Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > Performance Modifications
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-21-2015, 07:50 PM   #1
ArmstrongRacing
Data doesn't lie
 
ArmstrongRacing's Avatar
 
Drives: That Scrappy 2zrVios
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: San Diego
Posts: 629
First US 2ZR-FE Yaris swap gains exposure

Some of you may know already about how the Norcal Vitz/Vios club got together over a couple weekends to complete a T-Sport of our own.

Heres the article!:

http://www.subcompactculture.com/201....html?m=1#more

Here is the DIY:

http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/sho...256#post775256

Last edited by ArmstrongRacing; 01-15-2016 at 12:02 AM.
ArmstrongRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2015, 09:26 PM   #2
KTS
 
KTS's Avatar
 
Drives: Vitz RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Trinidad and Tobago
Posts: 272
real nice. congrats to the team that completed the job.
I have one question,
"The car's builder, Tom Armstrong, of Armstrong Racing, said the swap was literally a plug and play affair"
I assume this means the motor goes in bolt for bolt, however what about the ecu and gearbox aspect? Does the 1nz gearbox bolt to the 2zr engine or is the 2zr gearbox required?
Again great job. I have been considering selling my s/c to do this swap and been trying to gather as much info as possible.
KTS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2015, 09:41 PM   #3
ArmstrongRacing
Data doesn't lie
 
ArmstrongRacing's Avatar
 
Drives: That Scrappy 2zrVios
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: San Diego
Posts: 629
Thanks for the support!

Because this project was a auto > manual trans conversion also, we used the Xd manual trans and axles. Ive heard from many sources that the 1nz and 2zr bell housings are compatible, but I wont have a final answer untill I source another 2zr for my personal car.

The ECU came from the Xd also.
ArmstrongRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2015, 05:10 AM   #4
LTHatch
 
Drives: 2013 Yaris Hatchback L
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Newark NJ
Posts: 229
Very nice! Any chance you can give us a full parts list for the swap?
LTHatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2015, 06:37 AM   #5
KTS
 
KTS's Avatar
 
Drives: Vitz RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Trinidad and Tobago
Posts: 272
Thanks armstrongRacing. Keep the info on the swap coming in.
KTS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2015, 12:01 PM   #6
aspro
 
Drives: 2011 Yaris RS 5 door 5 spd
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 449
That is awesome. Man, the yaris you used for the swap looks exactly like my car but with less doors.

If i can manage to cook my engine, i would so go for the 2zr swap.
__________________

TRD sway bar, h&r coilovers, tanabe strut tower bar, konig feather, bfg sport comp 2, MI intake manifold, aem cai, dc header, trd catback, MI crank pulley, trd short shift kit, phillips hid kit, morimoto led fogs, parrot navi indash, alpine 6.5 speakers, alpine amp, alpine reverse camera, led interior lights, thule roof racks, netz badges...
aspro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2015, 12:35 PM   #7
tmontague
 
tmontague's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 2zr swapped Vios M/T
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hamilton Ont.
Posts: 2,230
This is great. I'm curious as to all the parts needed to make it work. It'd be nice if you could just swap the engine and keep the transmission.

Are all of the connectors compatible? ie: the fuel injectors etc
__________________
I like to drive a slow car fast...
tmontague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2015, 12:59 PM   #8
ArmstrongRacing
Data doesn't lie
 
ArmstrongRacing's Avatar
 
Drives: That Scrappy 2zrVios
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: San Diego
Posts: 629
Quote:
Originally Posted by LTHatch View Post
Very nice! Any chance you can give us a full parts list for the swap?
Untill I know for sure if we can/cannot use the Yaris transmission, this list may need future modification. I have a spare Yaris trans already, Im currently attempting to source another 2zr for some r&d.

1) Salvaged 2zr-fe from scion Xd~$1500. This must be a complete engine with all accesories due to the updated drive belt system. Manifolds, harness.

2) Fuel injection hose from Xd. ~$60 (its longer), air conditioning compressor lines. ~$130 (compressor specific, but attatch to the lines in the car with no modifications).

3) Passenger side engine mount from Xd. ~$170

4) ECU from Scion Xd. ~$130 (depending on your car, you will need a immobilizer or non-immobilizer version....and if you have immobilizer keys will need to be registered).

5) Xd OEM airbox or intake with MAF sensor. ~$300 (updated style) and exhaust mid-pipe. ~$500-600 (larger diameter and correct cats).

6) Xd yaw rate sensor and wiring. ~$200 (A check engine light will be present due to the 2zr's traction control system)

So plan on roughly $2800 for parts, unless you buy a scion Xd as a donor vehicle.

When you power up the 2zr for the first time, you will get a check engine light. That code will point you to the wire change needed. ��

Last edited by ArmstrongRacing; 12-27-2015 at 03:30 PM.
ArmstrongRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2015, 01:03 PM   #9
ArmstrongRacing
Data doesn't lie
 
ArmstrongRacing's Avatar
 
Drives: That Scrappy 2zrVios
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: San Diego
Posts: 629
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmontague View Post
Are all of the connectors compatible? ie: the fuel injectors etc
Yes, the 2zr engine harness plugs into the fuse box with no modification.
ArmstrongRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2015, 01:28 PM   #10
enviri
 
enviri's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Yaris
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: CT
Posts: 1,431
As I have reasonable certainty regardeing 1nz tranny bolting on the 2zr, I recall during our groupchats when the swap was done a few months back, if you do go the 2zr tranny route, the speedo is being read from the abs rather than the 1nz tranny's speed sensor also?
__________________
enviri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2015, 01:45 PM   #11
JimKellyfan
 
