Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-04-2020, 06:50 AM   #1
bentjazz
 
Drives: 2009 Yaris--3dr MT
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 469
Tachometer advice

Hi YWers. Since my Yaris doesn't have a tachometer, I'm looking to possibly install one so I can better manage my rpms in certain situations while driving. I'm hearing impaired, and man I have a hard time hearing the engine on my Yaris. Does anyone who has a manual maybe have any recommendations for a decent tachometer that does a good job and doesn't require an engineering degree to install? Thanks in advance.
bentjazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2020, 08:35 AM   #2
CrankyOldMan
2ZR swap. DO IT! Ask how!
 
CrankyOldMan's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 Meteoric Metallic HB
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 2,098
I swapped in an OEM cluster with a tach. I don't recall what year/body it came from but it was plug-and-play. I'm sure there are a few threads around here with details...
CrankyOldMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2020, 08:42 AM   #3
bentjazz
 
Drives: 2009 Yaris--3dr MT
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 469
Thanks, COM. Would love to have that done. Was it difficult to do?
bentjazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2020, 07:21 PM   #4
ezhacker1
 
ezhacker1's Avatar
 
Drives: Decepticon - Ravage
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,464
takes like a minute. pull the radio trims and 2 screws. 2 wire connectors on the cluster.

Either find an S cluster for the MPH readout or get a Canadian one for KPH.
__________________


Check out my Build thread:
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=52274
ezhacker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2020, 02:37 PM   #5
CrankyOldMan
2ZR swap. DO IT! Ask how!
 
CrankyOldMan's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 Meteoric Metallic HB
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 2,098
Quote:
Originally Posted by bentjazz View Post
Thanks, COM. Would love to have that done. Was it difficult to do?
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezhacker1 View Post
takes like a minute. pull the radio trims and 2 screws. 2 wire connectors on the cluster.
This. You should only have to pull the two side pieces (start at the bottom by the shifter) to get the cluster bezel off.
CrankyOldMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tachometer install 07YarisUS Cosmetic Modifications (Exterior/Interior) 3 02-22-2016 12:44 PM
tachometer advice BEEF Performance Modifications 26 08-16-2014 02:05 AM
Tachometer 09BoostedVitz Performance Modifications 12 07-21-2011 09:48 PM
Source code for Yaris Tachometer metalshark DIY / Maintenance / Service 27 04-06-2009 12:41 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:27 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.