Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > Performance Modifications
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-03-2018, 12:52 PM   #1
duggy16v
 
Drives: Toyota Yaris 2NZ-FE
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: South Africa
Posts: 2
2007 Yaris engine swap - 2NZ-FE to 1NZ-FE

Hello all. This is my first post. I am fairly new to Toyota. Any help will be appreciated.

Okay, existing 2NZ engine had turned a bearing and 2 conrods came through the crankcase. I would like to replace the entire engine with a 1NZ. Is this possible ?

Here in South Africa, we have 2 versions of the Yaris engine, the 1.3 vvti and the 1.5 vvti. I can get the 1.5 for a good price. What I'm afraid of is will my existing gearbox work ? Will the existing ECU work as well ? I have also installed a new clutch kit on the 2NZ before the damage. Will this clutch kit work on the 1NZ ? Will the engine mountings be the same ?

Any response would be appreciated.

Thank you.
duggy16v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 06:45 PM   #2
ArmstrongRacing
Data doesn't lie
 
ArmstrongRacing's Avatar
 
Drives: That Scrappy 2zrVios
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: San Diego
Posts: 628
Quote:
Originally Posted by duggy16v View Post
Hello all. This is my first post. I am fairly new to Toyota. Any help will be appreciated.

Okay, existing 2NZ engine had turned a bearing and 2 conrods came through the crankcase. I would like to replace the entire engine with a 1NZ. Is this possible ?

Here in South Africa, we have 2 versions of the Yaris engine, the 1.3 vvti and the 1.5 vvti. I can get the 1.5 for a good price. What I'm afraid of is will my existing gearbox work ? Will the existing ECU work as well ? I have also installed a new clutch kit on the 2NZ before the damage. Will this clutch kit work on the 1NZ ? Will the engine mountings be the same ?

Any response would be appreciated.

Thank you.
Yes the gearbox and everything else will work. The only unknown is if the 2nz ecm can run the 1nz
ArmstrongRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2018, 01:58 AM   #3
duggy16v
 
Drives: Toyota Yaris 2NZ-FE
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: South Africa
Posts: 2
Thanks. I will be using old ECU just to start car. Thereafter will remap and dyno tune. Is this possible ? The ECU doesn't know that the engine will now be a 1.5.
duggy16v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2018, 09:35 AM   #4
Bluevitz-rs
1NZ-6spd Turbo
 
Bluevitz-rs's Avatar
 
Drives: '05 6-Spd Vitz RS Turbo
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Courtice, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,947
Everything should work out fine. Those engines are nearly identical and should also share the same sensors.
Bluevitz-rs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2007 Yaris Engine Swap tmtab8588 Performance Modifications 2 12-29-2017 02:32 AM
Yaris 2nz engine upgrade yarisgravel UK 0 10-28-2015 06:10 AM
NEWS: TOYOTA REVEALS ALL-NEW YARIS SEDAN AT 2006 LOS ANGELES AUTO SHOW VitzBoy General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 5 09-05-2010 08:53 PM
2007 Yaris Pricing Info ! YarisBueller New YARIS Purchase Forum 104 06-24-2009 04:54 PM
03 Yaris 1.0 VVti Engine Swap, URGENT help needed. philwept_33 DIY / Maintenance / Service 1 05-15-2009 12:15 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:01 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.