Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > Performance Modifications
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-29-2006, 12:52 AM   #1
ASHRAF
Scubie Du
 
Drives: '10 SWP STi/'09 Escalade
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 350
Send a message via AIM to ASHRAF Send a message via MSN to ASHRAF Send a message via Yahoo to ASHRAF Send a message via Skype™ to ASHRAF
if i am thinking about an engine swap - from 1.3 to 1.5 - please help

hi there

when i bought my yaris, i wasn't thinking about performance at all

but now i started to think about and there is no parts for the 1.3

so if i think about the engine swap to 1.5L

how much will it cost me (roughly speaking)

and what parts other than the engine have to be changed?

regards,
Ashraf
ASHRAF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 01:19 AM   #2
Tamago
Start another Oil Thread!
 
Tamago's Avatar
 
Drives: ZZW30
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 4,942
Send a message via AIM to Tamago Send a message via Yahoo to Tamago
you'd need ECU for sure..

i say go Diesel D4D
Tamago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 01:53 AM   #3
PetersRedYaris
 
PetersRedYaris's Avatar
 
Drives: 2005 Scion xB
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: The Black Hills of South Dakota
Posts: 1,061
Diesel for sure!
PetersRedYaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 03:29 AM   #4
ASHRAF
Scubie Du
 
Drives: '10 SWP STi/'09 Escalade
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 350
Send a message via AIM to ASHRAF Send a message via MSN to ASHRAF Send a message via Yahoo to ASHRAF Send a message via Skype™ to ASHRAF
why diesel?

and please some bode tell me about the 1.5 swap price
ASHRAF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 07:38 AM   #5
eTiMaGo
vroom vroom
 
eTiMaGo's Avatar
 
Drives: lil red 5-door
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Posts: 7,735
Send a message via AIM to eTiMaGo Send a message via MSN to eTiMaGo Send a message via Yahoo to eTiMaGo Send a message via Skype™ to eTiMaGo
Diesel engine seems to have quite good performance and very low fuel consumption.

As for the engine swap, I really do not think anyone has done this one before, the engine itself should not be too expensive if you find one, but I am sure labour will not be cheap!
__________________
The price of freedom of religion, or of speech, or of the press, is that we must put up with a good deal of rubbish.
- Robert Jackson


Bye bye 1NZ...
eTiMaGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 09:19 AM   #6
Tamago
Start another Oil Thread!
 
Tamago's Avatar
 
Drives: ZZW30
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 4,942
Send a message via AIM to Tamago Send a message via Yahoo to Tamago
i can tell you this for sure:

you can do the swap in a day..

i know because i've done it myself on the xA.
Tamago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 01:37 PM   #7
ASHRAF
Scubie Du
 
Drives: '10 SWP STi/'09 Escalade
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 350
Send a message via AIM to ASHRAF Send a message via MSN to ASHRAF Send a message via Yahoo to ASHRAF Send a message via Skype™ to ASHRAF
so what are the suggestion

does the diesel engine have good accessories for it

the 1.5 seems to have every thing u think u wanna change
ASHRAF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 02:03 PM   #8
d2dailly
Roar?
 
Drives: 07 White LB Yaris
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 185
Send a message via AIM to d2dailly
how much preformance are you expecting to get out of the car even if you go with the 1.5 the only upgrade that will make a real noticable upgrade in hp would be a turbo or supercharger and you wont wanna do that without upgraded internals and if you plan that plan on opening your wallet a little wider lol
d2dailly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 10:58 PM   #9
ASHRAF
Scubie Du
 
Drives: '10 SWP STi/'09 Escalade
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 350
Send a message via AIM to ASHRAF Send a message via MSN to ASHRAF Send a message via Yahoo to ASHRAF Send a message via Skype™ to ASHRAF
I think i will just stay with the 1.3L after all, and modify the ext. & int. only

thanks guys for the advice
ASHRAF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2006, 09:56 AM   #10
cleong
Parallel Parking Pro
 
cleong's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris 1.5 Manual
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 593
Yes, do that, 200cc of displacement gives a bit more grunt but not so much that it is worth the trouble. I have the 1NZ-FE and the engine is pretty dull in the workmanlike way with which it goes about its business. Its smooth but its got little by way of character. Its really not a performance-tuned engine, so you're not gaining so much more.

