Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Old 06-05-2022, 03:32 PM   #1
Daedalus

Drives: 2012 Toyota Yaris
2012 Toyota Yaris Engine Replacement

My 2012 Yaris LE threw a rod a few days ago and I am looking to do an engine replacement on it. I have very little mechanical knowledge of cars, but have watched what little videos I could find online of engine replacements on the same engine (1.5L, Vin T, 5Th Digit, 1NZFE).

Money is tight and I would like to buy either a used engine in the area or online and do the replacement myself. Is this unrealistic given the little experience I have, and how likely is it that I mess up other parts in the car? I plan on buying a hoist, and already have a set of tools and a hydraulic jack and stands. Is there anything else I am missing or need to know before attempting this?

Thank you in advance.
Daedalus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2022, 03:55 PM   #2
mitch9521
Gen 3 > Gen 2

Drives: NCP131, F-150
I'd have a shop do it if you are that inexperienced. Way too much shit to potentially mess up or ruin which could cause more downtime and even more money vs just getting a reputable shop to do it and be on the road sooner.

mitch9521 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2022, 05:06 PM   #3
Daedalus

Quote:
Originally Posted by mitch9521 View Post
I'd have a shop do it if you are that inexperienced. Way too much shit to potentially mess up or ruin which could cause more downtime and even more money vs just getting a reputable shop to do it and be on the road sooner.
Alright, thank you.
Old 06-05-2022, 05:34 PM   #4
NYC-SE

Drives: 2014 Yaris SE