 0 05-24-2010 12:50 PM
Eclipse AVN4430 Video Bypass rexseesyou DIY / Maintenance / Service 3 04-15-2010 04:59 PM
Fuse bypass on Fog Lights lablancjc DIY / Maintenance / Service 19 02-03-2010 07:38 AM
Video bypass? rexseesyou In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm) 11 09-07-2009 10:45 AM
After-the-fact engine immobilizer? Echostatic In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm) 1 08-01-2007 10:03 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:24 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.