What I've heard about the 1.3 is that it isn't such a bad engine, you just need to rev it more to get to the power, and the good thing is, it likes to rev. The lower fuel consumption also helps make it easier for you to open the taps.
cleong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2006, 02:12 PM   #11
Katana
 
Katana's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris LB 1.3lt 06
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Under the hood!
Posts: 1,124
Send a message via MSN to Katana Send a message via Yahoo to Katana
+1 from me!

Personnally, if my car(1.3lt) was totally mine, I would add a turbocharger!
Katana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 10:05 PM   #12
DollaZo
 
DollaZo's Avatar
 
Drives: Toyota Yaris YRS
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 79
If I was to even atempt and engine swap I would try the 1.8L corrola engine... 100kw in such a small little car that weighs nothing.
__________________
DollaZo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 11:03 PM   #13
mikeukrainetz
 
mikeukrainetz's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 Toyota Yaris
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 564
just out of curiosity from reading over this thread;
ALL diesel engines which leave the factory, never mind the model seem to be extremely de-tuned. Ive seen what must be a hundred different engine tuners, parts etc for diesels which increase the ouput by ridiculous amounts. Anybody think this would hold true even on the little D4D? If its running at even the same power output (or even slightly less) would it not be possible to 'tune' it per se with the same power percentage increases as larger diesels?
Keep in mind Ive never owned, run, or worked on diesels.
mikeukrainetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 05:39 AM   #14
eTiMaGo
vroom vroom
 
eTiMaGo's Avatar
 
Drives: lil red 5-door
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Posts: 7,735
Send a message via AIM to eTiMaGo Send a message via MSN to eTiMaGo Send a message via Yahoo to eTiMaGo Send a message via Skype™ to eTiMaGo
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeukrainetz View Post
just out of curiosity from reading over this thread;
ALL diesel engines which leave the factory, never mind the model seem to be extremely de-tuned. Ive seen what must be a hundred different engine tuners, parts etc for diesels which increase the ouput by ridiculous amounts. Anybody think this would hold true even on the little D4D? If its running at even the same power output (or even slightly less) would it not be possible to 'tune' it per se with the same power percentage increases as larger diesels?
Keep in mind Ive never owned, run, or worked on diesels.
Diesels are very weird little things.... no throttle per se, no sparkplugs, and a lot of low end torque... I'm pretty sure there is a reason they are factory de-tuned, most likely to do with emissions or mileage. But yes, it is not very difficult to see some big gains, especially as the motors are usually built quite tough. Turbos also show big improvements, but I am not sure how complex it is to add a turbo to a non turbo diesel engine.

Definitely something for our european brethren to mess around with
__________________
The price of freedom of religion, or of speech, or of the press, is that we must put up with a good deal of rubbish.
- Robert Jackson


Bye bye 1NZ...
eTiMaGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 01:56 PM   #15
mikeukrainetz
 
mikeukrainetz's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 Toyota Yaris
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 564
theres a guy here, cant remember the name of the shop but I did the drawings for his building.. anyway, he builds turbos for diesels, even has some patents on some of his parts. He has a Chev. 4x4 pushing 1000lbs out the wheels and about 450hp. Aparrently according to this guy and others Ive heard using diesel turbos on gas engines is common, perform better and last longer. I cant imagine there would be much more complication adding the turbo to a diesel...
All I could picture when the D4D came up was a Yaris pushing like 150hp and 500lbs/ft.
mikeukrainetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 02:40 PM   #16
eTiMaGo
vroom vroom
 
eTiMaGo's Avatar
 
Drives: lil red 5-door
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Posts: 7,735
Send a message via AIM to eTiMaGo Send a message via MSN to eTiMaGo Send a message via Yahoo to eTiMaGo Send a message via Skype™ to eTiMaGo
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeukrainetz View Post
complication adding the turbo to a diesel...
All I could picture when the D4D came up was a Yaris pushing like 150hp and 500lbs/ft.
It could climb up a vertical wall! (well, almost)

But with the right gear ratios that could actually be a real monster for drag racing
__________________
The price of freedom of religion, or of speech, or of the press, is that we must put up with a good deal of rubbish.
- Robert Jackson


Bye bye 1NZ...
eTiMaGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Engine Swap Nutzoids Performance Modifications 42 10-01-2007 06:20 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:34 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.