Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Second Generation Toyota Yaris Main Rooms > General Yaris / Vitz Discussion
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-13-2011, 08:24 AM   #1
bentjazz
 
Drives: 2010 Yaris
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 186
Can I switch from manual locks/windows to power locks/windows

Hi guys and gals,

I bought my Yaris with manual everything, and wish I had power locks and windows. Is there any way to install power everything, and how much would this cost to do or to have someone install for me?
Thank you.
bentjazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 01:31 AM   #2
caineroad
 
caineroad's Avatar
 
Drives: 06 Yaris HB CE
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 503
lol saving some money initially now you are spending more on parts and labour...

I always get the power options for my cars no matter what
caineroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 09:28 AM   #3
echaru
PsychMobile
 
echaru's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 Yaris 5Dr Blazing Blue
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ohioan
Posts: 60
Be nice dude. Some people don't have the luxury of getting the exact car they want because it's not on the lot.

When I got my Yaris, it was the only blue 5dr in there. There's no power option at all. I was thinking of installing power door and window myself, but risk breaking some stuff is not worth it for me.

I think the stealership can install the power stuff for you. Local mechanics can do it too, but I don't think there are that many mechanics who have experience with Yaris.

Funny thing, we are both in Ohio and we both bought the same year Yaris.
echaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 05:10 AM   #4
bentjazz
 
Drives: 2010 Yaris
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 186
Yeah, be nice Caineroad. You dadgum Canadians....

Echaru, I'm pretty much happy with my purchase except for the fact that I wanted a 5 door and power package, but bought my Toyota during the end-of-the-year Toyotathon 2010. Other than that, I'm pretty happy with my 3 door. My Yaris is black, but would have preferred Metallic Silver. At the end of the day, I'm a pretty simple driver. I don't put a lot of miles on a car/year, so an auto is just a means to an end from point A to point B. As long as that sucker is reliable, which for me is the most important factor in a car, then I'm happy....
bentjazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 02:07 PM   #5
PROX4x4
1.5 or 2.5 both=0-60 in 8
 
Drives: 08 Toyota Yaris
Join Date: May 2011
Location: CO
Posts: 89
Send a message via Skype™ to PROX4x4
I have a 08 3dr Yaris and planning to install power door locks, they are around $40 to buy and if you have some car electrical knowledge and stuff you can easily install it your self.
There is a kit that converts the windows to automatic also but that one might not worth trying.
Here is the link for the automatic door locks:
http://www.amazon.com/Universal-Cent...pd_sim_sbs_e_3
__________________
PROX4x4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 07:57 PM   #6
romram
 
Drives: yaris hatchback
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: CT
Posts: 54
simple advise,
just stay with manual on locks & windows if you bought the car that way.
getting after markets are not that good, specially the motors for locks/windows. after sometime, you will end up changing the motors.
OEM are far better than replacement/aftermarket.




Quote:
Originally Posted by bentjazz View Post
Hi guys and gals,

I bought my Yaris with manual everything, and wish I had power locks and windows. Is there any way to install power everything, and how much would this cost to do or to have someone install for me?
Thank you.
romram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 06:05 PM   #7
Sir A.Y. Atoyot
 
Sir A.Y. Atoyot's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 5-door
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Surrey, BC Canada
Posts: 177
Aftermarket kits are cheap junk, as far as I've seen.

The wiring for the factory stuff is more complex than you might think. The most practical way to convert would probably be to find a junk car and strip all the related parts and wiring harnesses out. Or, trade the car on one that's set up the way you like.
Sir A.Y. Atoyot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 03:35 PM   #8
bentjazz
 
Drives: 2010 Yaris
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 186
I think I'll take romram's advice and stick with what I have. Thanks guys....
bentjazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When will the Yaris hit the showrooms at dealers? Petrolhead New YARIS Purchase Forum 181 11-28-2011 08:03 AM
dallas area manual w/ power package thatboyjer Southwest 3 08-13-2009 04:40 PM
power locks and whatnot thatboyjer In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm) 9 07-31-2007 11:45 PM
Well seems the F&*king Power Package with Manual is impossible in the States(Hatch) gaffo General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 28 07-15-2007 07:55 PM
How many 5-speed manual with power package? abcando General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 11 08-01-2006 09:54 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:00 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.