Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > Performance Modifications
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-20-2017, 03:59 AM   #1
rabbito
 
rabbito's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Toyota Yaris Sedan (Vios)
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Thailand
Posts: 291
Successful 1ZZ Throttle Body Swap

last time i failed to put 1zz throttle body so i took it to the custom shop where i can fit exact diameter and length of the intake/coolant hoses..the owners a professional racer at the track and i think he did a great job..here are some steps..
1. disconnect and took off the battery (took off the battery to replace the old coolant hoses and replace them with longer ones)
2. took off the old throttle body and put the 1zz throttle body with spacer (use gasket maker/sealant)
3. take off the stock body plastic intake and replace them with 3" pipe with coupler 2.5" and 2" that fits perfectly on the stock box
4. start the car and wait about 5-10 min., car will have high idle for about 5 min. and drop down to 600-700rpm.

the blue U tube attached to intake it just a cosmetic thing 😂

i recently upgraded to piggyback ecu with E85 fuel injection but had slight problem with starting(i think due to advanced timing too), with 1zz tb it starts much smoother and faster.

current mod: pulley, header, center pipe, 1jz injector with e85 plugs, piggyback ecu with advance timing and fuel injection control, rs vvti solenoid and maf sensor, ngk iridium plugs
suspension: performance spring and shock with 1.5" drop, project mu brake pads with hankook v2 tires, front strut, rear sway, cabin mid floor and rear strut bars

Pro: just like everyone said, i think you get couple hp from this modification..rpm rises much much faster..mid to high end is just beautiful, i can feel the smooth powerband all the way from 3,000 to redline..

Con: some people say they feel like the throttle stays open..it doesnt stay open, there are a lot of air just coming in haha, there is a slight second where it feels like the throttle body stays open..look at the throttle body comparison i did below...1zz tb's 60mm which is pretty huge..

p.s: i cleaned the original tb after 30,000km which had sludges in the back of tb...cleaned them and put them back on..after 10,000km i have dirty tb again but not too much..i put the breather on so we will see what happens..

please comment or fix me if i am wrong, thank you and enjoy! 😃😃😃😃



Sent from my SM-N920C using Tapatalk
__________________
Brain: ATD E85 Timing Advance ECU
Engine: 1JZ Injectors, Header, Center Pipe, K&N Drop In, E85 Injector Converter
Suspension: Hankook Tires, Performance OEM replacement Shocks & Springs F: 1.5 B: 1.4, Mu Spec brake pads, Front tower & Rear sway bars, Rays nut & lock
Electric: Volt Stablizer & Multi gauge obd2
Cosmetic: Toyota red emblem

Last edited by rabbito; 02-20-2017 at 04:50 AM.
rabbito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2017, 08:53 AM   #2
Fluxtasy
feed my pet
 
Fluxtasy's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris Sedan '10
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 92
nice and how much did that coupler with tubes cost?
Fluxtasy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2017, 08:59 AM   #3
rabbito
 
rabbito's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Toyota Yaris Sedan (Vios)
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Thailand
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fluxtasy View Post
nice and how much did that coupler with tubes cost?
everything about $80 USD
2 coupler, 1 meter coolant hose and metal intake pipe..
$80 USD for 1zz throttle body...
about $160 USD total...few horses and torque with throttle response = its worth it..

Sent from my SM-N920C using Tapatalk
__________________
Brain: ATD E85 Timing Advance ECU
Engine: 1JZ Injectors, Header, Center Pipe, K&N Drop In, E85 Injector Converter
Suspension: Hankook Tires, Performance OEM replacement Shocks & Springs F: 1.5 B: 1.4, Mu Spec brake pads, Front tower & Rear sway bars, Rays nut & lock
Electric: Volt Stablizer & Multi gauge obd2
Cosmetic: Toyota red emblem
rabbito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2017, 10:14 AM   #4
CrankyOldMan
2ZR swap. DO IT! Ask how!
 
