Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-13-2009, 10:37 AM   #37
opt101
 
Drives: 2007 Toyota Yaris 2dr
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 11
I just need the simple one in the diagram, on/off and set as I drive 55 mph straight and there really isn't any need for the 4 button set up. So if I get the value pack, it will have the 390 but will it have the 240 ohm that’s depicted in the picture, where do I get that one,
opt101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 11:09 AM   #38
opt101
 
Drives: 2007 Toyota Yaris 2dr
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 11
also, can anyone point out the d3 connector better, I spent 20 minutes looking for it, I found the main section with all the plugs is it located there, or somewhere else. Sorry I'm very new to this car, thanks in advance.
opt101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 11:13 AM   #39
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,470
Quote:
Originally Posted by opt101 View Post
also, can anyone point out the d3 connector better, I spent 20 minutes looking for it, I found the main section with all the plugs is it located there, or somewhere else. Sorry I'm very new to this car, thanks in advance.
If you look at my original DIY on this there is a picture that shows D3 clearly:

http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/sho...ght=DIY+cruise
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 11:18 AM   #40
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,470
Quote:
Originally Posted by opt101 View Post
I just need the simple one in the diagram, on/off and set as I drive 55 mph straight and there really isn't any need for the 4 button set up. So if I get the value pack, it will have the 390 but will it have the 240 ohm that’s depicted in the picture, where do I get that one,
If you are doing the two switch method, then you really just need one resistor in the 567-693 ohm range. The Value pack includes a 680 ohm resistor which would be perfect.

Out of curiosity, where in CT are you? I am in Southbury and have an inventory of literally thousands of resistors.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 12:02 PM   #41
opt101
 
Drives: 2007 Toyota Yaris 2dr
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 11
Thanks for the better diagram CTScott, now I know where it is, I'm located just out side New Haven.
opt101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 12:23 PM   #42
YamilR
 
YamilR's Avatar
 
Drives: Absolutely Red Liftback
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 570
Send a message via Yahoo to YamilR
CTScott, If you're willing to sell the switches and the resistors all ready wired for the two switches configuration, I'll be willing to buy them of you.
YamilR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 12:31 PM   #43
opt101
 
Drives: 2007 Toyota Yaris 2dr
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 11
CTScott, would these resistors work?

Radio shack part # 271-1117
680 ohm 1/2W 5% Carbon Film Resistor pk/5


or do I need the ones in the value pack,

also will these switches work.

Radio shack part # 275-1571
SPST 0.5-Amp Momentary Switch (2-Pack)
One red and one black. Rated 0.5 amps at 125VAC and mounts in a 3/8" hole.



or are these better

Radio shack part # 275-609
3A 250VAC momentary switches normally open


And my last question, if the vehicle goes for service, I assume all this would have to be pulled out as it would most likley void the warranty? Thanks in advance.
opt101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 01:21 PM   #44
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,470
Quote:
Originally Posted by opt101 View Post
CTScott, would these resistors work?

Radio shack part # 271-1117
680 ohm 1/2W 5% Carbon Film Resistor pk/5


or do I need the ones in the value pack,

also will these switches work.

Radio shack part # 275-1571
SPST 0.5-Amp Momentary Switch (2-Pack)
One red and one black. Rated 0.5 amps at 125VAC and mounts in a 3/8" hole.



or are these better

Radio shack part # 275-609
3A 250VAC momentary switches normally open


And my last question, if the vehicle goes for service, I assume all this would have to be pulled out as it would most likley void the warranty? Thanks in advance.
680 Ohms is fine. The 1/2 watt resistors are physically larger, but are fine.

For the switches either is fine. I used 275-644, but really any normally open momentary switch is fine. You are switching 0 current, so the rating really doesn't matter.

As far as warranty goes; Unless the dealer can prove that your DIY cruise control actually caused something to fail, they can't say that you voided the warranty.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 01:26 PM   #45
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,470
Quote:
Originally Posted by YamilR View Post
CTScott, If you're willing to sell the switches and the resistors all ready wired for the two switches configuration, I'll be willing to buy them of you.
I could. I would just have to find switches that mount from the rear, rather than front, so you could just drill your holes, poke the switches through, connect the wires, and cruise.

One of the switches that Opto101 mentioned above, would work for that:

CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 02:20 PM   #46
opt101
 
Drives: 2007 Toyota Yaris 2dr
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 11
the ones pictured above are tiny, just got back from radio shack and after seeing them in person, I went with the 275-644



Much better option

Off to find pin 40 now, will update with photos and status
opt101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 06:38 PM   #47
opt101
 
Drives: 2007 Toyota Yaris 2dr
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 11
Worked out great!!! Thanks to everyone, especially CTScott for the further incite, and everyone else who made the how to pdf! I opted for the 2 button set up as I drive a set speed during my commute. The parts where easily obtained from my local radio shack.