JimKellyfan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Yaris Sedan
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: the good Carolina
Posts: 167
That is expletive awesome. Great work !
In my driving styles and things I have done so far to my Yar, I would love to do this when I can afford to.
Again, great stuff and congrats.
__________________
2010 Yaris sedan, TRD CAT back (sport muffler only, really), OBX header (relocated front AF sensor to front pipe), OBX throttle plate spacer, K&N filter (in stock air box-for now), TRD struts and shocks, Mexico Rough Road Springs x 4, new Yota sway bar links front, slotted/drilled rotors and Maxx brakes front, Valvoline synthetic brake fluid, 3M undercoated, 16" Konig Feathers Uniroyal Tiger Paw GTZ Tires
TRD rear sway bar, 4 GT Spec bars including: front strut brace 2 point, 4 point ladder brace, mid chassis brace and rear lower tie brace, rear hitch, Firestik/Cobra CB setup
JimKellyfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2015, 01:46 PM   #12
ArmstrongRacing
Data doesn't lie
 
ArmstrongRacing's Avatar
 
Drives: That Scrappy 2zrVios
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: San Diego
Posts: 629
Quote:
Originally Posted by enviri View Post
As I have reasonable certainty regardeing 1nz tranny bolting on the 2zr.......... if you do go the 2zr tranny route, the speedo is being read from the abs rather than the 1nz tranny's speed sensor also?
This is correct. The 2zr trans has no speed sensor, the Xd gets speed input from the abs module. We had to run a wire from the abs module to the fuse box juction to get our speedo to work.

This step is not needed if the Yaris trans works, thats why I didnt add it to the list.
ArmstrongRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2015, 01:58 PM   #13
LTHatch
 
Drives: 2013 Yaris Hatchback L
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Newark NJ
Posts: 229
Thank you very much for the information, hows the acceleration with the 2zr(0-60)? You have quite a few videos on your youtube page, that's of the 2zr Yaris?
LTHatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2015, 02:11 PM   #14
ArmstrongRacing
Data doesn't lie
 
ArmstrongRacing's Avatar
 
Drives: That Scrappy 2zrVios
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: San Diego
Posts: 629
Quote:
Originally Posted by LTHatch View Post
...hows the acceleration with the 2zr(0-60)?
....You have quite a few videos on your youtube page, that's of the 2zr Yaris?
The 2zr in stock form feels similar to my complete bolt-on 1nz...but when you need to climb a hill or overtake a car you dont have to downshift from 5th. The lightweight Yaris doesnt need a ton of power, and the 2zr with all of the bolt-ons gets up to ~148hp.

My ArmstrongRacing Yaris still has the 1nz, as I am restricted by SCCA/GTA class rules....untill I find another 2zr! ��
ArmstrongRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2015, 02:34 PM   #15
tmontague
 
tmontague's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 2zr swapped Vios M/T
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hamilton Ont.
Posts: 2,230
I'm a bit confused regarding the immobilizer. My Yaris has an immobilizer, so I'd need a 2zr with an immobilizer for it to work? I'm assuming that you are talking about the keys that need to be reprogrammed for the 2zr immobilizer as they are originally for the 1nz ECU? Has anyone had their keys reprogrammed for another ECU and if so what is a rough cost look like?
__________________
I like to drive a slow car fast...
tmontague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2015, 03:30 PM   #16
ArmstrongRacing
Data doesn't lie
 
ArmstrongRacing's Avatar
 
Drives: That Scrappy 2zrVios
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: San Diego
Posts: 629
The immobilizer function is a relationship between the car(yaris), the Ecm(Xd 2zr), and keys. I dont know if the Xd 2zr ecm can be programed to work with the yaris immobilizer module, or if a Xd module and keys are needed....that is all uncharted teritory as of now.

I work at the dealership and we normaly charge ~$100 to cut and program keys.
ArmstrongRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2015, 03:59 PM   #17
tmontague
 
tmontague's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 2zr swapped Vios M/T
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hamilton Ont.
Posts: 2,230
I'm assuming that your Yaris has no immobilizer?

I figured that if some one had an immobilizer and wanted to swap to a 2zr than you'd just need to get the immobilizer 2zr, the matching ECU and then just reprogram the Yaris keys to match the new ECU.
__________________
I like to drive a slow car fast...
tmontague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2015, 04:21 PM   #18
ArmstrongRacing
Data doesn't lie
 
ArmstrongRacing's Avatar
 
Drives: That Scrappy 2zrVios
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: San Diego
Posts: 629
Yes, my car has no (Toyota)immobilizer. I have an alarm and a secret kill switch.

To know for sure about the immobilizer, we need a 2zr swap to test this on.....and as of now there is only this one in the US. So the question is....

HOW CAN I MAKE THIS SWAP MORE APPEALING AND ACCESABLE TO EVERYONE?
ArmstrongRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Toyota Hybrid R Shows Its Yaris Roots MadMax General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 0 10-10-2013 06:14 PM
2012 Yaris at SEMA Jason@SportsCar Third Gen Yaris General Discussion 5 09-23-2013 03:55 AM
New Yaris race car Jason@SportsCar Tracking, Racing, Auto-X Forum 83 11-01-2012 02:32 PM
NEWS: TOYOTA REVEALS ALL-NEW YARIS SEDAN AT 2006 LOS ANGELES AUTO SHOW VitzBoy General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 5 09-05-2010 08:53 PM
2007 Yaris Pricing Info ! YarisBueller New YARIS Purchase Forum 104 06-24-2009 04:54 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:54 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.