CrankyOldMan's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 Meteoric Metallic HB
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 1,861
Wow, I really like that! I had to do some similar mods to get the 1ZZ TB on my Blitz supercharger.
CrankyOldMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2017, 04:04 PM   #5
Alain93
 
Drives: Yaris 12
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Florida
Posts: 38
Hi,
the 1ZZ TB dia. is 60 mm, but what is the 1NZ diameter of THE INTAKE MANIFOLD? is it equal or greater than 60 mm?

Last edited by Alain93; 03-15-2017 at 04:51 PM.
Alain93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2017, 04:33 PM   #6
MugenRep
iQ innovator & researcher
 
MugenRep's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 iQ
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 197
I managed to get a 1ZZ TB to install and work on my iQ. I melted the idle air adjustment screw adhesive, bolted it on, bypassed the coolant on the TB, let it idle for 30 mins and learn the TB. Then slowly adjusted the screw over a couple of hours. Worked perfect. No issued except a slightly lower idle in traffic at 500rpms. No issues otherwise.
MugenRep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2017, 04:45 PM   #7
MugenRep
iQ innovator & researcher
 
MugenRep's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 iQ
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 197
Also, has anybody tried porting the inlet of the 1ZZ TB? On my old Ep3s I sent both out to Maxbore to hone the inlet out to 64/65mm and taper down to the butterfly?

http://maxbore.com/
MugenRep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2017, 05:26 PM   #8
LTHatch
 
Drives: 2013 Yaris Hatchback L
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Newark NJ
Posts: 229
MugenRep: Does the 1.3 intake manifold have any room for light porting? Porting a stock manifold to match the 1zz tb for nearly free is a better deal then tb port. My apologies for sidetracking your question.
LTHatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2017, 05:39 PM   #9
MugenRep
iQ innovator & researcher
 
MugenRep's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 iQ
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by LTHatch View Post
MugenRep: Does the 1.3 intake manifold have any room for light porting? Porting a stock manifold to match the 1zz tb for nearly free is a better deal then tb port. My apologies for sidetracking your question.
There may be room for porting. It's a two-piece intake manifold. The TB attachment and primary runners are composite plastic and the secondary part of the intake manifold is cast aluminum. I'd assume the primary portion of the intake manifold could easily be ported out as it has an almost tapered rectangular-like shape with the 4 runners at the base and the TB mounted at the top point. There should be plenty of room in the inlet, dome area, and runners to port. Not sure how composite would port, but it could be worth a try to do so.
MugenRep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2017, 05:41 PM   #10
MugenRep
iQ innovator & researcher
 
MugenRep's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 iQ
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 197
Here's a picture for reference of the primary part of the intake manifold.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/2012-2013-20...9Wk0LK&vxp=mtr
MugenRep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2017, 05:45 PM   #11
MugenRep
iQ innovator & researcher
 
MugenRep's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 iQ
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 197
.....and secondary portion of the intake manifold here.
MugenRep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2017, 05:46 PM   #12
LTHatch
 
Drives: 2013 Yaris Hatchback L
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Newark NJ
Posts: 229
http://http://www.yarisworld.com/for...+throttle+body

Here is a link for reference, a few members here have done the IM port match and noticed a difference. How big was the difference between the 1zz TB and the stock manifold inlet?
LTHatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 12:07 PM   #13
rabbito
 
rabbito's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Toyota Yaris Sedan (Vios)
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Thailand
Posts: 291
they said flip the plastic oem intake tube around for fitment due to 1zz tb diameter being too wide..no, you cannot put it over some how..picture shows slight difference between 1nz and 1zz, in real life 1zz has much larger diameter

Sent from my SM-N920C using Tapatalk
__________________
Brain: ATD E85 Timing Advance ECU
Engine: 1JZ Injectors, Header, Center Pipe, K&N Drop In, E85 Injector Converter
Suspension: Hankook Tires, Performance OEM replacement Shocks & Springs F: 1.5 B: 1.4, Mu Spec brake pads, Front tower & Rear sway bars, Rays nut & lock
Electric: Volt Stablizer & Multi gauge obd2
Cosmetic: Toyota red emblem
rabbito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 04:28 AM   #14
Bigbenzzz
 
Drives: The ori 1nz-fe with some mod
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 2
1zz throttle body error

Hi all 1nz bro

I tried to swap my 1nz baby throttle body to 1zz adult throttle body, and I has been successfully install and start.
But...the engine check light on, the rpm of car cnt going up and max is 2k rpm.
Before install I has been wrongly pressed the butterfly plate.
Do my throttle body gone ?
I find the seller back but he donít want to return because I wrongly press the butterfly plate.

