Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > Performance Modifications
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-25-2016, 10:45 PM   #73
ArmstrongRacing
Data doesn't lie
 
ArmstrongRacing's Avatar
 
Drives: That Scrappy 2zrVios
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: San Diego
Posts: 596
For those of you with a auto transmission: If you use a Xd harness you won't need this step. If you used the Corolla harness pin#57 needs to be moved to #58. This is for the Sl/Slu+ solenoid.
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg image.jpeg (303.9 KB, 326 views)
ArmstrongRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2016, 11:40 PM   #74
ArmstrongRacing
Data doesn't lie
 
ArmstrongRacing's Avatar
 
Drives: That Scrappy 2zrVios
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: San Diego
Posts: 596
This is the lock on the main harness connector(C20). You have to pop this grey tab out about 1mm before you can release the pins.
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg image.jpeg (301.6 KB, 323 views)
ArmstrongRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2016, 11:45 PM   #75
ArmstrongRacing
Data doesn't lie
 
ArmstrongRacing's Avatar
 
Drives: That Scrappy 2zrVios
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: San Diego
Posts: 596
Next you need to slide a small pin into the pin release hole. Pull on the white #57 wire and wiggle a bit until it slides out.
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg image.jpeg (284.4 KB, 324 views)
ArmstrongRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2016, 11:54 PM   #76
ArmstrongRacing
Data doesn't lie
 
ArmstrongRacing's Avatar
 
Drives: That Scrappy 2zrVios
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: San Diego
Posts: 596
Pop out the little rubber seal in pin location #58, and slide the wire in until it clicks. Install the rubber seal back into #57, then push the grey lock tab back in.

FYI: This pin removal/install procedure is the same for the ABS module plug, in case you used a Xd trans with no speed sensor.
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg image.jpeg (272.2 KB, 324 views)
ArmstrongRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2016, 11:42 PM   #77
ArmstrongRacing
Data doesn't lie
 
ArmstrongRacing's Avatar
 
Drives: That Scrappy 2zrVios
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: San Diego
Posts: 596
This is the last of the auto trans related wiring. Because the Corolla/Xd have different ground circuits than the Yaris for the Sl solenoid, you need to open the trans harness about 8" from the plug and cut the blue wire at pin #9. Pull the wire out of the harness while still connected to the connector and attatch a eyelet, the ground the wire to the trans case here.
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg image.jpeg (266.9 KB, 305 views)
ArmstrongRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2016, 11:55 PM   #78
ArmstrongRacing
Data doesn't lie
 
ArmstrongRacing's Avatar
 
Drives: That Scrappy 2zrVios
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: San Diego
Posts: 596
Now that all the wiring is complete, lets be sure the ECM is happy........yep, time to charge the a/c and take it for a drive...
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg image.jpeg (99.7 KB, 305 views)
ArmstrongRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2016, 05:14 AM   #79
ilikerice
 
ilikerice's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 black yaris
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: savannah, ga
Posts: 2,879
YAAAAAY!

Congrats....

Only reason I am upset is because you have a CamCon that you were going to tune with the 1nz and share a mild tune with me.................
__________________
-Derrick-
"Racing is important to men who do it well. When you're racing... It's life. Anything that happens before or after, is just waiting."
ilikerice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2016, 11:40 AM   #80
ArmstrongRacing
Data doesn't lie
 
ArmstrongRacing's Avatar
 
Drives: That Scrappy 2zrVios
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: San Diego
Posts: 596
Thanks man.

Haha, Im sorry about the tune.....I never had a chance to install the Camcon either, life threw me a lemon and I had to make a batch of oh-so-sweet lemonade!

On a side note.....holy crap this car is a BLAST!