Parts list:

Qty (1) Radio shack part # 271-1117 680 Ohm 1/2W Resistor

Qty (2) Radio shack part # 275-644 3A 125V SPST Pushbutton

12 Feet of wire

Ground loop terminal

All together I was just under 15 bucks

I used the grommet on top of the ECU for easy access to the interior.

My only concern is I put the wire into pin 40 and let a couple strands come out the end of the main harness connector as depicted, re connected it to the ecu, but I was wondering will the wire in pin 40 just stay there, should I try to put that rubber piece I removed on the side of the wire so to make sure it stays put or don't worry about it?

Here is my dash install



I also used a hot glue gun to make sure everything stays put behind trim piece.


opt101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 07:45 PM   #48
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,470
For the pin 40 connection, the ideal thing would be to use one of the actual waterproof pins for that connector. You can actually purchase the terminal, with a wire pre-crimped to it from Toyota:
82998-24250 is a single wire with the terminal and waterproof plug for connecting to the ECM.

Otherwise, I would at the very least put a dab of silicone where the wire enters the connector to keep moisture out.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 09:44 AM   #49
flutie98
 
Drives: Toyota Yaris
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTScott View Post
For the pin 40 connection, the ideal thing would be to use one of the actual waterproof pins for that connector. You can actually purchase the terminal, with a wire pre-crimped to it from Toyota:
82998-24250 is a single wire with the terminal and waterproof plug for connecting to the ECM.

Otherwise, I would at the very least put a dab of silicone where the wire enters the connector to keep moisture out.
I just ordered this part and attempted to install it. I think it might be the wrong part #, its just a little big and will not fully seat in the connector. And let me tell you I tried to force it in there.
flutie98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 10:24 AM   #50
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,470
Quote:
Originally Posted by flutie98 View Post
I just ordered this part and attempted to install it. I think it might be the wrong part #, its just a little big and will not fully seat in the connector. And let me tell you I tried to force it in there.
Can you snap some pictures? There are three pins for the A21 connector. 82998-24250 is the smallest width of the three. The two others are for the wider width pins.

Also, the pin will only fully insert in one position. If it is flipped over, it will go in most of the way, but will not seat.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 10:54 AM   #51
flutie98
 
Drives: Toyota Yaris
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTScott View Post
Can you snap some pictures? There are three pins for the A21 connector. 82998-24250 is the smallest width of the three. The two others are for the wider width pins.

Also, the pin will only fully insert in one position. If it is flipped over, it will go in most of the way, but will not seat.
Ill snap some pics when i get home from work. I tried all 4 orientations and the one that seats the most still is not fully in.
flutie98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 03:17 PM   #52
Soylentglass
 
Drives: 2009 Yaris Sedan
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: N.E.
Posts: 6
I posted yesterday the results of my install on my 09 manual sedan and at first I ran into the same problem with the repair terminal not fitting. I ripped the waterproofing sleeve trying to jam it in with fine needle nose pliers.

My post is at the end of http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/sho...=16188&page=30

On connector A21 there is a locking mechanism that you must push to one side to allow the terminal to slide in place and yes it would only go in one way, which happened to be the 4th position I tried. You then push back the white plastic slide piece and it will lock the terminal in place.
Soylentglass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 09:17 PM   #53
flutie98
 
Drives: Toyota Yaris
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soylentglass View Post
I posted yesterday the results of my install on my 09 manual sedan and at first I ran into the same problem with the repair terminal not fitting. I ripped the waterproofing sleeve trying to jam it in with fine needle nose pliers.

My post is at the end of http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/sho...=16188&page=30

On connector A21 there is a locking mechanism that you must push to one side to allow the terminal to slide in place and yes it would only go in one way, which happened to be the 4th position I tried. You then push back the white plastic slide piece and it will lock the terminal in place.
hmm any pics as to where that locking slider is?
flutie98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 10:43 PM   #54
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,470
Quote:
Originally Posted by flutie98 View Post
hmm any pics as to where that locking slider is?
It's the white thing at one end of the connector:

Lock latched:
Lock Down.jpg

Lock released:
Lock Up.jpg

Pop it with a small screwdriver from the side:
Pop Lock.jpg
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEWS: TOYOTA REVEALS ALL-NEW YARIS SEDAN AT 2006 LOS ANGELES AUTO SHOW VitzBoy General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 5 09-05-2010 08:53 PM
Cruise Control Available for 06/07 Yaris TOYOTaejien General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 8 08-27-2010 12:58 PM
Cruise Control chessclubloser DIY / Maintenance / Service 11 03-27-2010 11:59 AM
2007 Yaris Pricing Info ! YarisBueller New YARIS Purchase Forum 104 06-24-2009 04:54 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:00 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.