Please help, Iím stuck!!!!
Bigbenzzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 04:32 AM   #15
rabbito
 
rabbito's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Toyota Yaris Sedan (Vios)
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Thailand
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigbenzzz View Post
Hi all 1nz bro

I tried to swap my 1nz baby throttle body to 1zz adult throttle body, and I has been successfully install and start.
But...the engine check light on, the rpm of car cnt going up and max is 2k rpm.
Before install I has been wrongly pressed the butterfly plate.
Do my throttle body gone ?
I find the seller back but he donít want to return because I wrongly press the butterfly plate.

Please help, Iím stuck!!!!
you forgot to reset battery yo....take it off from negative battety terminal..put it back on after 5 min...it will idle upto 2000rpm and than come back down...

if you done all this and have issue, i dont think your tb isnt fully opening...well thats a problem right there man.....

Sent from my SM-J730GM using Tapatalk
__________________
Brain: ATD E85 Timing Advance ECU
Engine: 1JZ Injectors, Header, Center Pipe, K&N Drop In, E85 Injector Converter
Suspension: Hankook Tires, Performance OEM replacement Shocks & Springs F: 1.5 B: 1.4, Mu Spec brake pads, Front tower & Rear sway bars, Rays nut & lock
Electric: Volt Stablizer & Multi gauge obd2
Cosmetic: Toyota red emblem
rabbito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 02:36 AM   #16
Bigbenzzz
 
Drives: The ori 1nz-fe with some mod
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 2
no need computer reset???
i cnt do it bro, i already reset battery negative.
or my tb is broken?
the seller said is me press the butterfly plate in tb
so tb need reset
***help***
Bigbenzzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 02:52 AM   #17
rabbito
 
rabbito's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Toyota Yaris Sedan (Vios)
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Thailand
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigbenzzz View Post
no need computer reset???
i cnt do it bro, i already reset battery negative.
or my tb is broken?
the seller said is me press the butterfly plate in tb
so tb need reset
***help***
tb need reset....how....doesnt make sense...only open or close by idle screw...if it doesnt flap, its broken...

Sent from my SM-J730GM using Tapatalk
__________________
Brain: ATD E85 Timing Advance ECU
Engine: 1JZ Injectors, Header, Center Pipe, K&N Drop In, E85 Injector Converter
Suspension: Hankook Tires, Performance OEM replacement Shocks & Springs F: 1.5 B: 1.4, Mu Spec brake pads, Front tower & Rear sway bars, Rays nut & lock
Electric: Volt Stablizer & Multi gauge obd2
Cosmetic: Toyota red emblem
rabbito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2017, 06:58 AM   #18
Fluxtasy
feed my pet
 
Fluxtasy's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris Sedan '10
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigbenzzz View Post
Hi all 1nz bro

I tried to swap my 1nz baby throttle body to 1zz adult throttle body, and I has been successfully install and start.
But...the engine check light on, the rpm of car cnt going up and max is 2k rpm.
Before install I has been wrongly pressed the butterfly plate.
Do my throttle body gone ?
I find the seller back but he donít want to return because I wrongly press the butterfly plate.

Please help, Iím stuck!!!!
what is the part no. of the TB you bought?
Fluxtasy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1zz or 2zz throttle body swap BoostedTRD Performance Modifications 1 11-25-2014 11:05 AM
Installed the 1zz throttle body - AlexNet0 DIY / Maintenance / Service 137 08-01-2014 07:57 AM
1nzfe throttle body swap and fitment questions EchoBob02 Performance Modifications 14 05-01-2014 08:02 AM
Throttle Body Swap Ryze268 Performance Modifications 12 04-27-2014 01:46 PM
For Sale: 1ZZ Throttle Body and 0.25" aluminum wheel spacers m911gt Items for Sale by private party 6 04-25-2009 08:52 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:22 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.