Last edited by ArmstrongRacing; 01-28-2016 at 12:43 PM.
ArmstrongRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2016, 12:42 PM   #81
tmontague
 
tmontague's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 2zr swapped Vios M/T
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hamilton Ont.
Posts: 2,168
so was the faulty trans ground the reaosn for the previous CEL that was regarding the torque converter?
__________________
I like to drive a slow car fast...
tmontague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2016, 01:14 PM   #82
ArmstrongRacing
Data doesn't lie
 
ArmstrongRacing's Avatar
 
Drives: That Scrappy 2zrVios
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: San Diego
Posts: 596
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmontague View Post
so was the faulty trans ground the reaosn for the previous CEL that was regarding the torque converter?
It wasnt a faulty ground, just a difference in how the Corolla/xd is wired inside the transmission valvebody...2 wire changes and done.
ArmstrongRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2016, 03:11 PM   #83
tmontague
 
tmontague's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 2zr swapped Vios M/T
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hamilton Ont.
Posts: 2,168
I see, but that wire you just grounded above was the reason for the torque converter cel?
__________________
I like to drive a slow car fast...
tmontague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2016, 05:03 PM   #84
ArmstrongRacing
Data doesn't lie
 
ArmstrongRacing's Avatar
 
Drives: That Scrappy 2zrVios
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: San Diego
Posts: 596
That's correct
ArmstrongRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2016, 06:42 PM   #85
ern-diz
 
ern-diz's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Liftback
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: CA all day
Posts: 3,114
Why, oh why, are you holding out on the first start and test drive vid!
ern-diz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2016, 12:21 AM   #86
ArmstrongRacing
Data doesn't lie
 
ArmstrongRacing's Avatar
 
Drives: That Scrappy 2zrVios
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: San Diego
Posts: 596
Ive edited the videos together up to this point, I need to do a test drive video along with some footage of this weekends autocross.
ArmstrongRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2016, 10:50 AM   #87
aspro
 
Drives: 2011 Yaris RS 5 door 5 spd
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 449
Im curious to see your time differences in autocross between the 1nz and 2zr... Ill be watching this closely. Good job btw, i bet a lot of people have been putting diesel fuel in there yaris' to justify an engine swap... Or maybe thats just me. :p
__________________

TRD sway bar, h&r coilovers, tanabe strut tower bar, konig feather, bfg sport comp 2, MI intake manifold, aem cai, dc header, trd catback, MI crank pulley, trd short shift kit, phillips hid kit, morimoto led fogs, parrot navi indash, alpine 6.5 speakers, alpine amp, alpine reverse camera, led interior lights, thule roof racks, netz badges...
aspro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2016, 12:15 PM   #88
tmontague
 
tmontague's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 2zr swapped Vios M/T
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hamilton Ont.
Posts: 2,168
Quote:
Originally Posted by aspro View Post
i bet a lot of people have been putting diesel fuel in there yaris' to justify an engine swap... Or maybe thats just me. :p
__________________
I like to drive a slow car fast...
tmontague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2016, 02:15 PM   #89
invader166
Pumpman
 
Drives: 2018 Mazda 3 GT Sport
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 432
I wonder...is there a big weight difference between the 2 engines?
__________________
Also drives: 2017 Kia Soul EX+

"I would rather loose by a mile in a car I built myself, then win by an inch in a car that was built for me." - Moog
invader166 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2016, 03:40 PM   #90
ArmstrongRacing
Data doesn't lie
 
ArmstrongRacing's Avatar
 
Drives: That Scrappy 2zrVios
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: San Diego
Posts: 596
On every engine Ive owned Ive had one of these guys. It never hurts to monitor your oil pressure especially when you push the engine like we do. This is a decent quality electronic gauge with a sender(not the nylon tube). Reasonably priced at $84. I normally remove the stock "dummy light" oil pressure switch and install the gauge sensor in that port. You'll also need Auto Meter adaptor #2269 because the block port is BSPT vs most oil pressure senders are NPT.
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg image.jpeg (236.7 KB, 264 views)

Last edited by ArmstrongRacing; 01-30-2016 at 01:12 AM.
ArmstrongRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
unusual engine swap CoryM Performance Modifications 26 10-09-2015 12:17 AM
***How to Choose an Exhaust System*** Hussain-Vtec Performance Modifications 16 03-16-2014 08:02 AM
engine swap djhuddy2442 Performance Modifications 6 04-11-2013 01:05 AM
Boost Gets U Laid eh? Count me In yaris2010RS Forced Induction Forum 128 02-02-2013 05:57 PM
Scion/Yaris engine swap mrrock Performance Modifications 1 03-02-2011 07:56 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:18 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.